Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering 190W - Summer Session 2021 - Tateri Sections: Conducting Research

New UC Library Search

Searching UC Library Search will allow you to find books and resources in all formats at UCI and across all UC Libraries.  You may retrieve items we don’t have at UCI.  To find resources outside UC libraries in all formats you will search UC Library Search- Worldcat.  For more information on searching the new interface, please visit https://vimeo.com/581977654

 

Additional UC Library Search features the following enhancements: Use the left sidebar to refine your results and select:
  • Search your home campus library collection as well as the collections of all 10 UC libraries in the same system;
  • Locate the full text of millions of print and online books, journal articles, and other content
  • Borrow and renew materials from any library in the UC system without retyping your library card number
  • Advanced Search is a keyword search, same as “Basic.” It provides more options and ways to control what you are searching and what your results will be.
  • Browse searching, or left-anchored searching, searches ONLY THE CATALOG and is only available from the Browse link in the headers.
  • Sort by – to choose output – relevance is the default but you can choose most date-newest, date-oldest, title, author
  • Show Only – for online access, peer-reviewed journals, OA content, Print materials
  • Resource Type – not everything in any category but allows you to choose
  • Location – corresponds to print holdings
  • Publication Date – enter the years of publication you want covered
  • Language – select languages in which you can read
  • UC Libraries – to restrict to local holdings

 

Getting Started

There are Subject Guides that may be helpful to consult - there is one corresponding to each academic department in the Samueli School of Engineering and the Bren School of Information & Computer Sciences and for all other academic units and subject areas such as Biology or Medicine or Environmental Sciences prepared by other librarians.  Many of you may find the Business literature helpful and it is suggested that you consider using the Subject Guide for Business These may provide more relevant and advanced content. 

Finding Books and eBooks

FINDING BOOKS and EBOOKS: You will search in Library Holdings Catalogs such as the following Online Public Access Catalogs (opacs) and by collections, and by individual titles or authors to locate specific books.  Some collections are publisher specific.  

  • Library of Congress Subject Headings – the authority that offers the structured vocabulary for relevant output for searching UC Library Search by Subject Headings. Keyword searching may retrieve more output but may not be as relevant. Keyword also searches the author, title, source fields and elements in an abstract when searching in a database, as well as the Subject Headings.  One easy way to establish the Subject Headings is to search Library Search by Browse (use pull-down tabs) and then when you find a relevant book, scroll down to the list of subject headings and click on one of them and other books in the collection will be retrieved.  Corresponding classification schemes mapped to call numbers are found in this outline.

E-Books - there are an increasing number of eBooks to which you have access. They are all listed in UC Library Search and by individual title and by keyword. There are many collections of such resources from different commercial publishers and scholarly societies and government agencies.

Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Use UC Library Search


Find books, government documents, maps and more ...
 

How to use UC Library Search? Contact Librarian

InterLibrary Loan

Currently, due to the Libraries being physically closed, we are only borrowing and lending eContent.  If we do not have the book you need or the UCI copy is not available, initiate a request for the book utilizing MELVYL REQUEST by clicking on the REQUEST icon in MELVYL or clicking through the UC eLink and selecting REQUEST.  This is also possible for journal articles that we do not have.  All UCI students have access to ILL.  Please consult with librarian for alternative materials.