Research Guides: Graduate Student Orientation to Biomedical Engineering 2023-2024: Miscellaneous Resources

Miscellaneous Resources

ANALYTICAL TOOLS - ISI Journal Citation Reports (JCR) for Science and Social Sciences - online from 1999 but tables include additional years of data through the most recent year

BUSINESS RESOURCES - There are many resources that contain information about business and entrepreneurial strategies in biomedical engineering and product development. The marketing trends, business cycles and company information, business news and investment opportunities are noted on the Business & Management Subject Pages.

MEDICAL RESOURCES - The clinical collection is at the Grunigen Medical Library but the Science Library has the largest medical collection. Please consult the Medical Subject Guide.

REFERENCE ASSISTANCE - Besides contacting the Engineering Librarian, you can visit the Langson Library Reference Desk (hours), engage in eMail reference or LIVE CHAT, or schedule a research consultation by using the Ask-a-Librarian Service.

Bibliographic Management Software

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE - allows you to discover, find, manage, recall and apply the citations you retrieve from all formats of work - journal articles, book chapters, edited volumes, standards, specifications, patents, conference papers & proceedings, lectures, etc. Neither Zotero nor EndNote support BibTeX or LaTeX, only the usual wordprocessing languages or Legal Style Manual. For additional information, please visit the Bibliographic Management Software page.

EndNote
EndNote is a robust product for Bibliographic Management Software, but it needs to be purchased and is dependent upon access on one computer. EndNote Basic is a modified web-based product available via the Web of Knowledge platform.
more...less...
There is an abbreviated free web version available via the Web of Science Databases. However, there is no UCI campus license to the full coverage of EndNote and if one chooses to use EndNote, it is recommended that one go to the UCI Bookstore and purchase it with an academic discount, and load it on a personal computer or laptop. Currently the Libraries provide access to EndNote version 6 in the Multimedia Resources Center (MRC), Langson Library Technology Enhanced Classroom (TEC), Interactive Learning Center (ILC), and in the Grunigen Medical Library at the UCI Medical Center. It is recommended that you take the trial on the Registration Page first before you invest in this product to see how it supports your workstyle.
Zotero
Zotero is a free, open-source reference management tool that offers both a downloadable software for Windows, Mac, and Linux and browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox , or Safari.
more...less...
Researchers can add searchable notecards to their citations, organize them with tags, attach files to them, arrange them into folders, or export them as formatted citations. Zotero can capture a single citation or an entire results list of sources, which researchers can work with either online or offline.
Bibsonomy
Bibsonomy is a scholarly bookmarking service that offers its users related tags, the ability to create groups, and the ability to export records to BibTeX.
more...less...
Bibsonomy members can construct friends networks, import their del.icio.us links, generate private entries, and import their BibTeX libraries.
Mathematica
Provides quick links to support documents for Mathematica software.

About Dissertation Preparation at UCI

You may not be ready to consider your dissertation right away, but it should not be far from your thinking. By the end of the second year you will begin working closely with a faculty advisor and formulating your research topic. It is smart to think about the final product from the onset, so as to learn how you will format it and prepare the document so that the writing, revisions, and updating can take place easily and seamlessly. There are many documents to direct you in this endeavor and some beginning resources include the UCI Thesis and Dissertation Manual