Maps, Atlases & Spatial Imagery

SANDAG and SanGIS have teamed up to provide a single source of authoritative publicly available GIS data. The downloadable data includes 270 layers from 29 different categories.

This Regional Data Warehouse covers everything from addresses to zoning and includes such layers as roads/freeways, property and official city boundaries, freeways and major roads, census areas and statistics, community planning areas, lakes, streams, business zones, and many other geospatial topics. This data set consists of over 270 layers in 29 different categories collected from multiple sources including the City of San Diego, the County of San Diego, the State of California, and the federal government.

Offering great info about GIS@UCSD including tutorials, GIS data, books, course-specific GIS guides and more, we hope this site helps you better incorporate GIS into your work.

The Cadastral Landbase is the foundation for the Department of Public Works’ transportation, mapping, and infrastructure, and is an integral part of project workflows and GIS applications. The Landbase is continuously updated with the most current land information. This website provides the Cadastral Landbase data in DGN and GDB file format.

DataLB is the city's new public GeoSpatial & Open Data Portal for exploring, visualizing and downloading data that has been made publicly available. You can also analyze and combine Open Data layers using Map Viewer and develop new web and mobile applications.

Maps and geographic (spatial) information is very important to most operations in the Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning (DRP). The department was an early adopter of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) technology and uses it on a daily basis to support planning staff and countywide efforts.

Geospatial technology for the citizens of Los Angeles County. A geospatial data clearinghouse developed by Los Angeles county agencies.

The LA County GIS Data Portal is the place to search for and download GIS data created, maintained, licensed, and stored by the County of Los Angeles. Please read the GIS Data Disclaimer before proceeding.

The City of Los Angeles Department of City Planning is proud to share these data products with the public to increase transparency, accountability and customer service.

Metro’s GIS data includes 2 types of line shapefile (Bus Lines and Rail Lines) and three types of point shapefile (Bus Stops, Rail Stations and Rail Portals).

LA Times site includes regular features like "LATEST FROM THE DATA DESK" - presidential election results, other political races in California and elsewhere, California People and Places, Open Source Data tools, etcetera.

Functions as the Metropolitan Planning Organization for six counties in Southern California (Los Angeles, Orange, Ventura, Riverside, San Bernardino, and Imperial).

Sponsored by the CSUN Geography Department, this site contains links to the Electronic Map Library, Digital Map Bases, and U.S. Census archives.

SANDAG and SanGIS have teamed up to provide a single source of authoritative publicly available GIS data. The downloadable data includes 270 layers from 29 different categories.

SCAG is the nation's largest metropolitan planning organization, representing six counties, 191 cities and more than 18 million residents. SCAG undertakes a variety of planning and policy initiatives to encourage a more sustainable Southern California now and in the future.

The LA County GIS Data Portal is the place to search for and download GIS data created, maintained, licensed, and stored by the County of Los Angeles. Please read the GIS Data Disclaimer before proceeding.

The California Mapping Coordinating Committee (CMCC) is in the process of developing a series of GIS-related web pages to provide information on State government GIS activities, access to statewide GIS data, and links to the larger Cal GIS community ...

The Farmland Mapping and Monitoring Program (FMMP) produces maps and statistical data used for analyzing impacts on California’s agricultural resources...

Downloadable files containing general information about California's public schools and districts.

The California Department of Fish and Game’s Data Portal provides a single point of entry to data sources which serve the needs of the Resources Management and Policy Division. Includes bathymetry, hydrological data, biological data, and more.

Maps, reports, surveys, data, and other resources related to geology and earth sciences in California

To assist cities and counties in fulfilling their responsibilities for protecting the public safety from the effects of earthquake-triggered ground failure as required by the Seismic Hazards Mapping Act.

California has opened the California State Geoportal, an interactive database that includes more than 1,200 public data sets from dozens of state agencies.

Includes geographic information on state coastlines and fisheries in ArcInfo export files (*.e00), plus links to other California GIS data sites.

The CSU GIS Specialty Center was established in 1992 to promote geographic information systems (GIS) and geographic techniques for spatial analysis within the California State University System.

Includes vegetation map data sets that cover the entire state or specific parts of the state, with an emphasis on county-level or larger data sets. Created through a collaboration of California Fish and Game and UC Davis.

We provide downloadable GIS data created by Caltrans in zipped shapefile format. The download link is located at the bottom of each data description page. Please read the description and data disclaimer prior to downloading. You can also interactively view data, create maps, and print out the results using our Preview Data Online mapping tools. If you are looking for GIS data sourced from departments other than Caltrans, please visit the California Geoportal or other related data sites to get the most recent datasets. Please contact us at caltrans.gislib@dot.ca.gov if you have any questions.

Provides access to a digital collection of historical color fire insurance maps, real estate atlases, and similar land use maps for North America. High definition, color and gray-scale images display important historical details not visible on black and white map scans. Includes map research tools and search tips to make finding maps for a specific location easy. Maps include publications by Sanborn, Perris, Hexamer, Whipple, Baist, Bromley, Hopkins and others. Content and functionality will continue to be added.

Hosts the electronic versions of soil surveys. California data can be downloaded in Arc/INFO format files. Includes crop yield information, soil interpretation ratings, and plant composition and percentage.

ShakeMap is a product of the USGS Earthquake Hazards Program in conjunction with the regional seismic networks. ShakeMaps provide near-real-time maps of ground motion and shaking intensity following significant earthquakes. These maps are used by federal, state, and local organizations, both public and private, for post-earthquake response and recovery, public and scientific information, as well as for preparedness exercises and disaster planning.

Enhanced new tool, developed by the Public Health Alliance of Southern California, to explore local factors that predict life expectancy and comparing community conditions across the state. The HPI provides overall scores and more detailed data on specific policy action areas that shape health, like housing, transportation, education and more. This website offers other resources, including an interactive map, graphs, data tables, and policy guide with practical solutions for improving community conditions and health.