Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Reference Sources

Specialized Biomedical Engineering Sites & Resources

Specialized topics in Bioengineering include: Tissue Engineering, biomechanics, lasers, devices, biomedical nanoscale systems, biomedical signal and image processing, biomedical computational technologies, biophontonics, MEMS, and related topics that intersect with other clinical, mechanical and electrical engineering study and research areas.

* Indicates UCI Access Only

ASM Materials for Medical Devices Database (produced by Granta)
Highlights coatings and materials for medical devices in cardiology, neurology, orthopedics, urology, general & plastic surgery and dentistry; reviews FDA News regarding medical devices and the approval process by the European Union; offers updates on the medical device and diagnostic industries; introduces what is new and the new players in the medical device space. Contains reports and news about the industry at large.
ASM Handbooks Online
23 volumes of different materials thoroughly explained including properties and processes. Medical Devices is covered in vol. 23 & 23A for new content about additive manufacturing in Biomedical applications.
ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library (SEDL)
ASTM is the major database for standards issued by the American Society for testing and materials. Includes full text current and historical standards, and all other publications issued by ASTM: e-books, symposia, journal articles.
more...less...
ASTM, formerly known as the American Society for Testing and Materials, is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of international voluntary consensus standards. SEDL includes 12,200 active ASTM standards used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access & trade, &build consumer confidence. Also, there are 28,500 historical & withdrawn standards, plus 12,300 Redlined Standards (PDF documents that provide change marks to compare changes between an active standard & the prior version) included where revisions were made. There are nearly 100 categories of standards. with the largest number in the categories of Construction, Metals, Paint & Related Coatings, Petroleum, Plastics, Environmental, Rubbe
Cleveland Clinic
Particularly strong for searching on state of the art medical devices and refinements in medical procedures. Major referral source for information about medical conditions and for leading medical personnel.
E-Factor
eMedicine
Updates on clinical practices and research findings.
Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation, 2d ed., 2006
Science Library (SL) Ref W13 E555 2006 - six volume set - highly recommended
HCUPnet
This is a fee, open,m online query system developed from data from the Healthcare Cost and Utiilization Project (HCUP). System provides health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency room access and other ambulatory settings and population-based health care data by states, counties and also available by diagnoses and procedures performed. Based on the ICD-CM (International Classification of Diseases, Clinical Modification) is used to code and classify both diagnoses and procedures. Current and previous versions of the ICD-CM are noted in CDC data.
Health Devices Sourcebook, 2009
Science Library (SL) REF W26 H434, 2009. Issued by Emergency Care Research Institute (ECRI) and is a directory of medical instruments & apparatus.
IT IS Database of Tissue Values & Properties
The database aims not only to provide the most up-to-date and comprehensive estimates for tissue material parameter values but also statistical information about the spread and standard deviation per tissue for the different thermal and fluidic parameters. This information is important for assessment of the contribution to the uncertainty in a quantity of interest due to the selection of the material parameters. For some material parameters, e.g., perfusion, the variation can be large, which in turn can have a severe effect on simulation results.
more...less...
Please use the following citation when referring to our database:

Hasgall PA, Di Gennaro F, Baumgartner C, Neufeld E, Lloyd B, Gosselin MC, Payne D, Klingenböck A, Kuster N, “IT’IS Database for thermal and electromagnetic parameters of biological tissues,” Version 4.0, May 15, 2018, DOI: 10.13099/VIP21000-04-0. itis.swiss/database
Materials for Medical Devices Database*
A comprehensive and authoritative set of mechanical, physical, biological response, and drug compatibility properties for the materials and coatings used in medical devices by the ASM.
more...less...
Allows access to SSED device documentation, exportation of mechanical properties to FEA applications, and a fully relational and modular index for medical device design. A tool for both researchers, students and designers. The database contains information for cardiovascular/thoracic devices, orthopedic devices, and neurological, surgical and dental devices.
Mayo Clinic
Resources recommended and vetted by the medical staff at the Mayo Clinic. Especially strong for symptomology.
MedGadget
Medical Calculators
UpToDate has many medical calculators to compute different medical conditions in cardiology, critical care, emergency, gastroenterology, hepatology, hematology, hospital medicine, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics, oncology, pediatrics, primary care, pulmonology, rheumatology, and surgery.
Medical DeviceLink
The platform website for the medical device industry, provides news, information, employment and recruiting services, as well as collaborative opportunities for people who design, manufacture, and market medical devices.
Medical Device Manufacturers Association
Created in 1992, MDMA is a trade association that seeks to improve the quality of patient care by encouraging the development of new medical technology and fostering the availability of beneficial innovative products.
MedlinePlus
Major source of consumer health. Contains excellent references to clinical, support group and related information. Provides thorough overview of malady, biomedical products, devices, instruments and services.
Neurosciences on the Internet
A searchable and browsable index of neuroscience resources available on the Internet: Neurobiology, neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry, psychology, cognitive science sites and information on human neurological diseases.
The Paul S. Terasaki Foundation Laboratory for Transplantation
Supports research in transplantation. Releases the annual publication, Clinical Transplantation at the Grunigen Medical Library W1 CL445
Physiology & Biophysics Virtual Library
Maintained by the Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Cornell University Medical College.
Sage Sourcebook of Modern Biomedical Devices : Business environments in a global market, 4 vols.
Science Library (SL) W 16 S129 2007
SoCalTech
A community of resources for persons interested in start-ups.
Engineering Associations
List of Engineering Associations in all sectors and geographical regions of the US, includes tradeshows and manufacturers.
List of Manufacturing Associations
List of manufacturing associations in all product lines and functions. Includes links to manufacturing, purchasing and engineering certifications and Engineering Associations.
The Engineering ToolBox
Commercial website that provides access to resources, tools and basic information for engineering and design of technical applications. Searchable by category and although not comprehensive it will provide basic useful engineering information.

Engineering Associations

List of Engineering Associations in all sectors and geographical regions of the US, includes tradeshows and manufacturers.
engXiv Preprints debuts

New preprint server for Engineering content in multiple subject areas and is growing quickly.
JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments

This dynamic new concept of a journal incorporates videos, films, sound, powerpoints, text & images to demonstrate the experimental sciences. Indexed in PubMed & other sources. Covers Bioengineering, Chemistry, Applied Physics, Neurosciences, Immunology & Infection, Clinical & Translational Medicine, Behavior and Environment. Increasingly interdisciplinary.
List of Manufacturing Associations

List of manufacturing associations in all product lines and functions. Includes links to manufacturing, purchasing and engineering certifications and Engineering Associations.
New Preprint Server in Biology Aims to Model Physicists ArcXiv

New directions in Biology & Life Sciences to capture articles.
OCTANE Medical Device & Investment Forum 2013

Held in Irvine, find out what companies are presenting their latest ideas.
Reuters Science News

Global news summaries about latest science events, policies and findings from news wires and media outlets.
SAE Digital Library now active

SAE's digital platform is called Mobilus. Fulltext access to the technical papers from SAE since 1998 are available. For pre-1998 papers. selected technical papers are included in the SAE Transactions, for which some volumes are available at the UCI Library at Science Library Call Number TL 1 S6. Also includes eBooks, and Ground Vehicle Standards. New journals also added.
ScienceWatch

Tracks trends and performance in global scientific research since 1989 and includes interview, competitive intelligence, data and rankings, special topics.
Video of the 2012 Health Care Forcast Conference (21st annual)

Held February 23-24, 2012 by the Center for Health Care Management and Policy at the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Center of the National Academies of Sciences & Engineering, Irvine, California. Freely available thanks to underwriting by the California HealthCare Foundation. Conference titled ""Health Politics of and Policies in an Election Year".

