Research Guides: Spanish & Portuguese: Books

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Ask a Librarian

Find Books

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Searches the collections of all UC campuses, including print books and journals, ebooks and ejournals, film, newspaper articles, book chapters, and more. This tool also allows you to limit your search to the UCI campus library collection, locate the full text of millions of print and online books, journal articles, and other content, and borrow and renew materials from any library in the UC system.
Digitalia Hispánica This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Spanish language ebooks and journals in from a variety of disciplines.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A free, publicly available version of WorldCat, a worldwide catalog created and maintained collectively by member institutions. It provides bibliographic information on titles from around the world, and holdings information for libraries across the world as well.
Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
CRL acquires and preserves dissertations, books, newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Most materials acquired are from outside the United States, and many are from Africa, the Middle East, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Latin America. Titles can be requested though ILL, but CRL has digitized numerous collections as well.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
This collection comprises literary works, memoirs, and essays written by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro This link opens in a new window
Full text playscripts by Spanish playwrights from the 16th and 17th centuries. All scripts are in Spanish.

Browse the Shelves

UC Library Search is the most effective way to search for accessible material from across the UCs. However, sometimes, it is nice to browse the print collection available locally on campus. While this narrows the breadth of what you can access, below is the arrangement of the Spanish & Portuguese Collection by nationality of author and its corresponding Call Number range. All books are located on the 4th floor of Langson Library.

Spain	PQ6007-PQ7011
U.S. & Canadian authors of Spanish works	PQ7070-PQ7079
Spanish America (general)	PQ7081-PQ7099
Mexico	PQ7100-PQ7298
Spanish Caribbean (general)	PQ7358-PQ7361
Cuba	PQ7370-PQ7390
Dominican Republic	PQ7400-PQ7409
Puerto Rico	PQ7420-PQ7440
Central America (general)	PQ7471-PQ7479
Costa Rica	PQ7480-PQ7489
Guatemala	PQ7490-PQ7499
Honduras	PQ7500-PQ7509
Nicaragua	PQ7510-PQ7519
Panama	PQ7520-PQ7529
El Salvador	PQ7530-PQ7539
South America (general)	PQ7551-PQ7592
Argentina	PQ7600-PQ7798
Bolivia	PQ7800-PQ7820
Chile	PQ7900-PQ8098
Colombia	PQ8160-PQ8180
Ecuador	PQ8200-PQ8220
Paraguay	PQ8250-PQ8259
Peru	PQ8300-PQ8498
Uruguay	PQ8510-PQ8520
Venezuela	PQ8530-PQ8550
Spanish American authors not identified with any country	PQ8560
Portugal	PQ9000-PQ9411
U.S. & Canadian authors of Portuguese works	PQ9470-PQ9479
Brazil	PQ9500-PQ9698

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables UCI students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries. For material found in UC Library Search, but not available at UCI, sign in to your library account and request it from another UC Library.

For material found in WorldCat but not UC Library Seearch, submit a request using the Blank ILL Request Form, available on the:

UCI Interlibrary Loan website