Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Sociology: Find Articles

Resources in Sociology and interdisciplinary areas to jump start your research
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/Sociology

American Sociological Association
Through Sociology, we study our behavior as social beings, covering everything from the analysis of short contacts between anonymous individuals on the street to the study of global social processes. ASA Topics web pages provide various lenses through which to explore those studies, their findings and the questions that they trigger.

Annual Review of Sociology
Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. Review chapters typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, historical sociology, and major developments in sociology in other regions of the world.

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

GenderWatch
"With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach.

General Social Survey (GSS)
"​​​​​The GSS gathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviors, and attributes. Hundreds of trends have been tracked since 1972..."

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
"ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields." UCI is a member institution.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
"IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing."

Pew Research Center
"Pew conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. Pew does not take policy positions."

Scopus
"Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research."

SimplyMap [SimplyAnalytics]
"SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States."

Social Explorer
"Our objective is to help visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports."

Sociological Abstracts
"Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences."

EBSCOhost is a major database platform with over 30 databases indexing scholarly, popular, and news content in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.  EBSCOhost databases can be searched simultaneously.

Loading ...

Google Scholar Metrics

Google Scholar Metrics

"Google Scholar Metrics enable authors to gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research.

To get started, browse the top 100 publications in several languages, ordered by their five-year h-index and h-median metrics. To see which articles in a publication were cited the most and who cited them, click on its h-index number to view the articles as well as the citations underlying the metrics.

To browse publications in a broad area of research, select one of the areas in the left column. For example: SOCIAL SCIENCE.

To explore specific research areas, select one of the broad areas like  SOCIAL SCIENCE, click on the "Subcategories" link and then select one of the options.

Impact - Articles

Sources for finding citation counts and subsequent cited papers

Impact - Journals

Find the most frequently cited and highest impact journals.