Research Guides: Chicano / Latino Studies: News & Newspapers

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UC Irvine Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Ask a Librarian

Ethnic Press

The ethnic press offers a perspective different from the mainstream press. Newspapers from specific ethnic communities, such as those in agricultural areas or those where immigrants are newcomers seeking jobs, reflect local concerns and issues.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. It also provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Acceda Noticias This link opens in a new window
This full-text, Spanish-language subset of Access World News indexes 54 newspapers and newswires, nearly all published in the U.S. and Latin America. Includes La Opinion from 4/2000-current (Los Angeles) and Excelsior from 2002-present (Santa Ana CA).
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
A collection of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
Online, full-text (including page images) database of articles from Mexican and Mexican-American newspapers published from the mid-1800s to the 1970s from Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico.
more...less...
The University of Arizona Libraries digitized these 22 newspapers and added a searchable interface. Click on "About" in this database to learn more.

Mainstream Press

News & Newspapers Research Guide (UCI Libraries)
The UCI Libraries News & Newspapers guide provides links to dozens of newspapers. Most of the articles are available online in full-text. Note the tabbed sections across the top for specific types of new sources.

California Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of selected California newspapers spanning the years from 1849 to 1911. The project is run by the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research at the UC Riverside.