Research Guides: Maps, Atlases & Spatial Imagery : Data &amp; Census

GIS Data

Census, Maps & Data
Find geographic data and products such as the TIGER/Line Shapefiles, KMLs, TIGERweb, cartographic boundary files, geographic relationship files, and reference and thematic maps.
FlamMap
FlamMap is a fire analysis desktop application that runs in a 64-bit Windows Operating System environment. It can simulate potential fire behavior characteristics (spread rate, flame length, fireline intensity, etc.), fire growth and spread and conditional burn probabilities under constant environmental conditions (weather and fuel moisture). With the inclusion of FARSITE it can now compute wildfire growth and behavior for longer time periods under heterogeneous conditions of terrain, fuels, fuel moistures and weather.)
Geolytics: Neighboorhood Change Database
Access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 at the census tract level. Combines U.S. Census Bureau data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years.
Historical Census Browser. from the University of Virginia, Geospatial and Statistical Data Center.
The data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing.
ICPSR's Historical, Demographic, Economic, and Social Data: The United States, 1790-2002
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research offers this census data collection that contains detailed county and state-level ecological and descriptive data for the United States for the years 1790 to 2002. Texas A&M University is a member of ICPRS, therefore TAMU community have direct access to download data by creating an account using the tamu.edu e-mail.
more...less...
Using data from previous ICPSR's study (1790-1970), the University of Virginia, Geospatial and Statistical Data Center created a web-based Historical Census Browser that allows to examine state and county topics for individual years or over time, presenting the data in tabular or interactive map form
Social Explorer *
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices...
US Building Footprints
This dataset contains 125,192,184 computer generated building footprints in all 50 US states. This data is freely available for download and use.

INTERNATIONAL

Antarctic Digital Database
The Antarctic Digital database (ADD) is a compilation of medium scale topographic data for the continent of Antarctica. It is derived from a wide variety of sources, and aims to provide the best currently available data in all areas.
more...less...
The Antarctic Digital Database is copyright © the Scientific Committtee on Antarctic Research 1993 - 2006.
Central Africal Regional Program for the Environment
CARPE's objective "is to reduce the rate of forest degradation and loss of biodiversity in the Congo Basin by increasing local, national, and regional natural resource management capacity."
Country Index, DataDepot
DataDepot.com -- THE leading provider of On-Line GIS Data... All the currently available data that is freely downloadable can be found in the Countywide areas.
ESRI
ESRI has downloadable data sets on their website, which may be downloaded for free or for a fee. Some highlights include: ESRI World BaseMap Data; FEMA Q3 Flood Data; Census 2000 TIGER/Line Data.
GeoBase [CANADA]
A federal, provincial and territorial government initiative overseen by the Canadian Council on Geomatics ... to ensure the provision of, and access to, a common, up-to-date and maintained base of quality geospatial data for all of Canada.
more...less...
Through the GeoBase portal, users with an interest in the field of geomatics have access to quality geospatial information at no cost and with unrestricted use.
GeoGratis [CANADA]
GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) which provides geospatial data at no cost via your Web browser.
Geoscience [AUSTRALIA]
Geoscience Australia's Free Data Downloads are provided under the Australian Government Spatial Data Access and Pricing Policy.
Go-Geo! [UNITED KINGDOM]
Go-Geo! The place to discover geospatial information and services for those in education and research.
Gridded Population of the World, version 3 (GPWv3) and the Global Rural-Urban Mapping Project (GRUMP)
The latest developments in the rendering of human populations in a common geo-referenced framework, produced by the Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) of the Earth Institute at Columbia University.
more...less...
Gridded Population of the World, version 3 (GPWv3) and the Global Rural-Urban Mapping Project (GRUMP) are the latest developments in the rendering of human populations in a common geo-referenced framework, produced by the Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) of the Earth Institute at Columbia University.
Russian Federation Digital Data, WAGDA
WAGDA includes Russian Federation Digital Data. See ? for further details.
more...less...
"The Washington State Geospatial Data Archive (WAGDA) is a space to locate geospatial data for the state of Washington. Maintained by The Map Collection & Cartographic Information Services, University of Washington Libraries, this site also contains selected non-Washington geospatial data sets that have been created by students and researchers at the University of Washington.

Some of the datasets located here are restricted by license agreement and are available only to UW faculty, staff, and students. Other datasets are in the public domain."
Southern Africa Regional Science Initiative (SAFARI)
An international science initiative to study the linkages between land and atmosphere processes in the southern African region.
more...less...
The SAFARI 2000 (S2K) Project was an international science initiative to study the linkages between land and atmosphere processes in the southern African region. In addition, SAFARI 2000 examined the relationship of biogenic, pyrogenic, and anthropogenic emissions and the consequences of their deposition to the functioning of the biogeophysical and biogeochemical systems of southern Africa.
UCR STAR
UCR STAR is built to serve the geospatial community and facilitate the finding of public geospatial datasets to use in research and development. The main goal is to allow the researchers worldwide to unleash the true value of the datasets that are available all over the web. To this end, they make all the datasets active by placing them on a map.