Using Databases

You can enter the title of the journal in UC Library Search, and you may find specific articles, however, this is not a replacement or substitute for using a database. To link to the full text of articles or eBook chapters from library databases or Google Scholar, use the "UC eLinks" or "Get it at UC" icon.

A far more comprehensive and annotated list of all databases is compiled in Databases A-Z

A variety of resources exist and basically every book is a reference work in some fashion - the standard reference tool includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, maps & atlases, directories, etc and some examples include:

Wikipedia- no peer review content in this encyclopedic resource; all contributed voluntarily.
Dictionary of computer science, engineering and, technology/editor-in-chief, Phillip A. Laplante, Boca Raton, FL. CRC Press, 2001, Science Library – Reference, QA 76.15 D5258 2001
Images of technology: a pictorial dictionary of Modern engineering research / Edited by Institute of Industrial Science, University of Tokyo, Science Library – Bar, TA9 I43 1999

Additional resources include:

Government Information - major source - consult Library Search or visit the Reference Desk on the main floor of the Langson Library. For Federal US sources, check the websites of specific agencies such as the U.S. Department of Energy Web page or specific state agencies at http://www.ca.gov/state/portal/myca_homepage.jsp
Professional Societies publications – very prolific and common in Engineering and now increasingly specialized - investigate IEEE, ACM, SPIE, ASEE, ACS, ASME, ASCE, AIAA, CNI, IFIP etc. Consult Associations Unlimited for additional information; most of these associations also have a Code of Ethics.

Additional Specialized Engineering & Related Databases

Noted on the Engineering Subject Guides and on Medicine and the GML Subject Page or on Business.

Finding Articles, Papers, Proceedings, and News by Using Databases

Depending on what you are researching or seeking, what the purpose of your query is and from what time period will determine where you go. There are many databases that cover different subjects, content, and dates and are organized in multiple ways. Basically, you seek, find, discover, and refine your search strategy to increase the relevancy of the output. Licensed databases tend to contain scholarly, scientific resources that are not freely available to everyone because they require a license. Access to this information is available to current UCI students and you must configure your computer to recognize and authenticate you if you are connecting from off-campus.

* denotes resources restricted to UCI affiliates. The following databases support different aspects of engineering, science, and business information:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News provides information and perspectives from numerous national and international news sources, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of all Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books. Also includes The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.
Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) journals, eBooks, conference papers and standards. It also provides access to the journals published by the American Interplanetary Society, later known as the American Rocket Society (ARS), and the Institute of the Aeronautical Sciences later known as the Institute of the Aerospace Sciences (IAS).
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of civil engineering research and practical publications. Includes journals, practice periodicals, conference proceedings, standards, manuals and reports on engineering practice, and committee technical reports.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of all publications from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers including journals, eBooks, standards, and technical reports.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Industry reports addressing very specific technological niches across most high-tech and healthcare industry sectors. The reports contain detailed analysis of the industry including global market data, competitive landscape, trends, and more.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Index to biology, life sciences, biomedical research and botany articles in journals, meetings, and books. Can search by keywords, scientific name, and taxonomic family. Includes references to articles cited and articles citing an article.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Content includes scholarly business journals (including open access journals), trade publications, news, conference proceedings, industry reports, country reports, company reports, and more.

E&E Databases (includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, etc) on PoliticoPro platform
Government & industry updates on critical actions taking place. Go to left-hand sidebar and click on E&E and scroll to resource wanted.

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. It is currently comprised of material from 1971 forward, plus several hundred earlier classic papers and reports.
eMarketer/Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Industry and market research data, charts, and reports on topics related to everything digital, including: internet usage, ecommerce, B2B, online marketing and advertising, social media, and mobile device usage.
Engineering Village: Compendex This link opens in a new window
The Compendex database provides deep coverage of global engineering literature. Also includes literature in the following related areas: applied physics, optics, bioengineering, biotechnology, food science and technology, materials science, instrumentation, medical devices, and nanotechnology.
Engineering Village: Inspec This link opens in a new window
The Inspec database provides deep coverage of scientific and technical literature in the field of physics, with additional links to citations in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, and manufacturing information. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations and reports. Produced by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
Ergonomics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides essential information for ergonomists, health and safety specialists, human factors engineers, human computer interaction specialists, designers, systems analysts, industrial engineers, occupational psychologists and occupational and physical therapists. Spans the world of ergonomics and human factors. Provides indexing for eBooks, journal articles and reference works in a variety of fields including psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Global full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites.
Maximum 12 users at a time.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS) This link opens in a new window
Reports covering IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and Web, as well as technology vendors. FAITS also links to technology and businessnews resources such as TechWeb, NewsFactor, CBS MarketWatch, and BBC.
Forrester This link opens in a new window
Reports across all nuances and trends of IT. Research Reports include industry news, statistics, and forecasts. "Waves" offer a detailed, comparative analysis of products and services.
Forrester Access Instructions
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Global industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Research applicable to all facets of IT. Content includes: Magic Quadrants (i.e., a graphical competitive positioning of four types of technology providers), Hype Cycles (i.e., a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications), as well as other reports on vendors and technologies.
Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
A database of reports, papers, and other resources published by NGOs, think tanks, IGOs and research centers from across the world. It also includes a directory of thousands of organizations involved in public and social policy in most subject area. A module in the Policy Commons database.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
IET Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Database of electronic books published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, the British society of engineers on a wide range of engineering topics.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Interactive books and databases containing a large number of online science and engineering handbooks, in subject areas of chemistry, materials science, and engineering.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.
MRS Online Proceedings Library This link opens in a new window
Includes proceedings from MRS Meetings from the Materials Research Society.
National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) offers a public interface for accessing authenticated government technical reports in the U.S. Department of Commerce NTIS (National Technical Information Service) database. Provides indexing and access to historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service.

Opposing Viewpoints
Provides information on social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Not always the most recent information.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to U.S. federal and state statutes, regulations, court cases, administrative agency decisions, law reviews, to selected court briefs and pleadings, and legal news sources. Also includes international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters and various directories are also available. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais.
O'Reilly (OHE) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, videos, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and more. Subjects include: Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, IT & Software, Development & Architecture, Math & Science, and Personal & Professional Development.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
The PAIS Index covers global public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. It includes international sources such as journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not included.

PhilPapers
To support the study of ethics. PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.

Plunkett Research This link opens in a new window
Industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Repository of technical content including SAE standards and technical papers. SAE publishes new, revised, and reaffirmed standards each year in three categories: Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports); Aerospace Standards; and Aerospace Material Specifications (AMS). The Technical papers portion of SAE Mobilus references SAE Technical Papers covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection optics and photonics journals, eBooks, conference papers and presentations spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging. Journals include peer-reviewed articles on applied research in optics and photonics, including optical engineering, electronic imaging, biomedical optics, microlithography, remote sensing, and nanophotonics.

Statista
A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics.

Sustainability Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
Transportation Research International Documentation (TRID) This link opens in a new window
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Transport Database This link opens in a new window
International air and surface (road, rail, and marine) transportation information. It combines the following databases: Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS), International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) from OECD, and TRANSDOC from ECMT. Includes historical content.
One user at a time. If refused, try again later.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.