Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!
Modern Italy: A Very Short Introduction by
Call Number: Langson Library DG555 .C363 2016
Publication Date: 2017
This book covers the history of Italy from the Risorgimento (Resurgence), the movement leading to the Italian Unification in 1861, to the present. Italy’s political system and style of government is considered along with its economic modernization and issues with emigration, internal migration, and immigration. This volume concludes by looking at Italian culture and lifestyle, including modern art and architecture, cinema, literature, gastronomy, fashion, and sport. Available as an ebook and in print.
Italian Literature: A Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 2012
This book covers Italian literature from the Middle Ages to the present day. Examining themes such as regional identities, political disunity, and the role of the national language, it covers a wide range of authors and works, including Dante, Petrarch, Manzoni, Montale, and Calvino. It explores some of the distinctive traditions of the literature, such as its liking for theorizing its own position, its concern with politics, and its secular orientation. Concluding by looking at the ways in which Italian literature has changed over the last thirty years, it also examines the influence of women's writing in Italian, and acknowledges the belated recognition of its importance. Available as an ebook.
Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studies by
Call Number: Langson Library PQ4006 .E536 2007
Publication Date: 2006
A 2-volume reference with detailed treatment of the field of Italian literature, with attention both to the work and influence of individual writers of all genres and to movements, styles, and critical approaches. Available in print only.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Italian Literature by
Call Number: Langson Library PQ4063 .F45 1997
Publication Date: 1997
This reference work addresses Italian literary culture and writings, both by women and by men, in light of feminist theory. Included are entries for authors, schools, movements, genres and forms, figures and types, and similar topics related to Italian literature from the Middle Ages to the present. Available in print only.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture by
Call Number: Langson Library Reference DG450 .E53 2000
Publication Date: 2000
This volume offers coverage of the diverse forms of post-1945 Italian culture. It is interdisciplinary in character, treating traditional political, economic, and legal concerns, with a particular emphasis on neglected areas of popular culture.
The Roman Republic: A Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 2012
‘The Roman Republic’ describes the rise of the Roman Republic from its humble beginnings and explores its legacy in the modern world. Examining the political structure of the Republic and reflecting on the values and beliefs held by Romans of the time, it traces the legacy of the Republic through the Empire and the early Christian church to the Renaissance and the eighteenth-century revolutions in the USA and France. Available as an ebook.
Additional Reference Resources
Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani
A freely accessible collective biography of the Italians who have contributed to artistic and political, scientific, religious, literary and economic history from the fall of the Western Roman Empire to today.
A freely accessible encyclopedia covering the arts, literature, social sciences, sciences, technology, and sports.