Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Energy Research: Pathfinder for the Advanced Power & Energy Program (APEP): Find Books


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/Energy-APEP2022

Subject Headings

Selective subject headings may include the following terms and can also be searched by keyword to retrieve element in title, abstracts, table of contents, authorship, and subject headings and likely a broader range than only when searched by Subject Heading, which tends to retrieve the most relevant results: (you can also browse online by corresponding call number to see related titles).  Search Library Search by Subject Heading or Melvyl by Subject Heading.

Library Catalogs

The UC Library Search online catalog contains all information resources in all formats available to users from all 10 UC campuses and the regional storage facilities. InterLibrary Loans can be made from any campus library.

WorldCat is the largest holdings inventory of 56,000 member libraries worldwide and appoximately 1.4 billion records.  UCI's holdings are noted. For content not found in UC Library Search, it can be requested from a WorldCat library.

Verifying Information

To find out what is available on the commercial market, you may want to consult the following websites.  It is not necessary to buy anything - you can refer your findings to the Engineering Librarian as recommendations for consideration of titles to be added to UCI Library collection.  These sources will also list what is forthcoming as new publications to be expected from commercial suppliers in coming months, and can be sources of where to verify if a book or title has been released and when.

Finding Books & eBooks

There are many ways to identify the availability of a book, book chapter and format of the book - as an eBook or in print. In Summer 2021, UC Library Search was launched as a discovery source for all library holdings across all 10 UC campuses. The left side bar allows you to refine your search in many ways. One can retrieve content by searching for books, book chapters, journal articles, newspaper articles, theses/dissertations, films, videos, music scores & recordings, Government documents and Course Reserves. In addition, one can search only UCI's holdings by searching the Advanced Search option for the Library Catalog and selecting specific features of what one needs.  It is recommended that one search databases for journal articles for more complete access to what has been published.  he order of this recommendation includes priorities for UCI users. There may be multiple records for the different formats in UC Library Search.  If UCI has an eBook format for a specific title and you prefer to read a print copy, you can borrow that book on ILL from another campus.by submitting an ILL request via UC Library Search.

Connecting from Off-Campus will require that you use the VPN to access licensed content.  Follow the directions and load on up to five devices including your cell phone, tablets, laptops, and desktops.  Please be aware that you may be asked to login with your UCInetID to access specific resources.  This Duo MultiFactor Authentication is another layer of security when accessing protected systems and services.  If you have any questions, please contact OIT (Office of Information Technology) 24/7 at 949-824-2222.

Finding book chapters is increasingly important and available in the digital arena. Many eBook platforms allow one to search at the chapter or full text level, and those will be noted in each subject area. 

eBook Collections

There are many eBook resources - reference titles, collections from many publishers (Springer is the largest publisher represented) known for scholarly and professional title releases.  There are scholarly societies and commercial publishers represented/.  They are all identified in UC Library Search as "available online" and many are listed on different Subject Guides. Examples of these include the following collections and there are many more listed in UC Library Search:

There are many eBooks from trade publishers on different platforms listed on the EBooks Guide.

The professional societies, especially in Engineering are listed on the professional society websites.  These include:

  • IEEE - IEEE Xplore
  • ASCE - ASCE Research Library
  • ASME - ASME Digital Collection
  • SAE - SAE Mobilus
  • SPIE - SPIE
  • IET - IET Digital Library

Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check UC Library Search before requesting an ILL and make all requests there. If UCI has the eBook and you prefer reading the print, please request it here  For requests outside of the UC use the WorldCat Worldwide search incorporated in UC Library Search.  For additional information contact libill@uci.edu