Research Guides: Library & Information Science: Special Resources

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand

Contact:

Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Informatics, Public Policy, Urban Planning

Library Science

Specialized Information

BCC Research
Large Database for Marketing Research Studies with heavy emphasis in biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, healthcare, energy and other related sectors. Highly recommended.
Copyright for Librarians
A joint project of the Berkman Center for Internet & Society and Electronic Information for Libraries (eIFL), a consortium of libraries from 50 countries in Africa, Asia and Europe. The goal of the project is to provide librarians in developing and transitional countries information concerning copyright law. More specifically, it aspires to inform librarians concerning about copyright law in general and the aspects of copyright law that most affect libraries
DttP Archive
The digital archive for the journal DttP: Documents to the People. DttP is the official publication of the American Library Association, Government Documents Round Table (ALA/GODORT).
more...less...
This digital archive contains all issues of the journal published from its inception in 1972 through 1998 (volumes 1-26). In addition to the journal issues, the site contains the indexes that were published and a number of related resources. This publication from 2004 and on can be found online via UCeLinks
FORCE11 Infrastructure Series
Monthly interviews designed to shed light on how scholarly information is collected, distributed and used. The series explores a variety of topics related to infrastructure, such as preservation, search, and metadata and is for everyone with a stake in scholarly communications.
Green Libraries Directory
This directory lists libraries in the United States and Canada that have implemented some form of green planning. Although having a green building is not the only way for a library to “plan green”, the directory focuses on libraries whose buildings have received LEED certification.
Green Library Blog
focuses on "... increasing the efficiency with which buildings use resources-energy, water & materials-while reducing building impacts on human health & environment during the building's lifecycle, through better siting, design, etc of & by libraries.
Indexing for Editors and Authors: A Practical Guide to Understanding Indexing
Information Today, 2008
Call No: LL Ref Z695.9 .L45 2008
Institutional Repositories
It is designed to give the reader a very quick introduction to key aspects of institutional repositories and to foster further exploration of this topic through liberal use of relevant references to online documents and links to pertinent websites.
Keeping Our Word: Information Across the Ages
LibDex: the Library Index
LibDex is a directory of “library homepages, web-based OPACs, Friends of the Library pages, and library e-commerce affiliate links.”
Librarian's Yellow Pages
"The easy-to-use buyer's guide created by librarians for librarians! "
Librarian Lifestyle
This quasi blog, and update about images in the profession was created probably as a labor of love for one's colleagues and friends and is more fun in exploring shopping opportunities and reading about off-the job experiences.
Library History Bibliography Database
Launched in April 2024, database offers "over 7,000 records for books, articles and theses in library history. It contains entries from the semi-annual bibliographies compiled by Ed Goedeken over 3 decades with more recent publications identified by David Lincove."
Library Map of the World
Issued by IFLA. A representative source of basic library statistics and a robust tool providing country-level data and a worldwide comparison of different library performance metrics by region.

Libraries are leading promoters and providers of free access to all types of information to all citizens. To show the potential of the global library field, the Library Map of the World features all types of libraries, including national, academic, public, community, school, and special libraries. The initial set of performance metrics include number of libraries, number of libraries providing internet access, number of staff and volunteers, number of registered users and visitors, and number of loans.

As an advocacy tool, the Library Map of the World is also a platform providing access to SDG stories demonstrating how libraries in different countries contribute to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals and serve as partners in meeting local development needs.

IFLA Library Map of the World is being created in partnership with data and story contributors including national library associations, national libraries, library support organizations and other institutions, from around the world. Reliable global library statistics is our shared vision.
Library Science Germany (in English)
English version of research conducted at Humboldt University in Berlin on "Social Responsibility of Library Science in Transforming Society to Achieve Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)”.
more...less...
Do you want to know how your library is contributing to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)? Just answer the quiz and at the end you will receive your score.

On the site you will also find a checklist for libraries to provide insights into the topic, to encourage more librarians to think about actions and implement them in libraries.

