The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check Library Search-Advanced Search-Library Catalog before requesting an ILL.
There are many ways to identify the availability of a book and whether or not it is in print. The order of this recommendation includes priorities for UCI users. Increasingly, books are becoming available as eBooks. There may be multiple records for the different formats in Library Search.
Finding book chapters is increasingly important and available in the digital arena. Many eBook platforms allow one to search at the chapter or full text level, and those will be noted in each subject area.
BookFinder.com is a "one-stop ecommerce search engine" that indexes more than 150 million books for sale from the catalogs of more than 150 million sellers in more than 50 countries. Included are new, used, rare, and out-of-print titles. With it's huge inventory, users can compare prices and selections quickly, particularly for hard-to-find items. Locate items by author, title, ISBN, first or single copies, binding, price, language, and whether new or used.
The Google legal agreement has been settled and there are 3 categories of books that can be searched: 1) In copyright & in-print books: titles that are available for purchase and may already be in our library collections to borrow 2) In-copyright but out of print books: titles that may be in library collections but can be purchased from special sources that handle out of print titles 3) Out of Copyrighted Books: Books that users can read, download and print and for which links will be available.
Just remember to search Library Search or MELVYL to check on access or availability for works in categories 1 & 2. You can customize your searches and establish "My Library" by organizing and sharing information.
This bibliography presents selected English-language articles and other works that are useful in understanding Google Book Search. It primarily focuses on the evolution of Google Book Search and the legal, library, and social issues associated with it.
Where possible, links are provided to works that are freely available on the Internet, including e-prints in disciplinary archives and institutional repositories. Note that e-prints and published articles may not be identical.
As a digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions ... HathiTrust membership currently consists of the member libraries of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) the University of California system, and the University of Virginia. You can register and save information by forming customized collections.
Library Search is a new search tool for books, articles, images, databases, journals, and videos that offers powerful search and display features. This includes the traditional search options of a catalog (such as looking up specific authors, titles, and keywords) and expands the types of resources you can discover related to your research.
To find books for which you have direct access to either as an eBook or in print, please restrict your search to Library Catalog, and consider using the Advanced Search option. You can further filter your searches using the left side bar (e.g. by Availability, Subject, Author/Creator, Location, Date etc). The default for results is to Relevancy; however, that can be changed using the pull down menu on the left.
“Almost everything” searches beyond the UCI collections to include material available in open access repositories; however, please refer to Melvyl to search other libraries’ holdings for interlibrary loans. Library Search is not a substitute for searching databases to find articles, conference papers, and other non-book materials. The library is committed to maintaining access to those subject related databases for their unique search potential.
MELVYL is more of a discovery tool as it shows output for not only books and journal titles, but for book chapters, journal articles, media, and other formats and entries. The default is the University of California Libraries but users can also change that and sort by UCI holdings first, and also choose to use the "Chat with Librarian" service in this connection. Users can also search Library Worldwide holdings since MELVYL is powered by WorldCat, a global consortium of libraries to which we belong.
For assistance in how to optimize MELVYL, please consult the following guide for MELVYL (http:/;/uci.worldcat.org/) at http://www.cdlib.org/services/info_services/instruct/Melvyl_Quick_Reference.pdf
UC eLinks and Request functions can be used to determine holdings and make ILL requests.
A collection of 48,000 titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly and selective titles from 200+ global publishers covering subject ranges from Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development & Architecture, Math & Sciences, and Personal & Professional Development going back to 2007. This database also contains 30,000 hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education.