Skip to main content
On Sunday, March 26, 2017, UC Irvine Research Guides will experience some minor loss in functionality due to scheduled maintenance on related systems.
Safer Internet Day 2017
Make the world & the Internet a safer place! Examples from libraries about how this is done.
International Peace Day, Sept 21, 2016
To learn about International Peace Day initiative, visit librariesforpeace.org. This website is for librarians worldwide to learn about what libraries are doing to promote peace, how they can initiate their own efforts, and where these actions are taking place; to discuss and share ideas of libraries and peace building; and to serve as an information hub for an international library celebration and action day for peace. JOIN this Libraries for Peace (L4P) movement by going to the website to:
1. Celebrate Library for Peace (L4P) Day on 21st September, 2016 (International Day of Peace)
2. Pledge to advance the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals
3. Share your story of how you and/or your library are working toward building a peaceful and sustainable local and global community.
The Libraries for Peace web portal was created to advance the mission of the Mortenson Center for International Library Programs at the University of Illinois, which for the past 25 years, has worked to strengthen international ties among libraries and librarians worldwide for the promotion of international education, understanding, and peace. Libraries as information, education and cultural centers have a role in advancing peace internationally.
Digital Futures, 2015
This supplement to American Libraries features articles both on how libraries are innovating and leading, as well as paths ahead for taking the initiative.
“I’m so pleased to see story after story about librarians being proactive related to the opportunities and challenges presented by the digital revolution,” said ALA President Courtney Young. “For example, the National Digital Platform proposed by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) will accelerate the necessary trend of increased sharing of technology tools and services across libraries, as discussed in an article by Maura Marx, IMLS acting director, and Trevor Owens, IMLS senior program officer.”
Library 2.014 Virtual Conference
This 4th conference sponsored by SJSU Library School is October 8-9, 2014 and hosts a wide number of information intensive sessions.
75th Anniversary of the Library Bill of Rights
the 75th anniversary of ALA’s adoption of the Library Bill of Rights on June 19, 1939 at the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco. The document – which is the basis for the work of the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom – was created in the wake of several incidents of banning The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck in the late 1930s. It also was inspired by the rising tide of totalitarianism around the world.
Helpful strategies when deciding between Resume & CV
If you are considering a career in academe this blog posting should be very helpful.
Banned Book Week, Sept 22-28, 2013
Check out programs and content for Banned Book Week 2013!
Library 2.2012 Worldwide Virtual Conference
The second annual conference will be held October 3-5, 2012 celebrating innovation in the field of library and information science. Lots of ways to participate - present, sponsor, volunteer, network, partner in this truly global endeavor.
Library 2.013 Worldwide Conference
Another conference scheduled for October 18-19, 2013
Ask A Librarian
For Chat, Text, eMail and to schedule a Research Consultation with a Librarian, use:
Mobile Access Optimized @ UCI
Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.
Copying/Printing at the Libraries
Beginning in Fall, 2008 the UCI PhotoID will serve as your copy card for copying and xeroxing. It requires that money be added to it by inserting it in one of the Regenerator machines found throughout the UCI Libraries. Enter a few dollars at a time and add to it when it is depleted. Costs will be debited at the rate of 8 cents per copy or xerox made; 12 cents per page of printing.
When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - consider domain - .edu, .com, .gov, .org, etc.
Thinking Critically about World Wide Web Resources - or Evaluation Techniques for Internet Resources
- Authority control - authorship - who, affiliation, where
- Currency - note the date, the update, does it reflect the right period of time
- Evaluate the source - establish criteria that is meaningful to covering the topic
- Citing Internet resources - URL & date of the search
- Capturing and citing
This subject page reflects current interests for librarians and information scientists and those who may want to know more these fields. Designed to support working librarians at UCI, it covers current best practices, resources, sources of needed information and trends in academic libraries and the general field of librarianship and library service. Also, attempts to cover trends in profession and related links to subject areas closely aligned to library & information science.
ALISE Library & Information Science Education Statistical Report
Data from 1997-current about faculty, students, curriculum, expenditures, and more about programs in LIS. From the Associaton for Library & Information Science Education.
American Library Directory
Call number: (LL Ref) Z 731 A53 (latest)
Provides a listing of public, academic, government and special libraries in the United States, Mexico and Canada, with information on library incomes, personnel, expenditures and automated capabilities.
Annual Review of Information Science and Technology
Call number: (LL) Z 699.A1 A625
Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Statistics
Statistics on ARL university libraries from 1963-present and now maintained by the University of Virginia Geospatial and Statistical Data Center.
Basic Resources Supporting Spanish for Librarians
From REFORMA, the professional body of librarians that serve spanish language populations. Spanish for Librarians includes Spanish alphabet, some notes on Spanish pronunciation, basic Spanish words and phrases, and Spanish library-related words and phrases.
Directory of ALA Accredited LIS Programs
View programs by state or Canadian province. Also can limit search to schools that offer various distance education options, as well as PhD programs. Maintained by the Committee on Accreditation at the American Library Association.
Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers
Call number: Ayala Science Library Ref Z 731 D5
A guide to more than 23,200 special libraries, research libraries, information centers, archives, and data centers maintained by government agencies, business industry, newspapers, education institutions, etc.
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science
Call number: (LL) Z1006 .E57 2003
International encyclopedia of information and library science
Call number: (LL) Z1006 .I57 2003
State Library Agency Report 2006
This report marks the first release of library statistics data from the Institute of Museum and Library Services. It contains data on state library agencies in the 50 states and the District of Columbia for state fiscal year (FY) 2006.
The Bowker Annual Library and Book Trade Almanac
Call number: (LL Ref) Z 731 B68 (latest)
Presents a mix of informed analysis and practical information of interest to the library, information, and book trade communities.
World Guide to Libraries
Call number: (LL) Z 721 I5
A comprehensive index to libraries in the world.