The SIFT method is a lateral reading strategy that will allow you to investigate a source and determine its validity and relevance to your topic.
The following resources will be helpful to learn about the conversations the scholarly arts world has related to Latinx performance, as well as to gain a better understanding of how to write about performance.
You might know exactly who you want to research or you might want to explore the broad world of Latinx performers before choosing. Here are some resources to help you discover Latinx performers from a variety of genres that will also have a higher likelihood of already being discussed in publisher literature:
American sabor : Latinos and Latinas in US popular music by
Evoking the pleasures of music as well as food, the word sabor signifies a rich essence that makes our mouths water or makes our bodies want to move. American Sabor traces the substantial musical contributions of Latinas and Latinos in American popular music between World War II and the present in five vibrant centers of Latin@ musical production: New York, Los Angeles, San Antonio, San Francisco, and Miami. From Tito Puente's mambo dance rhythms to the Spanglish rap of Mellow Man Ace, American Sabor focuses on musical styles that have developed largely in the United States-including jazz, rhythm and blues, rock, punk, hip hop, country, Tejano, and salsa-but also shows the many ways in which Latin@ musicians and styles connect US culture to the culture of the broader Americas. With side-by-side Spanish and English text, authors Marisol Berrios-Miranda, Shannon Dudley, and Michelle Habell-Pallan challenge the white and black racial framework that structures most narratives of popular music in the United States. They present the regional histories of Latin@ communities-including Chicanos, Tejanos, and Puerto Ricans-in distinctive detail, and highlight the shared experiences of immigration/migration, racial boundary crossing, contesting gender roles, youth innovation, and articulating an American experience through music. In celebrating the musical contributions of Latinos and Latinas, American Sabor illuminates a cultural legacy that enriches us all.
Choreographing Mexico : Festive Performances and Dancing Histories of a Nation by
Introduction. Choreographing a festive nation : performance, dance, and embodied histories in Mexico -- Rehearsals of a cosmopolitan modernity : the Porfirian centennial celebrations of Mexican Independence in 1910 -- La Noche Mexicana and the staging of a festive Mexico -- Nellie Campobello : the choreographer of dancing histories in Mexico -- Cinematic renditions of a dancing Mexico : folklórico dance in Mexican film -- Epilogue. Queering Mexico's archive : ephemerality, movement, and kinesthetic imaginings.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater by
Latin American culture has given birth to numerous dramatic works, though it has often been difficult to locate information about these plays and playwrights. This volume traces the history of Latin American theater, including the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States, and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present. Sections cover individual Latin American countries. Each section features alphabetically arranged entries for playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements. The volume begins with an overview of the development of theater in Latin America. Each of the country sections begins with an introductory survey and concludes with copious bibliographical information. The entries for playwrights provide factual information about the dramatist's life and works and place the author within the larger context of international literature. Each entry closes with a list of works by and about the playwright. A selected, general bibliography appears at the end of the volume.
Experiencing Latin American Music by
Experiencing Latin American Music draws on human experience as a point of departure for musical understanding. Students explore broad topics--identity, the body, religion, and more--and relate these to Latin American musics while refining their understanding of musical concepts and cultural-historical contexts. With its brisk and engaging writing, this volume covers nearly fifty genres and provides both students and instructors with online access to audio tracks and listening guides. A detailed instructor's packet contains sample quizzes, clicker questions, and creative, classroom-tested assignments designed to encourage critical thinking and spark the imagination. Remarkably flexible, this innovative textbook empowers students from a variety of disciplines to study a subject that is increasingly relevant in today's diverse society. In addition to the instructor's packet, online resources for students include: customized Spotify playlist online listening guides audio sound links to reinforce musical concepts stimulating activities for individual and group work
Fifty Key Figures in Latinx and Latin American Theatre by
Fifty Key Figures in Latinx and Latin American Theatre is a critical introduction to the most influential and innovative theatre practitioners in the Americas, all of whom have been pioneers in changing the field. The chosen artists work through political, racial, gender, class, and geographical divides to expand our understanding of Latin American and Latinx theatre while at the same time offering a space to discuss contested nationalities and histories. Each entry considers the artist's or collective's body of work in its historical, cultural, and political context and provides a brief biography and suggestions for further reading. The volume covers artists from the present day to the 1960s--the emergence of a modern theatre that was concerned with Latinx and Latin American themes distancing themselves from an European approach. A deep and enriching resource for the classroom and individual study, this is the first book that any student of Latinx and Latin American theatre should read.
Latin American Classical Composers: A Biographical Dictionary by
Now in its third edition, Latin American Classical Composers: A Biographical Dictionary provides a singular English-language resource for biographical information on hundreds of composers from Central and South America and the Hispanic Caribbean. Painstakingly gathered from a wide variety of sources, the information updates and expands previous editions and fills in the gaps left by the other major English-language music dictionaries and encyclopedias. Entries provide biographical data comprising full names, birth and death dates and locations, background, education, and training, as well as selective works lists more than 2,300 composers. An index of composers by country and women composers of Latin America complement the volume. An essential part of any music library, Latin American Classical Composers is an invaluable reference for librarians, musicologists, ethnomusicologists, researchers, and music students.
Latin American Women on/in Stages by
While a feminine perspective has become more common on Latin American stages since the late 1960s, few of the women dramatists who have contributed to this new viewpoint have received scholarly attention. Latin American Women On/In Stages examines twenty-four plays written by women living in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Mexico, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. While all of the plays critique the restraints placed on being female, several also offer alternatives that emphasize a broader and healthier range of options. Margo Milleret, using an innovative comparative and thematic approach, highlights similarities in the techniques and formats employed by female playwrights as they challenged both theatrical and social conventions. She argues that these representations of women's lives are important for their creativity and their insights into both the personal and public worlds of Latin America.
Made in Latin America: Studies in Popular Music by
Made in Latin America serves as a comprehensive introduction to the history, sociology, and musicology of contemporary Latin American popular music. Each essay, written by a leading scholar of Latin American music, covers the major figures, styles, and social contexts of popular music in Latin America and provides adequate context so readers understand why the figure or genre under discussion is of lasting significance. The book first presents a general description of the history and background of popular music, followed by essays organized into thematic sections: Theoretical Issues; Transnational Scenes; Local and National Scenes; Class, Identity, and Politics; and Gendered Scenes.
The Routledge Companion to Latine Theatre and Performance by 
A History of Latinx Performing Arts in the U.S. - Volume I by 
A History of Latinx Performing Arts in the U.S. - Volume II by 
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
