Finding Articles - Using Databases - Energy Research: Pathfinder for the Advanced Power & Energy Program (APEP) - Research Guides at University of California Irvine

Retirement of SciFinder "Classic" - December 31, 2022

On December 31, 2022, the SciFinder “classic” interface will be retired for the University of California system. Going forward, we will only have access to SciFinder-n (or SciFinderⁿ, https://scifinder-n.cas.org).
Registered SciFinder users should expect to see several emails between now and the end of December reminding you of the change.
If you are already using SciFinder-n, there’s nothing you need to do.
If you are still using SciFinder “classic,” I do encourage you to begin using SciFinder-n. It’s the same username and password for both systems. If you have the old URL bookmarked, it will redirect to SciFinder-n after December 31.
- To migrate your saved searches and alerts, login to SciFinder-n, go to Saved and Alerts, then Migrate Alerts & Saved Results. There is more information about migration exceptions within the SciFinder-n help menu (link).
CAS has created some good training videos on SciFinder-n (https://www.cas.org/support/training/scifinder-n). There are also some upcoming webinars, and I can offer training to classes, research groups, and individuals.

Updated: Mitchell Brown (June 16, 2022) contact at mcbrown@uci.edu

Finding Articles and Databases

There are many, literally hundreds of databases containing journal articles, conference papers, books, book chapters and other information sources. They can be found in Databases A-Z and on most Subject Guides on tabs titled "Finding Articles/Using Databases" and similar names.

AAAS Science
American Association for the Advancement of Science.
more...less...
Full-text of Science Magazine and Science’s Next Wave covering v. 270, no. 5233 to present (October 6, 1995-present).
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and news articles on a variety of topics with significant full-text content.
ACM Digital Library
Association of Computing Machinery.
more...less...
Access to full text publications, including journals, transactions and proceedings.
AESD
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Database.
more...less...
Interdisciplinary, increasingly full text database of journal coverage in the agricultural, life & environmental sciences. Has UC eLinks matching library holdings.
Agricola
Direct link to the search engine in the bibliographic database produced by the National Agricultural Library.
more...less...
Consists worldwide literature citations pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.
Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering
1998-present part of the Annual Review series.
ASME Digital Collection
American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
more...less...
Access to 28 fulltext journals and the conference papers/proceedings from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This site is searchable but it may be best to use Compendex or INSPEC for searching.
ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library
ASTM is the major database for standards issued by the American Society for Testing and Materials.
more...less...
Includes full text current and historical standards, and all other publications issued by ASTM: e-books, symposia, journal articles and journal article literatures include 8 journal titles with backfile coverage.
BCC Research
Highly recommended large database for marketing research studies.
more...less...
Heavy emphasis in biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, healthcare, energy and other related sectors.
BIOSIS*: 1927 - Present
Citations for over 6,000 journals, books, conference papers in biology & life sciences.
more...less...
Abstracts for research articles. Includes biological oceanography, marine biology, marine ecology, and psychology.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts
Direct link to the search engine for biotechnology research abstracts content.
more...less...
Includes databases AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management), and EIS (Environmental Impact Statements).
BMES
Biomedical Engineering Society Annual Meeting (autumn).
CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Plus with Full Text
more...less...
Major indexing source for nursing & allied health topics.
Compendex
Online edition of Engineering Index 1884-present.
more...less...
Indexes all major scholarship in range of engineering specialty areas. Includes abstracts & UC-eLinks to library holdings in print and fulltext.
Dissertations and Theses
Search engine for UMI Dissertations database.
more...less...
Index to doctoral dissertations and masters' theses submitted to the UMI Dissertations database from all participating institutions in North America with a growing collection of foreign content. Free full-text access to all UC content from 1997. Requests can be made via ILL for all other content.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekPnbMgCeqY
efunda Engineering Research Library
A resource for freemium Engineering research, white papers, reports, case studies, magazines, and eBooks.
Ergonomics Abstracts
Ergonomics Abstracts is a database spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors.
more...less...
It includes not only mainstream ergonomics, but also on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport
Materials Indexed: Includes coverage of Book Chapters, Conference Proceedings, Journal & Magazine Articles.
Frost & Sullivan
This resource requires a UCINetID to login and does NOT allow for copying or downloading by students.
more...less...
Instructions: Under the heading "Latest Research", there are 4 radio tabs for you to customize your search.
1) Limit the "Market" tab from "Any" to "Energy & Power Systems" to view full-text reports.
2) Under Region, you can select what global region & by selecting none, all is covered
3) Use the pull-down menu for Type to select Industry-wide or Technology driven analyses or Mega Trends, Growth or Market Insights, or other sources before clicking on Update.
4) No need to do anything with “owned” because we don’t own any reports. Enter the search in the right box on tool bar; for most reports that you select - provides groups of 5 entries at a time, so scroll down and hit on NEXT., you can conduct an internal search for specific content. Much variation in content - slides, reports, interviews, data, etc.
Global Health on CAB Direct
A public health database emphasizing international health issues.
more...less...
Consists of the Global health current file (1973 to present) and the Global health archive (1908 to 1973), which also includes records from the British Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases up to 1983. 80% of the database coverage is from journal articles, but it also covers books, conference proceedings, bulletins, reports and theses.
Health & Safety Science Abstracts
Direct link to the search engine for health & safety science abstracts content.
more...less...
Includes databases AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management), and EIS (Environmental Impact Statements).
IEEE Xplore
Full-text access to 1898- present IEEE & IEE transactions, journals, magazine, & conference proceedings, current IEEE standards & eBooks.
more...less...
Browse by journal title, conference name; search by author, subject, journal, and affiliation. Citation link forward & back.

