Public Health Student Guide

Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. Contains broad databases available to historical research.

The new service, funded by the UK’s Department for International Development, has been created to help decades of research from developing country institutions enjoy a wider global readership. BLDS is working with partner research institutes in Africa and Asia, to digitise their printed publications and host them online so they can be easily found through search engines. Nearly 600 papers have been digitised so far from Uganda, Kenya, Ethiopia, Zimbabwe and India, with more to be added in coming months as BLDS continues building partnerships with research institutes. The publications in the BLDS Digital Library are being made available through a Creative Commons licence which enables future sharing and dissemination of this content by others. Also visit the BLDS Global Projects webpage at http://blds.ids.ac.uk/global-projects

Contains fulltext to most dissertations from 1997+ and an increased collection of earlier submissions. This is an expanded subscription.

The GIDEON database incorporates 327 diseases, 205 countries, 963 microbial taxa and 252 antibacterial agents and vaccines

Haz-Map (http://hazmap.nlm.nih.gov) is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work. Haz-Map links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms. It is one of the products and services made available by the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html).

Chemicals and biological agents in Haz-Map are linked to industrial processes and other activities such as hobbies. Occupational diseases and their symptoms are associated with hazardous job tasks and possible exposure to hazardous agents. Information from textbooks, journal articles, and electronic databases such as NLM's Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB®) is classified and summarized to create the database. HSDB is part of the TOXNET® (http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov) system of databases related to toxicology and environmental health.

Some of Haz-Map's features include: text search capability, browsing by jobs, diseases, or agents, searching hazardous agents by adverse effects, searching diseases by jobs and findings, and automated searches of TOXNET. Definitions of technical terms are available by selecting hyperlinks to the glossary.

Lexis Nexis Congressional provides information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present allowing the user to perform in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest. The basic subscription includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present

Subject: Politics -- Bibliography -- Indexes; Economics -- Bibliography -- Indexes; Social sciences -- Bibliography -- Indexes; Legislation -- Bibliography -- Indexes; Political science -- Bibliography -- Indexes

Subject: Political planning -- Abstracts; Social sciences -- Abstracts

POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is maintained by the INFO Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development. (USAID).

POPLINE contains nearly 360,000 records and has been maintained since 1973 by the INFO Project (formerly Population Information Program). The majority of items are published from 1970 to the present, however, there are selected citations dating back to 1827. The database adds 12,000 records annually and is updated every Monday.

In addition to free text searching, the database can be searched by keywords from the POPLINE Thesaurus , a controlled vocabulary of 2,400+ terms used to index documents in the database.

POPLINE's special features include links to free, fulltext documents; the ability to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles; RSS feeds for topical searches; and many abstracts in French and Spanish.

The database contains abstracts of articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from federal, state, local, and foreign entities; fact sheets and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofit organizations; and other documents. New Citations added to the database in the last eight weeks are also available. New Citations include recently published tobacco-related articles from peer-reviewed journals of behavioral, scientific, and medical literature.

Coverage includes relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals. To ensure comprehensive coverage, material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find grey literature has also been summarized.

Part of TOXNET, "a collection of toxicology and environmental health databases. TOXNET includes the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB®), a database of potentially hazardous chemicals, TOXLINE® (containing references to the world's toxicology literature), and ChemIDplus® (a chemical dictionary and structure database)."