Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRDS: Wharton Research Data Services

WRDS

 

logo text for wharton research data services

 

WRDS (pronounced like "words") is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.  WRDS content is intended to be used solely for research and instructional purposes.

WRDS is under the jurisdiction of The Paul Merage School of BusinessThe Merage School sponsors and administers WRDS for current UCI affiliates (i.e. current UCI students/faculty/staff).  

Please direct WRDS questions to the IT Department at the Merage School.

 

Merage School Researchers,
Access Instructions

Other UCI researchers, 
Access Instructions
 
  1.  Log into the Catalyst E-Library page.
     

  2. Scroll down for the WRDS login information, which is routinely changed

  1. Master’s students should be prepared to name a faculty advisor in order to have their registration approved. 
     
  2. Go to the WRDS login page.
     
  3. Click on Register.  In the Subscriber dropdown menu, choose University of California- Irvine- Paul Merage School of Business.
     
  4. Include your @UCI email address as you fill out the form.
     
  5. The Merage School IT staff will review your request.  You should receive confirmation that your account has been approved within a few days.

Tip:  Do I need to use WRDS?  
WRDS is mostly for faculty and doctoral students doing advanced research that requires lots of of granular or time-series data.  If you're not doing that type of research, then the UCI Libraries have other databases with similar information; plus they're relatively easier to use too!

For database recommendations, look under the menus such as COMPANY and FINANCE, located on the Business and Economics Research Guides. 

 

logo text for wharton research data services

 

 

Decisions about WRDS dataset subscriptions are made within the Merage School.  The datasets below are included in a baseline WRDS subscription.  All other datasets, e.g. AuditAnalytics, Compustat, CRSP, IBES, etc. are included at the discretion of the Merage School.  
 

For a current list of WRDS subscriptions available to UCI researchers, please log into WRDS

 

Dataset Description
Bank Regulatory The Bank Regulatory Databases provide accounting data for Bank Holding Companies, Commercial Banks, Savings Banks, and Savings and Loans Institutions. The source of the data comes from the required regulatory forms filled for supervising purposes.
Blockholders This dataset contains standardized data for Blockholders of 1,913 companies. The data was cleaned from biases and mistakes usually observed in the standard source for this particular type of data. Blockholders' data is reported by firm for the period 1996-2001.
CBOE The CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange) Volatility Index (VIX) is a key measure of market expectations of near-term volatility conveyed by S&P 500 stock index option prices. The VIX measures the market's expectation of 30-day volatility. The VIX is based on S&P 500 index option prices and incorporates information from the volatility skew by using a wider range of strike prices rather than just at-the-money series.
CUSIP For Academic Institutions only: The CUSIP Master Files provide CUSIP numbers, standardized descriptions and additional data attributes for over 5 million corporate, municipal and government securities offered in North America.
DMEF Direct Marketing Educational Foundation: Four individual data sets, each containing customer buying history for about 100,000 customers of nationally known catalog and non-profit database marketing businesses are available through DMEF to approved academic researchers for use within academic situations.
Dow Jones The Dow Jones Averages are comprised of The Daily and Monthly Dow Jones Composite (DJA), The Dow Jones Industrial (DJI), The Dow Jones Transportation (DJT), The Dow Jones Utility (DJU), the Dow 10, and The Dow 5.
Fama French The Fama-French Portfolios are constructed from the intersections of two portfolios formed on size, as measured by market equity (ME), and three portfolios using, as proxy for value, the ratio of book equity to market equity (BE/ME). Returns from these portfolios are used to construct the Fama-French Factors.
Federal Reserve Bank Reports The Federal Reserve Bank Reports contains three databases collected from Federal Reserve Banks. Two of them (Foreign Exchanges and Interest Rates) come from reports published for the Federal Reserve Board (H.10 and H.15 reports). The other one contains the Coincident State Indexes from the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia.
IRI Information Resources, Inc. (IRI) is the leader in providing point-of-sale information from more than 11,300 grocery stores, as well as some 7,500 drug stores.
Penn World Tables The Penn World Tables provides national income accounts-type of variables converted to international prices. The homogenization of national accounts to a common numeraire allows valid comparisons of income among countries. Data comes from Alan Heston, Robert Summers and Bettina Aten, Penn World Table Version 6.1, Center for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania, October 2002
Philadelphia Stock Exchange The Philadelphia Stock Exchange's United Currency Options Market (UCOM) offers choice of expiration date, strike (exercise) price, premium payment and any combination of 10 currencies currently available for a total of 100 possible currency pairs.
SEC Disclosure of Order Execution As a result of Rule 11Ac1-5, market centers that trade national market system securities must make monthly, electronic disclosures of basic information concerning their quality of executions on a stock-by-stock basis.
TRACE TRACE consolidates transaction data for all eligible corporate bonds - investment grade, high yield and convertible debt. As a result, individual investors and market professionals can access information on 100 percent of OTC activity representing over 99 percent of total U.S. corporate bond market activity in over 30,000 securities.

Connect

How To Connect

Electronic & Print
Resources