The collection highlights include animal world, art and design, bones and fossils, history and material culture, literature, natural world, plants and flowers, protraits, science and invention, scientific instruments and apparatus, society and culture, technology and transportation, and trade literature.
Real-time & historical maps and lists of recent and significant past earthquakes, information on earthquake hazards and preparedness, earthquake FAQs, educational materials. Links to useful geological and educational sites.
They provide information, research, education, and public programs in an attempt to assist people and institutions in their effort to "promote health, enhance the efficient use of water resources, and protect environmental values."
While the name might imply that this service is only useful for art, it has broad applications for any discipline which relies on images for research and teaching. Researchers will be able to upload their personal digital image collections to create databases that will allow them to organize and retrieve images and to add personal research notes. Instructors will be able to upload their personal image collections for lectures and to utilize various pedagogical tools for displaying and presenting images. The tool also has a password-protection feature so that access to images can be limited to different groups of researchers or students.
The Hartill collection contains 16,660 images of art and architecture (strong in architecture and architectural decoration, especially Medieval) covering the history of the Western world from antiquity through contemporary.
Imagebase is a collection of 13,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.
Over 150,000 digitized items including photographs, newspaper, political cartoons, works of art, transcribed oral histories, and other unique cultural artifacts from libraries and museums of the UC campuses and a variety of cultural heritage organization.
A list of free digital image collections compiled by Anne Blecksmith (C&RL News, Vol. 69, no. 5, May 2008). Links to digital image collections created by universities, libraries, and historical societies, including Library of Congress, Harvard, Yale, etc.
Provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more including images to support science, technology and medicine.
Includes: NIX NASA Image Exchange (the NASA Image eXchange [NIX] is a web-based search engine for searching one or more of NASA's online multimedia collections), NOAA Photo Library (includes weather and space images, images of shore and coastal seas and of thousands of marine species), and USGS-NBII LIFE (the Library of Images From the Environment serves well documented images of nature contributed by the USGS, other organizations, and individuals).
Visual Literacy is increasingly important. Finding appropriate images, citing them accurately and noting copyright and attribution can be complex. These resources and others found on the Visual Literacy Subject Guide will assist you in these efforts.