Soon the site will be in 10 different languages and the result of the survey will be published.
Libweb: Library Servers via WWW
“Updated daily. Libweb currently lists over 7900 pages from libraries in 146 countries.”
LJ Index of Public Library Service 2010
Library Journal's national rating of public libraries, identifies 258 'star' libraries."
OCLC Research Reports
OCLC research covers Collective Collections, Data Science, Libraries as Community Catalysts, Research Collections & Support, User Research and Library as Enterprises. Publications reflect many different topics and themes. Well documented experiences that set trends and provide assessments.
OCLC Special Reports & White Papers
Available to OCLC members these reports explore a variety of information about library users and services for them, trends in the information industry and related topics.
Open & Shut Blog
Created and moderated by Richard Poynder it covers many themes related to scholarly communication, open access and management of digital content & scientific data.
Open Access Bibliography
Very comprehensive list of resources that treat OA from its broadest to a highly detailed framework. Can be searched by a Google search engine.
Research Data Curation Bibliography
The Research Data Curation Bibliography includes over 750 selected English-language articles, books, and technical reports that are useful in understanding the curation of digital research data in academic and other research institutions.covers topics such as research data creation, acquisition, metadata, provenance, repositories, management, policies, support services, funding agency requirements, peer review, publication, citation, sharing, reuse, and preservation.
Room to Red
Room to Read aims to build literacy across Asia and Africa by establishing libraries, building schools, and expanding educational opportunities for girls. Founded by a former Microsoft executive, Room to Read has distributed more than 10 million books and opened some 1,500 schools since 2000 in countries such as Cambodia, India, and South Africa. It has also established 13,000 libraries, and is now opening six new ones a day. More than 13,700 girls have received support to pursue an education, including school fees and uniforms. And because children's books can be difficult to find in some languages, Room to Read has published more than 700 original books in languages like Khmer, Nepalese, Zulu, and Chhattisgarhi, which is spoken in parts of central India.
Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography
With an archive dating from 1990 this bibliography tracks all generations of electronic publishing within the scholarly environment.
Story of the Digital Book (video from California Digital Library)
Millions of books from the UC Libraries have been digitized, but how? Go behind the scenes to learn about the UC Libraries’ digitization process and see several ways you can use these newly digital books. “The Story of the Digital Book” explains how our books make their way from the shelf to the screen, the possibilities they bring to users, and how they’re preserved for the long term.
World Digital Library

Conferences

There are many conferences that are of interest to practitioning to librarians. Most have documented the conference from the promotions to the conference papers and proceedings and much of the information is posted online.

ALA Sponsored Schedule of Meetings and Conferences
Library Science Conferences
Past ALA Annual & Midwinter Schedule
Library 2.011 Conference Documentation
Library 2.012
Hosted by the San Jose State University School of Library & Information Science this second year conference has 6 tracks and engages hundreds of thousands of participants from around the world in a 24x7 conference over 3 days.

From the Days of the Pandemic: Content from Choice-ACRL & ALA

Beginning in March 2020 libraries worldwide have dealt with how to best provide resources for librarians and library staff responding to the pandemic during library closures and other timely resources reflecting what is transpiring in different spaces from EDI content to racial injustices. Most libraries have resumed normal services but for history's sake you may find these resources interesting to note as they reallyh made a difference at the time. These resources were noted:

Choice - Read our new diversity, equity, inclusion & accessibility blog, Toward Inclusive Excellence (TIE), with Alexia Hudson-Ward of MIT Libraries at the helm as TIE Editor in Chief. Sign up here for inbox notifications of new blog posts.
Choice - Don't miss the first TIE webinar, May 18th, Equitable Staffing Models in the Current and Post-Pandemic Landscape. We thank GOBI for underwriting this complimentary web event.
Choice - Read our new monthly complimentary extended review of must-read books on Racial Justice. This month we feature The Sum of Us: What Racism Costs Everyone and How We Can Prosper Together, by Heather C. McGhee.
ACRL Lib Guide - Pandemic Resources for Academic Libraries
ACRL: Read the the May 2021 issue of "C&RL News".
ACRL: Article, How are you doing? Part 2 It's been one year plus since COVID-19 struck, read an updated view of how things are going at some workplaces.
American Libraries Magazine: Article: The Library Employment Landscape, job seekers navigate uncertain terrain.
ALA: Learn more about the ALA COVID Library Relief Fund: $1.25 million in grants available for libraries significantly affected by pandemic