Research Guides: Energy Research: Pathfinder for the Advanced Power & Energy Program (APEP): Government Information

Research & Funding Opportunities

This is an increasingly important list of resources that will direct researchers and graduate students to funding opportunities in energy, fuel cells, biofuels, alternative energy and related topics. There are databases that include calls for proposals and submissions with deadlines from both the public and private sectors. There is a Subject Guide that addresses this topic in more details but the following resources will serve as the primary sources of information about funding opportunities:

COS - Community of Science
Provides a user-friendly interface to a worldwide database of more than 25,000 records. Make sure to check out COS Funding News in the left-hand panel and the COS Userguide.
IRIS
A searchable grants database indexing approximately 8,000 opportunities and made available by the Office of Research to UCI’s campus community. For assistance in using this database use the search help.
SPIN - Sponsored Projects Information Network
Another searchable database that may include some overlap with IRIS but may well note other opportunities. Also provides easy links to the Federal Register, FebBizOpps and other daily update services. There is also a User Guide.
PIVOT
Contains Pivot training videos & Searching for Funding Opportunities, How to Get Started with a Quick Search- video; Pivot has been paid for by the UCI Office of Research to improve opportunities for faculty, staff, and students to find funding.
It provides access to one of the most comprehensive sources of funding opportunities globally. Pivot combines the most comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities worth an estimated $75 billion with their unique database of 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles, drawing from Community of Scholars and Community of Science profiles.
USASpending.gov
USAspending.gov is the publicly accessible, searchable website mandated by the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 to give the American public access to information on how their tax dollars are spent. All the data on prime recipient transactions is submited by the federal agencies making federal contract, grant, loan, and other financial assistance awards. Agencies are required to submit data within 30 days of making the award or after making a modification or amendment to an award. The exception is the Department of Defense which delays its submission by 90 days to protect operations.

The charts, graphs, and maps display data from October 1, 2008. All data prior to September 30, 2008 can be downloaded.

Additional Government Resources & Databases – US Federal, California, & International

There is a new Subject Guide for Technical Reports that may be helpful.

Science.gov
Energy Section of primary federal government science database indexing fulltext materials from many agencies.
NASA
A rich source of content from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and searches for research information can best be done with this search interface.
TRIS Online
National Transportation Library Database hosted by the Transportation Research Board.
Official Energy Statistics
From the Energy Information Administration containing official energy statistics.
DOE Information Bridge
From the Department of Energy (DOE) contains report literature in chemistry, physics, materials, environmental sciences, energy technologies, renewable energies, engineering and computer/information sciences. From 1994, also contains contractor reports.
Energy, Science, & Technology Information Resources – U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
Provides full-text access to DOE research from 1995, bibliographic citations to DOE research from 1948.
The Energy Information Portal
Is another excellent source for access to energy information.
Energy Citations Database
From 1948 maintained by DOE.
DOE Reports Bibliographic Database
From 1994, maintained by OSTI.
Energy Files
From the Energy Science & Technology Virtual Library – has Energy Portal to search technical reports; and a subject search guide to relevant energy content from a range of related subjects.
Energy Information Administration
Full-text access to energy statistics. Covers 3 geographic levels: state, U.S., world. Includes diverse information sources and content. Good global conference list.
NTRL - National Technical Report Literature
Growing Fulltext Index to Technical reports issued by government agencies from 1964 with fulltext starting with most recent NTIS content and going back retrospectively. This new database offers the most complete access to fulltext NTIS reports and is growing all the time. With over 2 Million Reports and over 500,000 in fulltext PDFs. The more recent reports tend to be the ones available in PDF.
more...less...
Check the language of the report and the length of it before printing. Recommend using the Advanced Search option.
National Renewable Energy Lab
Full coverage of the work and output of the National Lab in Golden, CO.
Online Fuel Cells Information Resources
Not totally current but identifies a variety of resources including many government reports and publications and some content we have at UCI Libraries and some we do not have. Consult Library Search for specific holdings.
California Public Utilities Commission - Energy Division
The energy work responsibilities of the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) are derived from the California State Constitution, specifically Article XII, Section 3 and other sections more generally, numerous state legislative enactments and various federal statutory and administrative requirements which the Staff on behalf of the CPUC either carries out as an adjunct to federal authority or represents the Commission and the people of the State of California in federal legislative, regulatory or judicial matters.
California Stationary Fuel Cell Collaboration
Public/private collaborative sponsored by the California Air Resources Board.
California Energy Commission
Contains links to the State Annual Integrated Energy Policy Reports and other work of the Commission and data that it releases.
California Alternative Fuels and Alternative Fuel Vehicles
Numerous resources.
WorldwideScience
Global science gateway.
Source OECD
Materials from European Community members.
International Atomic Energy Agency
IAEA is a leading publisher in the nuclear field and operates out of the United Nations based HQ in Vienna with satellites around the globe.

Selective Business & Statistics Resources

There is wide coverage of trends, statistics, data in the commercial applications of energy, fuel cells, hybrid and electric vehicles, public utilities and green or environmental initiatives. Consulting the Research Guide for Business will lead to additional resources.

Business Source Complete
Major indexing of business journal literature; contains much full-text content
Plunkett Research Online
This is a database that is organized by industrial sectors. Click on List of Industries along top tabs and then select “Energy and Utilities” from list that forms on left side toolbar and then the top entry will be "Market Trends and Analysis" and provide a snapshot of the recent industrial trends; has list of active companies performing in the sector.
BCC Research
Market Research Reports from various industries reflecting Advanced Materials, Energy & Research, Fuel Cell & Battery Technology, etc.
Factiva
Full-text access to trade publications. Default is to search for most recent three months but can be changed to different periods.
Global Insight
Contains daily news updates, competitive company reports, industry profiles, and country and industry risks analysis services, including statistics and five-year forecasts. Special analysis is provided in the areas of regulations, health care, the automotive industry, energy, and telecommunications.
IBIS World
Contains research reports on hundreds of U.S. industries. Each report provides key statistics for the industry, and discusses market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, e.g. barriers to entry, cost structure, industry outlook, technology and impact of globalization, the major companies in the industry and the current and historic performance of the industry. Look under “Business Environment" or "Industry Market Research" under topics such as, Energy, Fuel Cells, etc.
Investext Plus
Investment research, industry analysis and reports. Look under “Automobiles" or "Energy" and refine search with keyword amplification and geographical point of reference and restrict to a time period and you will retrieve fulltext business reports, news & trade publication articles.
Forrester Research
Forrester focuses on the business implications of technology change and is considered the leading source for forecasting. Forrester's research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Forrester reports include up-to-date industry statistics, as well as illustrative graphs and charts.
more...less...
Does cover emerging technologies, "green or environmental" trends and some business coverage on energy companies. Requires login using UCINetID and password.
STAT-USA
Economic and foreign trade statistics.
Lexis-Nexis Statistical Universe