Research Guides: Spanish & Portuguese: Newspapers

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UC Irvine Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Ask a Librarian

Websites

Browse Spanish Language Newspapers Online

El País
The most widely circulated daily newspaper in Spain.
El Pais (archivo)
Provides access to back issues of El Pais.
El Universal (Mexico City)
A major newspaper based in Mexico City (founded 1916).
La Jornada
Another leading daily newspaper based in Mexico City.

Databases

For off-campus access, please log in to the VPN and authenticate as a UCI currently-enrolled student, faculty, or staff.

Acceda Noticias This link opens in a new window
News articles covering a wide range of topics from international news services and U.S. Spanish-language newspapers.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Global full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites. A good source for Spanish Language press sources, including El Pais.
Maximum 12 users at a time.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text news source that can be limited to Spanish and Portuguese language sources.
LatinNews This link opens in a new window
A London-based organization that reports and analyzes news and events on the political economy throughout Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes LatinNews Daily, an analysis on the main developments in the region over the past 24 hours; and Latin American Weekly Report, a briefing on all the week’s key developments throughout the region.
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of historical Latin American newspapers, including newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.

Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
Documents historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

El Mundo Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
El Mundo was a conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico from 1919 until it ceased in 1990. Key topics covered by the newspaper include industrialization of Puerto Rican society, the Great Depression, territorial relations with the United States including citizenship and activities of independence movements such as the Macheteros and FALN, the rise of the Popular Democratic Party, the Ponce massacre, the Ley de la Mordaza (Gag Law) and more.
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspapers from Mexico from its pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929). These newspapers provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.