Multimedia Medical Resources

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, PHIL offers collections of medical photos and images that may be used for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.

"The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations."

MedPix® is a free online medical image database originally developed by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics at the Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, Maryland, USA.

NCI Visuals Online contains collections of images such as Science and Technology, Childhood Cancer, Anatomy, and Historical Images, as well as Spanish language images and diagrams.

Collection of scientific photos, illustrations, and videos licensed under Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial ShareAlike 3.0.

Search or browse over 70,000 images in the Images from the NLM History of Medicine Collection.

The NIH Image Gallery on Flickr provides images that are free to use with credit. Images are meant for use by the science and health community, the press that covers health and science, teachers and other educators in health and science and non-profit organizations that produce health and science information.

"The Visible Human Project® is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers has been completed. The male was sectioned at one millimeter intervals, the female at one-third of a millimeter intervals."