English

Compiles a collection of primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more, for access to historical and contemporary content by and about celebrated and lesser-known authors from around the world.

Good place for biographies of authors or introductions to literary works. Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

A database of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

Past Masters is a collection of primary source full-text editions in philosophy. The series includes collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. The publisher acquires and develops definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence.

Brings together works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Some of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before.

Literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements. The collection documents that effort, presenting the woman’s perspective on the diversity and development of black people generally, and in particular the works document the evolution of black feminism.

A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.

A collection that showcases the literary imagination and linguistic inventiveness of Asian writers as they negotiate their varied cultural identities. It comprises English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present and gives rich insights to scholars of literature, anthropology, linguistics, postcolonial theory and criticism, history, politics, and culture.

Brings together numerous complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles.

A survey of fictional prose in English from the period 1500-1700. The collection explores the diversity of prose fiction preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form. The database includes numerous rare texts inaccessible in print form together with early editions of all the best-known works of the period, such as John Bunyan’s The Pilgrim’s Progress and Sir Philip Sidney’s Arcadia. Many different kinds of fiction are represented, from prose romances to popular jest books to specimens of rogue literature.

Provides images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere, from 1470-1700.