A variety of resources exist and basically every book is a reference work in some fashion - the standard reference tool includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, maps & atlases, directories, etc and some examples include:
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology, Springer, 2012.
Additional resources include:
3. California Engineer - this is a professional publication that accepts student submissions. See ASL Drum and Curr Per under TA 1 C28
Explaining Research: How to Reach Key Audiences to Advance Your Work, 2010 - ASL REF Q223 M399 2010
The Essentials of Technical Communication, 2010 - ASL Bar T11 T295 2010
Learning to Communicate in Science and Engineering: Case Studies from MIT, 2010 - ASL Bar Q223 P64 2010
Communicating Science: Professional, Popular and Literary, 2010 - ASL Bar Q223 R87 2010
Presenting Science: A Practical Guide to Giving a Good Talk, 2010 - ASL REF Q223 I87 2010
The Craft of Scientific Communication, 2010 - ASL Bar Q223 H37 2010
A Guide to Writing as an Engineer, 3rd ed., 2009 - ASL RESERVES T 11 B396 2009
Speaking About Science: Manual for Creating Clear Presentations, 2006. ASL Bar Q223 M67 2006
Careers in Focus: Engineering, 3rd ed. Chicago, IL: Ferguson/Infobase Pub., 2007. ASL REF TA157 .C283 2007
Resumes for Engineering Careers: With Sample Cover Letters, 3rd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2006. ASL REF TA 157 R47 2006
Writing from A to Z, 5th ed., 2004 - ASL RESERVES PE 1408 W773 2005 c. 2
Writing and Speaking in the Technology Professions: A Practical Guide / edited by David F. Beer, New York: IEEE Press, 2003, ASL Bar, T11 W75 2003
Technical Style / J.M. Haile, Central, S.C.: Macatea Productions, 2001, ASL Bar, T11 H24 2001
Technical Writing and Professional Communication for Nonnative Speakers of English / Thomas N. Huckin, Leslie A. Olsen, NY: McGraw-Hill, 1991. ASL T11 H823 1991
For assistance in preparing presentations you should consider the Tab on Preparing Presentations and you will also find the following resources helpful in preparing a Powerpoint presentation that can capture your ideas with some visual elements including images, graphs, photographs, etc. Also several of the books listed in the section or box just above will be exceedingly helpful. For some background in creating an appropriate presentation, consider the needs of your audience and play to that group. You may find the following resources and tutorials helpful:
Finding Books about Engineering Ethics – appropriate subject headings may include:
When searched in Library Search by Subject Headings,” Engineering ethics” one retrieves 94 titles; by title the retrieval is 8 titles; by keyword 495 titles appear
Recommended books and eBooks include:
Johnson, Deborah (2020). Engineering Ethics: Contemporary and Enduring Debates. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science - Lectures on Engineers, Technology and Society - the following specific titles may be of particular interest: A Handbook for Analytical Writing (2013) Ethics for Bioengineers (2012); Tragedy in the Gulf: A call for a new engineering ethic (2011); Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering (2008) Engineering Ethics: Peace, Justice and the Earth (2006)
Engineering Ethics: Outline of an Aspirational Approach / W. Richard Bowen. London: Springer, 2009.
Recommended journal is Science and Engineering Ethics (vol. 1, 1985+)
Appropriate websites may include:
Standards and Specifications are described as documents that describe the rules and conditions for how materials and products should be manufactured, defined, measured, tested, and applied. They are used to establish baselines or a minimum level of performance and quality control to ensure that optimal conditions and procedures for the purpose of creating compatibility with products and services from different periods and a range of sources. Specifications have a more limited range of application than standards and generally establish requirements for materials, products, or services. Standards and specifications may be issued by voluntary technical or trade associations, professional societies, national standards bodies, government agencies, or by international organizations. It is critical to establish the source.
Standards and specifications are of greatest utility to engineers, scientists and those working with new innovations.
Learn more about Standards
Types of Standards:
What are some points to remember when using standards?
To locate a standard you should (ideally) have at least three of the following:
Sources for Standards: ASTM SEDL
The media has really changed in recent years and with the focus on fake news it is important that you can cite your sources accurately. You will also want to remember that we are living in an increasingly evidence-based society where facts matter as well as to whom or what they are attributed. New methods of communication are important and include blogs, twitter tweets, informal transcripts, interviews, eMail, texting, etc. There are different indexes and collections of some of these that are reliable sources to search.
Also, it is important to consider the sourcing of information - for example, when an article is published in the newspaper it often comes from or is originally reported in an academic research article and comparing those materials is important. Checking the references and citations directs you to cited sources and related material.
Collections of digital images freely accessible to the public.
Collections of digital images licensed by the
University of California Libraries in support of the research,
teaching, and learning of UC faculty, students, and staff.
*Robust image management and presentation tools are available in ARTstor and Insight.