Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Italian Studies: Citation Management

The library research guide for scholars of Italian Studies.

Why are citations important?

Academic papers are conversations between multiple authors; we agree with, refute, and challenge the ideas of other scholars. Responsible scholarship dictates that we properly credit scholars with their work when it is mentioned - enter citations.

Citations are for transparency and access. In addition to proving that you've done your due diligence as an academic, citations let readers know what you've read and where they can access a source you've used.

More Information

For far more comprehensive information on citation and citation management tools, please see the:

Ask a Librarian

blue Ask a Librarian icon

Citation Management

One of the challenges of doing research is keeping track of your citations. The library provides access to a number of tools to help you manage your resources. Below is a quick overview of three Citation Management systems. A more detailed comparison and instructions on how to use these are described in detail in the bibliographic management guide.

Citation Management Software

What is citation management software? 

Citation management software (aka bibliographic management software ) allows users to build, organize, and manage citations. 

What does citation management software do? 

  • Import records from article databases and create bibliographies almost instantaneously 

  • Add abstracts, keywords, and other functions that enhance and improve the efficiency of projects 

  • Allows users to collaborate on shared projects 

  • Allows users to embed footnotes and endnotes in documents 

Users should still:  

  • Manually double check the bibliography or reference list 

  • Check for errors or omissions from the database from which references were retrieved 

General Information

  EndNote Zotero Mendeley
URL http://endnote.com/ http://www.zotero.org/ http://www.mendeley.com/
Type Desktop Client Desktop client and browser add-on for Chrome, Firefox, and Safari Desktop client and web-based. Works with IE, Firefox, Chrome and Safari
Tutorials Endnote Training Zotero Tutorial Mendeley Tutorial

Cost*

This may change, for the most up to date pricing, please check the website.

Free: 2GB, 50,000 citations (EndNote Basic)

One time purchase of $119.95 through the ThinkEDU online store

Free: 300 MB storage

$20/year: 2 GB storage

$60/year: 6 GB storage

$120/year: Unlimited storage

Zotero Lab

Free: 2GB storage

$4.99/month: 5GB storage
$9.99/month: 10GB storage
$14.99/month: unlimited