Research Guides: Public Health Student Guide: Find Books

Research Librarian for the Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacology, Public Health

Hector R. Perez-Gilbe

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

UC Irvine
Science Library
Room 232
Irvine, CA 92623
perezhr@uci.edu

(949) 824-6957

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences, Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences

Library Search

Finding Books

Use UC Library Search for local access to books in all formats.

WorldCat
An international library catalog containing the holdings of 50 thousands + member libraries world wide. Notes UCI holdings. You can use UCe-Links Request to order items not owned by UCI.

eBook Collections

These eBook collections from CABI and other publishers and information providers reflect a range of titles in all areas of public health, agriculture, applied life sciences, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, tourism, demographics and a range of social issues. Recently the number of eBooks has grown significantly and individual titles can be searched in Library Search and links will be provided.

CAB eBooks Archive Contains 230 full text eBooks published by the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux between 2000-2004. Books are grouped into 6 catagories: Agriculture, Animal and Veterinary Sciences, Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences, Plant Sciences, Leisure and Tourism, Environmental Sciences. There are many newer books in this collection that can be found via Library Search.
CRCnetBASE
Large eBook collection of titles from CRC Press grouped by diverse subject collections in Sciences, Engineering, & Public Policy. Not all titles may be currently available to UCI readers.
National Academies Press
Free access. Output of the National Academies of Science & Engineering of commissioned research reports and books on a wide range of subjects.
Online Books from Univ of Penn Digital Library
Directory of freely readable eBooks in a range of subject areas from the University of Pennsylvania’s Digital Library arranged by call number range. Check out related subject areas.
Springer eBooks & eBook Series*
Many subjects are represented in this large collection of eBooks and Book Series from a global publisher.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.
AccessMedicine *
Clinical medicine textbooks such as CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment and Principles of Critical Care. Lange Education Library Basic Science and Clinical Science textbooks.
Knovel *
Subjects include Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology; Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries; Safety & Industrial Hygiene.
STAT!Ref Medical Reference Library *
Titles include ACP PIER, Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, Red Book®, Wound Management Principles and Practice.

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check Library Search before requesting an ILL.

Request Book ILL Form
Request Journal Article ILL Form
Request Government Document

Request other

Other Subject, Resource & Course Guides

Business of Healthcare
Consumer Health Use this guide to find medical resources aimed at consumers.
Demography and Social Analysis (DASA)
Environmental Psychology
Grunigen Medical Library
Medicine Resources Use this guide to help identify resources in Medicine.
Planning, Policy, and Design
Policy & Surveys
Policy Resources Use this guide to help you navigate U.S. and International policy research.
Poverty
Sustainability

Case Studies

Case Studies for Global Health Issued by the members of the Alliance for Case Studies for Global Health.