"Steve” is a collaborative research project exploring the potential for user-generated descriptions of the subjects of works of art to improve access to museum collections and encourage engagement with cultural content.
Provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more including images to support science, technology and medicine.
Visual Literacy is increasingly important. Finding appropriate images, citing them accurately and noting copyright and attribution can be complex. These resources and others found on the Visual Literacy Subject Guide will assist you in these efforts.
While the name might imply that this service is only useful for art, it has broad applications for any discipline which relies on images for research and teaching. Researchers will be able to upload their personal digital image collections to create databases that will allow them to organize and retrieve images and to add personal research notes. Instructors will be able to upload their personal image collections for lectures and to utilize various pedagogical tools for displaying and presenting images. The tool also has a password-protection feature so that access to images can be limited to different groups of researchers or students.
The Hartill collection contains 16,660 images of art and architecture (strong in architecture and architectural decoration, especially Medieval) covering the history of the Western world from antiquity through contemporary.
Imagebase is a collection of 13,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.