Research Guides: Graduate Student Orientation to Biomedical Engineering 2023-2024: Basic Overview & Searching

Specific Areas to Search

Quick Reference
For quick and often needed information verification.
Library Hours
List of Subject Guides
One for each department in SSOE noted at https://guides.lib.uci.edu/content.php?pid=16804
Science Library
Services & Collections for the Science Library, also known as the Library for Science & Medicine as it supports the Life Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering, Information & Computer Sciences, Heath & Medicine, and related Policy Sciences.

Finding Resources

Library Search
Library Search is a new search tool for books, articles, images, databases, journals, and videos that offers powerful search and display features. This includes the traditional search options of a catalog (such as looking up specific authors, titles, and keywords) and expands the types of resources you can discover related to your research.
more...less...
To find books for which you have direct access to either as an eBook or in print, please restrict your search to Library Catalog, and consider using the Advanced Search option. You can further filter your searches using the left side bar (e.g. by Availability, Subject, Author/Creator, Location, Date etc). The default for results is to Relevancy; however, that can be changed using the pull down menu on the left.
“Almost everything” searches beyond the UCI collections to include material available in open access repositories; however, please refer to Melvyl to search other libraries’ holdings for interlibrary loans. Library Search is not a substitute for searching databases to find articles, conference papers, and other non-book materials. The library is committed to maintaining access to those subject related databases for their unique search potential.

There are several methodologies to use to find resources.

UC Library Search Searching UC Library Search will allow you to find books and resources in all formats at UCI and across all UC Libraries. You may retrieve items we don’t have at UCI. To find resources outside UC libraries in all formats you will search UC Library Search- Worldcat. Additional UC Library Search features the following enhancements: - Search your home campus library collection as well as the collections of all 10 UC libraries in the same system; - Locate the full text of millions of print and online books, journal articles, and other content - Borrow and renew materials from any library in the UC system without retyping your library card number - Advanced Search is a keyword search, same as “Basic.” It provides more options and ways to control what you are searching and what your results will be. - Browse searching, or left-anchored searching, searches ONLY THE CATALOG and is only available from the Browse link in the headers.
more...less...
Use the left side bar to refine your results and select:

- Sort by – to choose output – relevance is the default but you can choose most date-newest, date-oldest, title, author
- Show Only – for online access, peer-reviewed journals, OA content, Print materials
- Resource Type – not everything in any category but allows you to choose
- Location – corresponds to print holdings
- Publication Date – enter the years of publication you want covered
- Language – select languages in which you can read
- UC Libraries – to restrict to local holdings
UCI Library Website
Recommend that this be "bookmarked" or added as a "favorite."

Ask A Librarian

For Chat, Text, eMail and to schedule a Research Consultation with a Librarian, use: