Research Guides: Graduate Student Research Support: Data Collection

Campus resources for data collection

Methods of collecting data are numerous and varied, and can depend on the discipline, type of data (e.g., quantitative vs. qualitative), instrumentation, and research methodology. Understanding your data collection needs and assessing whether particular software packages or tools will meet those needs are crucial steps in the research process.

The following data collection tools are available on campus:

LabArchives
Electronic Lab Notebook is a digital notebook that can be used to organize and record research information.
REDCap (Research Electronic Data Capture)
An application for building and managing online databases. REDCap provides a web-based interface for collecting data with data validation and includes the ability for automated export to statistical packages. The software also includes data logging for HIPAA compliance and the ability for administrators to define access rights on a per-user basis. UCI's Institute for Clinical and Translational Sciences (ICTS) is a REDCap partner.
Qualtrics
an online survey tool with customizable templates, the ability to send and track invitations and reminders, and in-depth reporting. The service includes the ability to generate reports, view statistics, and export data for analysis. Important: Qualtrics is not approved for P3/4 data. Note: Campus-wide licensing of Qualtrics is ending as of July 1, 2024. Learn about the upcoming change and see OIT's list of suggested alternatives.

The Office of Information Technology (OIT) also distributes licenses and installers for a number of research software applications, such as Microsoft Excel, that are commonly used by faculty, staff, and students across campus.