Researching from home? Remote access to the UC Irvine Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.
Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).
Access available to all.
Search collections across all UC campuses or limit your search to UC Irvine. Includes print books and articles, electronic books and articles, book chapters, and more.
Click each link to learn how to activate your complimentary subscription to these newspapers, courtesy of UC Irvine Libraries. You only have to activate once to get started, and renew each year while you are at UC Irvine. VPN required to activate.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables UC Irvine students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries. For material found in UC Library Search, but not available at UC Irvine, sign in to your library account and request it from another UC Library.
For material found in WorldCat but not UC Library Search, submit a request using the Blank ILL Request Form, available on the:
To access UC Irvine Libraries' resources from off campus, you must connect to the UCIFull Group of the software VPN. Learn more at the Connect from Off-Campus page and use this Test My VPN Connection button to see if you are connected properly.
|
I can't access a library resource. Am I on the VPN? Click on the "Test My VPN Connection" button. ➔ If you get a message that you are OFF the UCI IP range, visit the Connecting FAQ Guide to set up and configure your VPN. |
Predatory Publishing:
Predatory publishers are journals that use deceptive tactics to lure researchers into publishing with disreputable online journals. These journals ignore proper peer review processes, charging processing fees, or unclear wording in contracts to hijack the author's work and name.
Additional predatory practices include:
1. Hijacked journals
2. Predatory conferences - in person and virtual
3. Predatory memberships
Useful resources for publishing:
Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing
The Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE), the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), the Open Access Scholarly Publishing Association (OASPA), and the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME) are scholarly organizations that have collaborated to identify principles of transparency and best practice for scholarly publications.
Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)
COPE is committed to educating and supporting editors, publishers, universities, research institutes, and all those involved in publication ethics. COPE aims to move the culture of publishing towards one where ethical practices become a normal part of the culture itself. Our approach is firmly in the direction of influencing through education, resources and support of our members, alongside the fostering of professional debate in the wider community.
Reputable Journal Lists:
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Journals added and removed
DOAJ maintains a Google sheet with a list of journals ADDED, REMOVED (mostly due to inactivity) and REJECTED but it is continuously updated Google sheet regarding journals that have been added/removed from DOAJ. In most instances, it states the reason why the journal was removed-many times is because the journal is not adhering to best practices derived from Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing. Other times, because the website does not work or the journal ceased publishing. This list is always up to date.
The Master Journal List is an invaluable tool to help you to find the right journal for your needs across multiple indices hosted on the Web of Science platform. Web of Science Core Collection includes only journals that demonstrate high levels of editorial rigor and best practice.
Cabells' Curated Journal Database
A subscription-based database that includes information on trusted publications as well as detailed metrics on fees, Open Access, and citations.
***Remember, there is no list to rule them all. If you have a question regarding a particular journal or resource, please reach out to the library!
Other resources:
Gives research administrators the ability to identify and connect funding opportunities to researchers at their institution. (Sponsored by the UCI Office of Research.)