Reference Works

Association of Biomolecular Resource Facilities
Site features a Yellow Pages of labs offering analytical services, and research studies to help labs keep up. Also publishes the Journal of Biomolecular Techniques, online after a 3-month delay.
BiosciEDNet
The BEN portal provides access to online educational resource from professional societies, educational organizations, and educators like you.
more...less...
With BEN learning resources-incorportate images into your lecture, use reviews to decide on reading materials, assign digital library articles for class discussions and journal clubs, and stimulate lab experiences in preparation for hands-on live labs.
Directory of Suppliers for Engineering, Processing, and Materials
EEVL – Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library
Gateway with search engine for finding high quality information resources in Engineering.
eFunda
Over 30,000 pages of engineering fundamentals and calculators. Top level categories are: Materials, Design Center, Processes, Units & Constants, Formulas, and Mathematics. Commercially maintained and offers additional services for a fee-based membership.
Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science*
Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation, 2006. Science Library (SL) REF W 13 E555 2006
Second edition of major encyclopedia set chronicling development of medical device industry with many examples of products and services.
Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research*
Engineering Network
Gale Directory Library
Directory Library includes Encyclopedia of Associations for U.S. and international nonprofit organizations.
Genetics Home Reference
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
International, searchable database of the history of science, technology and medicine from 1973 and on.
Industrial.org
Industrial Web Directory
Institute of Industrial Engineers
MacRae's Bluebook
Searchable on-line directory of US and Canadian industrial suppliers with more than 1 million product listings. The Original Industrial Directory since 1893.
Materials for Medical Devices Database
A comprehensive, authoritative set of mechanical, physical, biological response, and drug compatibility properties for the materials and coatings used in medical devices by the ASM. Currently 2 modules completed, Cardiovascular & Orthopedics.
Medline Plus Medical Encyclopedia
It includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations. A service of the US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Healt
Sage Sourcebook of Modern Biomedical Devices : Business Environments in a Global Market, 2007. 3 vols.
Science Library (SL) REF W 16 S129 2007
The Merck Index
Call number: LL & Science Library (SL) Ref, QV 772 M555.
Thomas' Regester
Directory of product services and catalogs for industrial and engineering use. Combines (67,000) categories. Can reduce down to specific category.
ViFaTec
The subject gateway on Engineering. Provides fast access to a large scientific technical data pool, well structured search results, and direct access to the services of the Technical Information Library.
Wikipedia
Major encyclopedia containing much authoritative content with the caveat that it is not signed nor attributed to any author(s) thus information should be verified.
Wiktionary
Free multilingual dictionary in every language with definitions, etymologies, pronunciations, quotations and synonyms. Wiktionary is the lexical companion to the open-content encyclopedia Wikipedia.

Interesting New Biomedical Products

Cleveland Clinic's Top Medical Innovations for 2021, Oct 2020
The annual list of Cleveland Clinic's top innovations plus full roster of earlier lists, representative of multiple areas of healthcare delivery and medical specializations.
Medical Devices & Diagnostics Approved by FDA, Sept 2020
The most recently approved devices & diagnostics approved by FDA in all areas of healthcare & medicine.
iTriage
A free iPhone application as well as a web resource, it was developed by an emergency room physician allows users to look up symptoms, learn possible causes and if needed, get directions to the nearest ER. It helps people answer 2 very simple questions that are actually quite complex: 1) what could be wrong; 2) what should I do? Includes information on thousands of symptoms, diseases and medical procedures and a nationwide "white pages" directory of helping & medical services. Users can look up tests, treatment, images, videos and medications and connect with call lines run by health plans.

Textbooks

Innovation & Entrepreneurship

National Academy of Inventors
The National Academy of Inventors is a US non-profit organization dedicated to encouraging inventors in academia, following the model of the National Academies of the United States. It was founded at the University of South Florida in 2010. Starting in 2012, the NAI has inducted 757 Fellows into the organization
NSF I-Corps
The National Science Foundation (NSF) I-Corps program prepares scientists and engineers to extend their focus beyond the university laboratory and accelerates the economic and societal benefits of NSF-funded, basic-research projects that are ready to move toward commercialization.

Through I-Corps, NSF grantees learn to identify valuable product opportunities that can emerge from academic research, and gain skills in entrepreneurship through training in customer discovery and guidance from established entrepreneurs. Components of the NSF I-Corps National Innovation Network work together to grow and sustain the national innovation ecosystem. Through NSF activities and collaboration with other government agencies, NSF helps foster innovation among faculty and students, promote regional coordination and linkages, and develop networks.

Design for Disability Resources

These selective resources are respected for their authority and innovation in conducting research and creating and designing resources for different disabilities and making sure that people everywhere have access to this information.