Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Find Books

Find Books

UC Library Search

Overview of UC Library Search

Search collections across all UC campuses or limit your search to UC Irvine. Includes print books and articles, electronic books and articles, book chapters, and more.

Look for Download PDF, Available Online, or the Get it at UC logo to access full text
Use Advanced Search to search for a specific book, article, or journal by title
Get helpful search tips from our UC Library Search Help guide

Find a journal in UC Library Search

Search for a journal by title or ISSN or browse by category

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Use UC Library Search to request articles and books not owned by UC Irvine Libraries at no cost to you through interlibrary loan.
For material found in WorldCat but not in UC Library Search, submit a request using the Blank ILL Request Form.

Am I connected to the VPN?

I can't access a library resource. Am I on the VPN?

Click on the "Test My VPN Connection" button. ➔

This tests your IP range. It determines if you're using the VPN that's configured for you access to library resources: vpn.uci.edu.

If you get a message that you are OFF the UCI IP range, visit the Connecting FAQ Guide to set up and configure your VPN.

Books & E-Books in Biomedical Engineering

* Indicates UCI Access Only

The collection of eBooks is growing - some are acquired by specific publisher output and licenses, others by defined collection, many by individual titles. Examples are listed below representing all of these possibilities.

Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, 2d ed. Edited by Myer Kutx
Science Library (SL) REF QT 36 B61498 2009, 2 vols.
Biomedical Engineering Handbook*
General overview of major bioengineering topics. Includes physiological range data and formulas for lung perfusion ratios, gas pressure in respiratory/circulatory systems and Poisson’s equation.
BiosciencenetBASE*
The CRCnetBASE collection of eBooks containing titles in a range of interests related to Biomedical Engineering and Biomechanics.
CRCnetBASE*
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology*
Call number: Science Library (SL) REF QC176.8.N35 D43 2004
New multivolume encyclopedia covering research in this growing field.
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering*
Online edition from 2008 - one user at a time; Print copy is at Call number: Science Library Bar QT 13.E562 2004
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering*
First edition issued in 2004 of excellent online encyclopedia of field.
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, 2d ed, 2008
This encyclopedia is among the most comprehensive tools that covers the range of products. Use the Contents tab on the left sidebar, search by using the Find box along top right tool bar & use pull-down arrow & select "open full reader search" - then enter the page number that corresponds to "Go to page" and use next & back to read entry & see images. References at end of each entry.
Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Technology*
Authoritative reference source with multimedia features. Articles written by recognized experts provide concise overviews of a particular field. Extensive cross-referencing, indexes & bibliographies to the most relevant articles. 100 updates/year. Available at UCI libraries.
Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnolgy
Call number: Science Library (SL) REF T 174.7 E53 2004
Another large multivolume encyclopedia set edited by Hari Singh Nalwa from American Scientific Publishers.
Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research, 2008*
Recent new encyclopedia on stem cells and their future applications in science, technology & medicine.
ENGnetBASE*
eBook collection of titles from CRC Press.
Geigy Scientific Tables
Call number: Science Library (SL) Ref, QC 95 G312.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics*
Locate data on organic and inorganic compounds, physical properties, fluid dynamics, thermodynamics.
Knovel*
E-Book collection from many publishers with strengths in Chemistry, Engineering & Environmental Sciences
Medical Device Register
Currently only available in print. Science Library (SL) REF DESK W26 M489 (previous 2 years in Ref, remainder in stacks, W 26 M489)
Nanopedia: Nanoworld's Organization of Nanotechnology
National Academies Press eBooks
Free access. Output of the National Academies of Science & Engineering of commissioned research reports and books on a wide range of subjects
Springer Book Series
The large book series are listed by series name as well as by individual title. Nice easy access when unsure of editor or exact title.
Springer Online Books*
Large collection of science & engineering books published by global publisher Springer with imprint dates from 2008 forward. Access by individual title also available in Library Search.
STAT!Ref*
Provides full-text access to key medical reference works and textbooks. Highly recommended.
Wiley-IEEE eBooks*
Over 400 eBooks in areas of electrical engineering, computer science & related & applied subjects. A basic search will return book chapters as well as articles on the topic. The left-hand "Content Type" facet indicates how many of the hits are from books, in addition to the other types. Currently, there are >8,200 book items in the ebook content.

more... less...

Can go directly to http://www.ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/bkBrowse.jsp
SPIE eBook Series
This collection of 250 books published since 1989 in optics and photonics is now available via the SPIE Digital Library and reflects the following technologies and applications:
• Astronomy and Astronomical Optics
• Biomedical Optics and Medical Imaging
• Communication and Information Technologies
• Defense and Industrial Sensing
• Electronic Imaging and Processing
• Micro- and Nano- Technologies
• Optics and Electro-Optics

more... less...

can go directly to http://spiedigitallibrary.aip.org/ebooks/
SIAM eBooks
From the Society of Industrial & Applied Mathematics this collection will exceed 400 titles of backfile through current imprints reflecting output from the world’s applied mathematics and computational science communities. Individual title access will also be available in Library Search & Melvyl.
OHE (O'Reilly for HIgher Education)
A collection of 48,000 titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly and selective titles from 200+ global publishers covering subject ranges from Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development & Architecture, Math & Sciences, and Personal & Professional Development going back to 2007. This database also contains 30,000 hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education.