Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Find Articles

Browzine

Additional information about BrowZine is available here.

Browzine

BrowZine for UCI
A current awareness service to help you keep up with the latest research in your field. You can use it on the web, through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices. It's available to all UC Irvine faculty, staff, and students.

BrowZine is designed to facilitate an experienced researcher to quickly narrow to their area of expertise and follow known, ranked titles of interest. Its main intent is to assist scholars in staying current in their field of expertise by providing a reader with superior browsing capabilities.

American Society of American Society of American Institute Materials Research Institute of Electrical Annual Review
Civil Engineers Mechanical Engineers of Chemical Society & Electronics
Engineers Engineering

Note:

Due to the status between the UC System and Elsevier, journal titles marked as [Elsevier] will not grant full-text access to content from 2019 and later.

To get full-text articles published in 2019 and later, please see our Alternative Access page.

BrowZine using a web browser

Open your favorite web browser.
Go to browzine.com.
Click Choose My Library
Select University of California Irvine.
Go to Settings.
Under BrowZine Account, click Login
Click Sign up create an account.
Browse journals by clicking BrowZine Library, or search for journal by title, subject, or ISSN. Add journals to your bookshelf by clicking on a journal, then clicking Add To My Bookshelf.

Finding Articles, Conference Papers, & Proceedings / Using Databases

* indicates restricted to UCI Access Only

There are databases that index & abstract content from multiple sources, some from specific sources such as one society or a given publisher and more of them include fulltext access or directions to fulltext content from the UC eLinks.

AAAS Science*
American Association for the Advancement of Science. Full-text of Science Magazine and Science’s Next Wave covering v. 270, no. 5233 to present (October 6, 1995-present).
Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering*: 1998-present.
Part of Annual Review series.
BCC Research
Large Database for Marketing Research Studies with heavy emphasis in biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, healthcare, energy and other related sectors. Highly recommended.
Bioethics Online
A Guide to Bioethical resources online that covers ethics, and related public and social policy issues in health care and biomedical research.
BMES - Biomedical Engineering Society Annual Meeting
BMES Annual Meeting each autumn.
EESE, the e-Journal search engine from INTUTE
Covers over 350 freely available ejournals in sciences and engineering and computer science.
efunda Engineering Research Library
A resource for freemium Engineering research, white papers, reports, case studies, magazines, and eBooks.
IET (Institution of Engineering & Technology) Journals
Effective January 2021 are now all Open Access and available on the Wiley platform.
Intute Engineering
Free online search service that covers physical sciences, engineering, technology including environmental sciences, computer science & general sciences. Indexes wide range of scholarly & scientific sources.
NTIS Database Online
National Technical Information Service provides full descriptive summaries of more than 2.2 million documents and other materials NTIS has received from U.S. Government agencies since 1964.
TED Talks
TED Ideas Worth Spreading - on a wide variety of topics by specialists who have explored the topic comprehensively and are sharing them in a variety of communications. Highly recommended. Focus in science, public policy, emerging technologies.
TOXLINE
Trans Tech Publications
Covers wide range of literature in Engineering & Materials Science including academic journals and book series that publish regular and special issues, volumes, conference proceedings, and monographs. Can search Archive from 1967-2014.
more...less...
Access to (Advanced Engineering Forum, Advanced Materials, Defect and Diffusion Forum, Diffusion Foundations, International Journal of Engineering Research in Africa, Journal of Biomimetics, Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Journal of Metastable and Nanocrystalline, Journal of Nano Research, Key Engineering Materials, Materials Science Forum, Nano Hybrids and Composites, Solid State Phenomena)
Wiley InterScience*
Delivers the full text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works, the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and even the full text of select Wiley print books online.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of all Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books. Also includes The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Agricultural Library, this database contains citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields from across the world.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of all publications from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers including journals, eBooks, standards, and technical reports.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers access to a large number of subscribed and open-access journal titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Index to biology, life sciences, biomedical research and botany articles in journals, meetings, and books. Can search by keywords, scientific name, and taxonomic family. Includes references to articles cited and articles citing an article.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research articles on biotechnology (medical, agricultural, and environmental) and bioengineering.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937. Topics covered are related to nursing, physical therapy, health education, social service/healthcare, occupational therapy, and related disciplines. CINAHL also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California.
Engineering Village: Compendex This link opens in a new window
The Compendex database provides deep coverage of global engineering literature. Also includes literature in the following related areas: applied physics, optics, bioengineering, biotechnology, food science and technology, materials science, instrumentation, medical devices, and nanotechnology.
Engineering Village: Inspec This link opens in a new window
The Inspec database provides deep coverage of scientific and technical literature in the field of physics, with additional links to citations in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, and manufacturing information. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations and reports. Produced by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Global industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Research applicable to all facets of IT. Content includes: Magic Quadrants (i.e., a graphical competitive positioning of four types of technology providers), Hype Cycles (i.e., a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications), as well as other reports on vendors and technologies.
Global Health via CABI This link opens in a new window
Global Health (GH) is a bibliographic abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health. It compiles international medical and health research by capturing key literature, including journals, reports, books and conferences from 1973 to the present. Publications from over 100 countries are abstracted, and all relevant non-English-language papers are translated to give access to research otherwise not available. The database's open serials policy and coverage of international and grey literature means that 40% of material contained in Global Health is unique to the database.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the literature on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help individuals identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations..
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
IET Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Database of electronic books published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, the British society of engineers on a wide range of engineering topics.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the literature on risks arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment of the magnitude and probability of risk and the management of risk.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database that combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in various formats, like journals, books, reports, etc.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection optics and photonics journals, eBooks, conference papers and presentations spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging. Journals include peer-reviewed articles on applied research in optics and photonics, including optical engineering, electronic imaging, biomedical optics, microlithography, remote sensing, and nanophotonics.
Sustainability Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
Toxicology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Major areas of subject coverage include: pharmaceuticals; food, additives, and contaminants; agro-chemicals; cosmetics, toiletries, and household products; industrial chemicals; metals; toxins and other natural substances; social poisons and drug abuse; polycyclic hydrocarbons; nitrosamines and related compounds; radiation and radioactive materials; methodology; legislation and recommended standards.
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.

Specialized E-Journals

JoVE Bioengineering
The Journal of Visualized Experiments in Bioengineering is one of the newest resources at UCI. Currently contains more than 200 videos of visualizations covering different themes in bioengineering.

There are many resources that cover different aspects of biomedical engineering. Some recommendations follow and some are open access journals as well:

Synthesis Series by Morgan & Claypool

Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Series
There are multiple series that may be relevant and each series contains numerous entries for specific "chapters" or "articles" or "short books" that address that topic. In addition to Synthesis there is a life sciences collection called Colloquium.
Biomedical Engineering
John D. Enderle, University of Connecticut
Synthetic Biology
Martyn Amos, Manchester Metropolitan University
Tissue Engineering
Kyriacos A. Athanasiou, University of California, Irvine