Research Guides: Maps, Atlases & Spatial Imagery : Creating Maps

Email Me

Contact:

Computational Research Librarian Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
Office: Science Library 226
Phone: 949-824-2024
EMail: kaned@uci.edu

Related Guides

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
by Danielle Kane Last Updated Aug 5, 2025 5011 views this year
StoryMaps
by Danielle Kane Last Updated Sep 2, 2025 2437 views this year

Geolytics

Neighborhood change database* [electronic resource] : NCDB. 1970-2010
Contains nationwide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000 and 2010 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Census Bureau data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years. Developed in assocation with The Urban Institute and partially funded by The Rockefeller Foundation. Data reports can be exported and downloaded in DBF or CSV format. Map reports can be downloaded in ArcView Shape file or MapInfo MID/MIF format as a compressed Zip archive.
CensusCD 2000* [electronic resource] : long form
Contains the entire US Census Bureau's SF3 dataset from the Census 2000 long form. Includes variables such as income, housing, employment, language spoken, ancestry, education, poverty, rent, mortgage, commute to work, etc. [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
CensusCD 1990 [electronic resource] : long form
Dataset includes details about the population and housing of the United States, including demographic information down to the neighborhood level (block groups) from the 1990 U.S. Census long form (STF3 A, B, C, and D). [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
CensusCD 1970 [electronic resource]
Dataset includes details about the population and housing of the United States, including demographic information down to the tract level from the 1970 U.S. Census long form. [ACCESS RESTRICTED]

SimplyAnalytics

SimplyAnalytics
Create professional quality thematic maps using 100,000+ data variables from our industry-leading data partners. View data by state, congressional district, city, county, ZIP Code, census tract, or block group. ... Export maps as high-resolution images or shapefiles, and export reports as Excel, CSV, or DBF files.
Special Features & How to Use SimplyAnalytics
Take the tutorial and learn about the special features and compatible datasets. Remember that there only 3 simultaneous users can connect at the same time.

What is Social Explorer

Social Explorer Is A Demographic Online Research Tool licensed by the University of California Irvine Libraries

www.socialexplorer.com

Social Explorer enables researchers to access the most current and comprehensive demographic information - Including over 40 billion data elements and 220 years of data, the entire US Census from 1790 to the present.
Visualize data with customizable maps
Develop reports, presentations, and graphics - Save and automatically export reports to Excel and a variety of statistical packages.
Full source documentation is available for all reports and every variable links directly to information about where the data originated and how it was computed.
Save projects in your personal MyExplorer account for archiving and collaboration

Social Explorer

Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides easy-to-use tools for visual exploration of demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data, and more. With these interactive online tools, users can examine change over time and understand the patterns behind the raw numbers.

more... less...

MAPS: Create and customize thematic and interactive maps that explore all historical and modern US census data across the centuries and even down to street level detail (where available). Navigate current and historical demographic data and survey.
REPORTS: Create data reports at all geographic levels, including state, county, census tract, block group, zip code, and census place (where the data exist). Export, save, and print reports for professional-looking reports, presentations, and graphics. High-resolution images are available and any presentation can be exported directly to PowerPoint.
Social Explore: Explore Maps
A menu of approximately 20 theme based Social Explorer maps for you to use. Topics range from Canadian Census to European Statistics to World Development Indicators.
Social Explorer: Logging In & Account Types
Social Explorer offers institutional, individual and other types of logins depending on your subscription type. With any account type, you can enjoy full access to data resources and tools, as well as easy remote access and the ability to save and share your creations.

more... less...

"Professional Edition" versus Free Edition: To see if you are logged into the Premium Edition of Social Explorer, look at the upper right corner of the page. If you see the green ribbon, you are using the premium site and have full access to all tools and resources. If you see a gray ribbon and a prompt to Log In or Sign Up, you are on the free edition of Social Explorer.
Social Explorer: Setting up a Personal Account
Once connected through an institutional account, users may also setup individual accounts to save, share, and collaborate on maps and projects. Personal accounts help users take full advantage of Social Explorer’s features. (You do not need to setup a personal account to access Social Explorer’s resources and tools.). If you choose to set up a personal account, your username will display on the top right below the green ribbon.