Research Guides: Social Science Data: Statistics

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UC Irvine Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Related Research Guides

Social Science Librarians

Do you want to connect with the librarian who covers your discipline or topic? Or view the research guide that supports your discipline?

Melissa Beuoy
Research Librarian for Interdisciplinary Studies
Melissa works with Education, Gender Studies, Global & International Studies, and Language Science.
Annette Buckley
Research Librarian for Business and Economics
Annette works with Economics and Business.
Nicole Carpenter
Research Librarian for Social Sciences
Nicole works with Anthropology, Psychological & Cognitive Sciences, and Sociology.
Julia Gelfand
Research Librarian for Applied Sciences and Engineering
Julia works with Computer Science,
Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Informatics, Public Policy, and
Urban Planning.
Elizabeth V. Hernandez
Research Librarian for Criminology and Political Science
Elizabeth works with Criminology, Law, & Society, Political Science, and Chicano/Latino Studies.

Find Statistics

This is a selection of statistics resources to which the library subscribes. You may also want check your discipline's research guide as the library's specialist for that discipline may share more specific resources. Additionally, many organizations that collect data offer robust analysis of that data on their website. Usually, you can find one menu option that will lead you to datasets, and another menu option that will provide access to the analysis / statistics - sometimes on the website, sometimes in the form of a report or publication.

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. It also offers broad perspectives and insight on long-term national trends and implications paired with the ability to narrow results.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
From 2013 forward. Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. See the entry below for access to this publication prior to 2013.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
From 1878-2012. Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Quantitative data of America's history. Data topics include: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Users can search, download, and create customizable graphs and tables of data.

U.S. Census Bureau: Surveys & Programs
The Census Bureau conducts numerous surveys, including:
American Community Survey; American Housing Survey; Annual Business Survey; Annual Survey of Manufactures; Census of Governments; County Business Patterns; Current Population Survey; Decennial Census; Economic Census; International Programs; Metro and Micro Areas; Population Estimates; Population Projections; Small Area Income and Poverty; Statistics of U.S. Businesses; Survey of Business Owners; Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).
This is the access point to explore those programs and surveys.
Data.census.gov
From the U.S. Census Bureau, data.census.gov allows you to search across the census data. This census data entry point is more of a focus on keyword searching, and not finding data via a specific program or survey.
UNdata
Searches across numerous databases of data from the United Nations. Select the Datamarts tab to view the various collections or look for statistics by topic.

Mapping & Data Visualization Tools

As you explore various statistic and data websites, you will find many of them offer data visualization tools. These are a few of the tools to which UCI Libraries subscribes.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports and upload your own data to view it with ours.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Mapping and data visualization application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports. Includes demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, and business data for the United States. Users also have access to MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data, including information on brands, and Claritas PRIZM, which offers market insights using demographics and consumer lifestyle data.
Maximum 3 users at once.
Register for a free account to save and return to your work.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
1790-present. This site combines data from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing & the American Community Survey (ACS) with a user friendly interface, allowing the creation of maps & statistical tables. Census Tract boundaries are available back to 1940. Now also includes data on U.S. elections, business pattern, environmental summary, health, religion, and crime; the UK and Canadian censuses; Irish religious data; World Development Indicators, and EuroStat.