Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Graduate Student Orientation to Biomedical Engineering 2018-2019: Finding Journals - Using Databases


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/BMEGrad2014-15

Specialized Titles & Resources

Databases

Indexing & Abstracting Tools or Databases and they, plus others are noted on the Biomedical Engineering Subject Guide.

Electronic Journals

consult Library Search for access by title or subject heading; consult the UCI Libraries Homepage and then click on the "Research Tools" tab across the top.  Next click on "Find Online Resources," and enter element of resource with which you are familiar either by searching or browsing, or use the list by publisher.  UC eLinks support the following scholarly publishers which are strong in this subject area.

In addition to using the Subject Guides for each departmental subject focus, become aware of platform ubiquity, publisher of information resource and other attributes that allow you to search multiple databases concurrently.  Remember that most searches can be conducted with an interdisciplinary focus and biomedical engineering may have a Bioengineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Industrial Engineering, aMaterials Science, Mechanical Engineering focus, or include business/management, medical or clinical approach to a topic.  Use the UC eLinks for access to holdings in all formats, remember that MELVYL Request is the fastest way to submit ILL requests.  Do not agree to purchase content without checking with Liaison Librarian first!

* Indicated UCI Access Only
 
These publishers are examples of content that reflects strong coverage of biomedical engineering themes and topics.

  Finding Books

FINDING BOOKS:

  • Online Catalogs:
    • Library Search– UC Irvine Libraries holdings (Langson Library – LL), Science Library (SL), and Grunigen Medical Library (GML) - note format - can search by keyword; records at source level
    •  
    • MELVYL– UC-wide holdings (all 10 UC campuses) in all formats plus access to WorldCat as that is the platform that powers MELVYL - easiest way to use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is via MELVYL Request.  Functions as more of a discovery tool and retrieves articles as well as books and media.  Help and assistance is available via a Quick Guide and FAQs.  There is a quick and advanced search engine.  Search can default to UC Libraries, Libraries Worldwide and UCI.  WorldCat is a global consortium of different kinds of libraries, including academic, public, governmental and special libraries around the world and their library holdings are noted and can also be borrowed but take much longer to receive.  It is best to borrow from the UC Libraries using the UC eLink icon to utilize REQUEST.
    •  
    • Global Books in Print - directory of books in print
    •  
    • Amazon.com - commercial inventory - can be checked for items not in our collection and ordered via ILL
    •  
  • Library of Congress Subject Headings – the authority that offers the structured vocabulary for relevant output for searching Library Search & Melvyl by Subject Headings. Keyword searching may retrieve more output but may not be as relevant. Keyword also searches the author, title, source fields and elements in an abstract when searching in a database, as well as the Subject Headings.  One easy way to establish the Subject Headings is to search Library Search by Subject (use pull-down tabs) and then when you find a relevant book, scroll down to the list of subject headings and click on one of them and other books in the collection will be retrieved.  Corresponding classification schemes mapped to call numbers are found in this outline.

E-Books - there are an increasing number of eBooks to which you have access. They are all listed in Library Search and MELVYL. There are many collections of such resources and the collections can be searched collectively.  These titles are all restricted to UCI users.

  1. CRCnetBASE - a large collection of Engineering and related books published by the CRC Press and now part of the Taylor & Francis Group. There are many titles in different subject areas - specifically EngnetBASE and within that part of the database are included books on Civil, Mechanical, Biomedical, Electrical Engineering.  There are some books or titles for which there is a lock on the entry meaning that it is not available as part of this collection - check Library Search to see if we have the title as a print book.
  2. Knovel - a very large database of books in engineering, chemistry and materials science including many reference works published by a variety of publishers. UCI does NOT have access to the latest subject section added, Sustainable Energy & Development.  Access to all the other titles should be available.
  3. Safari Tech Books Online - collection of eBooks by O'Reilly 
  4. Springer Books and Series - large collection of science and engineering books published by global publisher Springer with imprint dates from 2008 forward
  5. National Academies Press - output of the National Academies of Science & Engineering of commissioned research reports and books in subjects related to all life sciences, engineering, applied sciences, technology, information sciences, physical sciences, etc
  6. SPIE eBooks - Collection of books published since 1989 in optics & photonics reflecting the following technologies & applications: Astronomy & Astronomical Optics; Biomedical Optics & Medical Imaging; Communication & Information Technologies; Defense & industrial Sensing; Electronic Imaging & processing; Micro- & Nono-Technologies; Optics & Electro-Optics
  7. IEEE-Wiley eBooks - collection of 400 titles to be released by Wiley and made available via the IEEE Xplore platform.  Subjects covered include Bioengineering, engineered materials, eielectrics and plasmas, photonics & electro-optics, etc.
  8. ASM Handbooks - features the complete content of 25 ASM Handbook volumes. 
  9. Wiley Online Library eBook Collection  - Updated monthly, this collection includes 950 books with a 2011 pub date. The collection will serve a wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. The Wiley ebooks will complement another large ebook collection from Springer. Exclusions to the Wiley collection are textbooks, major reference works, professional & trade titles and consumer books.
  10. SIAM eBooks - From the Society of Industrial & Applied Mathematics this collection will exceed 400 titles of backfile through current imprints reflecting output from the world’s applied mathematics and computational science communities. Individual title access will also be available in Library Search & Melvyl.

 

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu