Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Engineering 190W - Spring 2022 - Foresta Section: Conducting Research


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/ENGR190W-Spring_2022_Foresta

New UC Library Search

Searching UC Library Search will allow you to find books and resources in all formats at UCI and across all UC Libraries.  You may retrieve items we don’t have at UCI.  To find resources outside UC libraries in all formats you will search UC Library Search- Worldcat.  For more information on searching the new interface, please visit https://vimeo.com/581977654

 

Additional UC Library Search features the following enhancements: Use the left sidebar to refine your results and select:
  • Search your home campus library collection as well as the collections of all 10 UC libraries in the same system;
  • Locate the full text of millions of print and online books, journal articles, and other content
  • Borrow and renew materials from any library in the UC system without retyping your library card number
  • Advanced Search is a keyword search, same as “Basic.” It provides more options and ways to control what you are searching and what your results will be.
  • Browse searching, or left-anchored searching, searches ONLY THE CATALOG and is only available from the Browse link in the headers.
  • Sort by – to choose output – relevance is the default but you can choose most date-newest, date-oldest, title, author
  • Show Only – for online access, peer-reviewed journals, OA content, Print materials
  • Resource Type – not everything in any category but allows you to choose
  • Location – corresponds to print holdings
  • Publication Date – enter the years of publication you want covered
  • Language – select languages in which you can read
  • UC Libraries – to restrict to local holdings

 

Getting Started

There are Subject Guides that may be helpful to consult - there is one corresponding to each academic department in the Samueli School of Engineering and the Bren School of Information & Computer Sciences and for all other academic units and subject areas such as Biology or Medicine or Environmental Sciences prepared by other librarians.  These may provide more relevant and advanced content. 

This quarter you will be depending most heavily on digital or eContent. 

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check UC Library Search before requesting an ILL and make all requests there. If UCI has the eBook and you prefer reading the print, please request it here  For requests outside of the UC use the WorldCat Worldwide search incorporated in UC Library Search.  For additional information contact libill@uci.edu

UC Library Search - Training Videos

With the new launch of UC Library Search there are several videos about how to use it.  Please visit https://guides.lib.uci.edu/video-tutorials to find short videos about:

Finding Books & eBooks

There are many ways to identify the availability of a book, book chapter and format of the book - as an eBook or in print. In Summer 2021, UC Library Search was launched as a discovery source for all library holdings across all 10 UC campuses. The left side bar allows you to refine your search in many ways. One can retrieve content by searching for books, book chapters, journal articles, newspaper articles, theses/dissertations, films, videos, music scores & recordings, Government documents and Course Reserves. In addition, one can search only UCI's holdings by searching the Advanced Search option for the Library Catalog and selecting specific features of what one needs.  It is recommended that one search databases for journal articles for more complete access to what has been published.  he order of this recommendation includes priorities for UCI users. There may be multiple records for the different formats in UC Library Search.  If UCI has an eBook format for a specific title and you prefer to read a print copy, you can borrow that book on ILL from another campus.by submitting an ILL request via UC Library Search.

Connecting from Off-Campus will require that you use the VPN to access licensed content.  Follow the directions and load on up to five devices including your cell phone, tablets, laptops, and desktops.  Please be aware that you may be asked to login with your UCInetID to access specific resources.  This Duo MultiFactor Authentication is another layer of security when accessing protected systems and services.  If you have any questions, please contact OIT (Office of Information Technology) 24/7 at 949-824-2222.

Finding book chapters is increasingly important and available in the digital arena. Many eBook platforms allow one to search at the chapter or full text level, and those will be noted in each subject area. 

eBook Collections

There are many eBook resources - reference titles, collections from many publishers (Springer is the largest publisher represented) known for scholarly and professional title releases.  There are scholarly societies and commercial publishers represented/.  They are all identified in UC Library Search as "available online" and many are listed on different Subject Guides. Examples of these include the following collections and there are many more listed in UC Library Search:

There are many eBooks from trade publishers on different platforms listed on the EBooks Guide.

The professional societies, especially in Engineering are listed on the professional society websites.  These include:

  • IEEE - IEEE Xplore
  • ASCE - ASCE Research Library
  • ASME - ASME Digital Collection
  • SAE - SAE Mobilus
  • SPIE - SPIE
  • IET - IET Digital Library

Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Specialized Titles & Resources