Research Guides: Chicano / Latino Studies: CLS 62

This page has a curated list of resources that will assist you with Prof. Rodelo's CLS 62 class assignment. A great way to start your research is to use UC Library Search. From the UC Library Search page, you can click on "Advanced Search" to use multiple keywords. The databases listed below will help if you are looking for a specific type of resource and would like a more focused search.

Poetry and Literature Databases

Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
Includes poetry, short fiction, novels, and plays in English and Spanish.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Latin American Drama This link opens in a new window
Full text play scripts by Latin American playwrights. Plays were written from mid-19th to 21st centuries.

Music Databases

Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio of music from all over the globe. Includes popular genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing, along with traditional music like Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, and gagaku.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio of recordings from the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings labels. Music found in this database represents traditional cultures across the world from Armenia to Zimbabwe. Accompanying liner notes are an excellent source of information.

Media

Streaming Media Research Guide
This guide will list the databases that have films, documentaries, and other shows.

Multidisciplinary Database

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.

Archival Databases

Calisphere
Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. The collections in Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

UCI Libraries Special Collections and Archives

UCI Libraries' Special Collections and Archives
This is the Special Collections and Archives home page. The department will be closed until June 2, 2023, but a digitized collection is linked below.
Pandemic Histories Archive
his collection consists of submissions by students in the academic year 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 who documented their own or others' experiences of living through the COVID-19 pandemic, as well as the social justice issues, including anti-Black and anti-Asian racism, that were of public concern. The submissions include field notes about daily life, oral histories, photographs and videos, and other files documenting the pandemic and social justice issues.