Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Engineering 190W - Spring 2022 - Foresta Section: Assignments


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/ENGR190W-Spring_2022_Foresta

Hints

HINTS

Hints for Specific Groups

There are several good sources for each topic - please use them as a starting point and then consider what additional sources of information are needed - the links to the sources are found below:

 

Group Projects - Summer Session II 2021

Each group should make an appointment for a Research Consultation on the Home tab under "Schedule Appointment" - if there is not a time that works for the group, please eMail me a couple of possibilities for me to confirm a time.

Fall 2021 - Mon/Wed 6:30 PM Section

 

 

 

1. Solid-State Batteries: Improvements in their Design and Possible Applications

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors: Solid state batteries; Lithium ion batteries;

Recommended Sources: UC Library Search, CRCnetBASE; Compendex; Plunkett Research Online; Business Source Complete; BCC Research - review Solid State Batter: Global Markets report, Nov 2020; IEEE Xplore

2. Methods for Maximizing Photovoltaic Efficiency

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors: Photovoltaic power generation; Photovoltaic power systems - Energy consumption; Power electronics; Solar cells

Recommended Sources: UC Library Search: ASCE Research Library; Compendex; SPIE Digital Library; Materials Science & Engineering Collection; Agricultural & Environmental Sciences Database; BCC Research (check out this report, Building-Integrated Photovoltaics (BIPV): Technologies and Global Markets (May 2021) and search for windows within document); Plunkett Research Online;

3.. Brain Computer Interface Electrodes and Data Collection Methods

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors: Electroencephalography; EEG; Brain mapping

Recommended Sources:UC Library Search; Scopus; Compendex; Biosis; IEEE Xplore

4. Cartilage Tissue Engineering Methods and Applications

Recommended Subject Headings: Regenerative Medicine/Tissue Engineering

Recommended Sources:  UC Library Search (see Cartilage Tissue Engineering Methods and Protocols, 2015); Compendex; ASME Collection; PubMed; BCC Research

5. Biofabrication techniques and Applications in Medicine and Plastic Use Alternatives

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors: Bioprinting; Bioink; Biofabrication; Organ printing

Recommended Sources: UC Library Search; ENGnetBase; BCC Research; Compendex;  Materials Science and Engineering Collection; IEEE Xplore; Business Source Complete; Academic Search Complete; Factiva;  Plunkett Research Online; Web of Science

6. Shape-Shifting Robots: Designs and Applications

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors: Shape-shifting robots

Recommended Sources:  ASME Collection; Compendex; Materials Science & Engineering Collection; BCC Research; Google Scholar

7.  The Applications and Functionality of the Apple Health Monitoring Application

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors: health monitors; wearable devices; sensors

Recommended Sources: Business Source Complete; Google Scholar; Plunkett Research Online; BCC Research (see wearable medical Devices: Technologies and Global Markets, 2019 and Home Health Monitoring Device Industry: Global Markets, Dec 2020); Factiva; eFunda; also check out https://guides.lib.uci.edu/c.php?g=334725&p=2250236 under resources listed for wearable devices on Assignments tab.

       Tuesday/Thursday 6:30 PM Section 

1. Hydrogen as Alternative Fuel Source

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors: Alternative fuels; Hydrogen as fuel

Recommended Sources: UC Library Search; BCC Research (see Alternatively Powered Commercial Vehicles: Global Fuel Markets, July 2021); Compendex; Business Source Complete; Academic Search Complete; Plunkett Research Online; Gale Opposing Viewpoints
2. Current Methods of Coral Reef Restoration

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors:  Coral reef restoration; Restoration ecology; Coral reef conservation

Recommended Sources: Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Database; Biosis; Web of Science; UC Library Search; CRCnetBASE

3. The Use of Artificial Intelligence and Moral Decision-making in Autonomous Vehicles

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors: SAE Mobilus; AI;Artificial intelligence; Autonomous vehicles; Self-driving vehicles; Unmanned vehicles

Recommended Sources: Plunkett Research Online; Business Source Complete; BCC Research; UC Library Search; Gartners; Compendex

4. The Technical and Ethical Challenges of Implementing Artificial Intelligence into Autonomous Vehicles

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors: AI;Artificial intelligence; Autonomous vehicles; Self-driving vehicles; Unmanned vehicles

Recommended Sources: SAE Mobilus; Plunkett Research Online; Business Source Complete; BCC Research; UC Library Search; Gartners; Compendex

5. The Ecological Impact of Implementing Hydrogen-Powered Vehicles

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors: Hydrogen powered vehicles

Recommended Sources: SAE Mobilus; Compendex; ASME Collection; Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Database; Scopus

6. Using Soft, Shape Shifting Robotics for Space Exploration

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors:  Shape shifting robots

Recommended Sources: UC Library Search; Business Source Complete; Scopus; Google Search;

7. Increased use of Artificial Intelligence in Modern Society and its Consequences

Recommended Subject Headings, Search Terms or Descriptors: AI; Artificial Intelligence

Recommended Sources:  Web of Science; UC Library Search; Plunkett Research Online; SSRN; Gale Opposing Viewpoints

 

Overall Assignments

You have several assignments in this class.  They include writing essays, group collaboration, presentations, research papers, technical papers. 

Working in Groups

Some hints for achieving success iin group projects:

  1. establish a group leader to keep everyone focused and on task
  2. contract with one another about what each will deliver
  3. share information widely
  4. work from an outline
  5. remember that group effort contributes to defining everyone's outcome
  6. use MS Word Tracking - activate on the "Review" tab to visually show all revisions
  7. consider using a platform such as Google Drive to share writing passages and ideas - you will need to register  or share Google Docs (http://www.google.com/google-d-s/b1.html) - you can find additional information about Google Apps for UCI users at http://www.google.uci.edu/
  8. Arrange to share information and meet up about your group assignments & projects via Zoom or Skype or another open conferencing site so you can share content and practice presentations for final project