INSPEC, the premier database for computer science, information technology, physics and electronics engineering, will move from Ovid to the ISI Web of Knowledge platform. Beginning April 20, 2009, INSPEC will run in parallel on both sites. Special features are the ability to obtain review articles, limit topic by experimental, theoretical, or applications approach. Moving to the ISI Web of Knowledge platform allows powerful numerical range searching for properties of materials by astronomical object or chemical compound.

The INSPEC database will continue to be available via the current Ovid interface through June 30, 2009. Beginning July 1, 2009, INSPEC will only be available through the Thomson Reuters ISI Web of Knowledge search interface, where INSPEC will have its own site and unique URL link.

New URL via Web of Knowledge: http://uclibs.org/PID/22771
INSPEC
Indexes articles & conference papers about computers, electronics, biomedical control, electrical and ocean engineering, and physics, including geophysics, astronomy, and acoustics. Should de-dup content from Compendex when searched together.
more...less...
Also good for conference proceedings, IEEE standards, and links to e-journals.
Policy Commnons
This is a huge database of global documents from many sources of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. Strong energy portfolio.

PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window

Risk Abstracts
Direct link to the search engine for risk abstracts content.
more...less...
Includes databases AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management), and EIS (Environmental Impact Statements).
SAE Mobilus
Full text including archive of all SAE publications including journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, eBooks and Ground Vehicle and Aerospace standards. Covers technologies and science related to automobile & aerospace products and research methods.
ScienceDirect
Elsevier Scientific Publishers and Academic Press
more...less...
Full text access to over 900 scientific, medical and technical journals published by Elsevier Scientific Publishers.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.

SPIE Digital Library
Access to four journals and the proceedings from the International Society for Optical Engineering plus the eBooks published by SPIE.
Sustainability Science Abstracts
Direct link to the search engine.
TED Talks
TED Ideas Worth Spreading. Highly recommended.
more...less...
A wide variety of topics by specialists who have explored the topic comprehensively and are sharing them in a variety of communications. Focus in science, public policy, emerging technologies.

Toxicology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Major areas of subject coverage include: pharmaceuticals; food, additives, and contaminants; agro-chemicals; cosmetics, toiletries, and household products; industrial chemicals; metals; toxins and other natural substances; social poisons and drug abuse; polycyclic hydrocarbons; nitrosamines and related compounds; radiation and radioactive materials; methodology; legislation and recommended standards.

TOXLINE
Direct link to the database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
more...less...
Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology (including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants/ mutagens/ teratogens).
Trans Tech Publications
Publisher in Materials Science and Engineering.
more...less...
Database of 17 major journals in fields of nanotechnology, materials science, plus stand-alone papers, monographs, special topic volumes, conference proceedings in all areas related to nano/micro research. Includes Key Engineering Materials, Materials Science Forum, Journal of Biomimetrics, Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering and others.
Water Resources Abstracts
Direct link to the search engine for water resources abstracts content.
more...less...
Includes databases AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management), and EIS (Environmental Impact Statements).
Web of Science
Encompasses the Science Citation Index (1900+), Social Science Index (1900+), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+).
more...less...
Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching to more than 8700 leading journals. In many cases with searchable abstracts plus links to e-journal images.
Wiley InterScience
Delivers the full text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals.
more...less...
Includes major reference works, the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and even the full text of select Wiley print books online.
The Engineering ToolBox
Commercial website that provides access to resources, tools and basic information for engineering and design of technical applications. Searchable by category and although not comprehensive it will provide basic useful engineering information.
Byrne’s Electrical Engineering Hot Links
Many categories of information links to content useful to electrical engineers including antennas, batteries, boards, capacitors, connectors, memory, relays, resistors, sensors, switches, and even what’s cool.

Conference Papers, Proceedings, Abstracts, Posters, Literature

Selective access to full-text content via Library Search, MELVYL, and the indexing tools and databases, see Scopus , Compendex and Inspec.

Specialized Full-text Resources

Professional Society Databases

AIAA Electronic Library
Access to full-text online journals, papers and proceedings from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and the IAS/ARS eJournal Archive will soon be added.
Annual Reviews
This series of review literature may be of interest in Fluid Dynamics, Chemistry, Materials Science or any of the other series with full archive.
ASCE
Access to the journals and proceedings of the American Society of Civil Engineers including full backfile. Access to individual journal and book titles is available via Library Search.
ASME Digital Collection
Access to the full-text journals and transaction publications of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Online access to individual titles is available via Library Search.
ASTM SEDL
Fulltext database of all publications from the ASTM, including standards, redline standards, books, periodicals/journals on an easy to search and retrieve platform.
E&E News
Daily news service that includes Greenwire, EnergyWire, Climatewire, News, TV and Reports about different aspects of the Environment.
IEEE Xplore
Fulltext of all IEEE publications, including journals, transactions, conference papers and proceedings, standards from 1997 to the current output with more retrospective digital content being added .
MRS OPL
Conference papers from the Materials Research Society in the Online Proceedings Library.
SAE Mobilus
Access to technical papers and standards from the Society of Automotive Engineers is available and includes the full archive
SPIE
Access to Proceedings of the SPIE and journals of the International Society for Optical Engineering and eBooks released by SPIE.

IEEE Smart Grid Technologies
Prepared by the IEEE Standards Association, these reports compile “smart grid-related intelligence” in five technology sector bundles including power, computing, communications, control systems, and vehicular technology. Each bundle consists of a vision document, reference model, and roadmap to outline projections, challenges, and opportunities for this important and emerging technology area. The package also includes two research papers on cybersecurity and global consumer socialization of the smart grid. The documents are available via IEEE Xplore.

Commercial Publishers' Platforms

Many publishers have their own platforms which can be searched for fulltext content and they usually contain all outputs for journals, conference papers/proceedings, books, and whatever else is released. The UCI Libraries may only access to a portion of the holdings because we do not have active subscriptions or licenses to everything. If you are unavailable to access what you need, please contact the Engineering Librarian or submit an InterLibrary Loan request. These publishers may include:

Begell House Digital Library
Elsevier's ScienceDirect
SpringerLink
Wiley
Taylor and Francis
there are many imprints under this umbrella