Research Guides: Materials Science: Government Information & Science Portals

Tissue Properties

Tissue Properties Database This link opens in a new window
Includes Properties like density, thermal, conductivity, heat transfer rate, viscosity, acoustic properties, tissue weight fractions, and others that are an alternative fit for dielectric properties above 1 MHz with updated standard deviations for mass density. Database is drawn from a comprehensive scientific literature review and is continuously updated with more properties & more values. The IT'IS Tissue properties database is embedded within the simulation platform Sim4Life but it is also envisioned as a web resource to be continuously developed and improved. Additional databases issued by IT’IS Foundation includes Full-Body Human Models, Animal Models and Region-Specif. Human Models.

Government Information

* Indicates UCI Access Only

ASTM SEDL (Standards & Engineering Digital Library)
ASTM, formerly known as the American Society for Testing and Materials, is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of international voluntary consensus standards. SEDL includes 12,200 active ASTM standards used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access & trade, & build consumer confidence. Also, there are 28,500 historical & withdrawn standards, plus 12,300 Redlined Standards (PDF documents that provide change marks to compare changes between an active standard & the prior version) included where revisions were made. There are nearly 100 categories of standards with the largest number in the categories of Construction, Metals, Paint & Related Coatings, Petroleum, Plastics, Environmental, Rubber, Steel, Textiles, & Electronics; new areas that reflect 3D Imaging standards, Additive Manufacturing & Medical Device Standards.
more...less...
The SEDL requires that all users click through and accepts the terms of the license. While ASTM is best known for it’s standards, SEDL also includes nearly every other ASTM publication, including 1500+ books and 60,000+ papers and chapters dating back to 1932.

In addition to the standards, three main collections of publications compose the books, journals and papers of the SEDL, and the CDL Shared Cataloging or SCP unit will be processing individual bibliographic records at the source level for the following content that will be noted in Melvyl and local opacs:
1. Peer reviewed conference proceedings/Special Technical Publications (STPs)
2. Journals – ASTM issues the following titles:
a. Geotechnical Testing Journal
b. Journal of Testing and Evaluation
c. Journal of ASTM International
d. Journal of Forensic Sciences Backfile from 972-2005
e. Journal of Cement, Concrete and Aggregates (CCA) – historical issues
f. Journal of Composites Technology and Research (JCTR) – historical issues
3. Manuals, Monographs and Data Series Library – basically an eBook collection
Ceramics WebBook (NIST)
National Institute of Standards and Technology web site of evaluated data on ceramics and superconducting materials. Includes the NIST Superconducting Materials Database, the NIST Structural Ceramics Database, and a collection of Property Data Summaries.
Chemistry WebBook
Data on 1000’s of organic and inorganic compounds and reactions, including thermochemical and thermochemical data, IR, mass, UV, visible, electronic, vibrational spectra, physical constants. Search by name, formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight
DOE Information Bridge
1996-present. Site includes the full-text and bibliographic records of DOE-sponsored report literature produced by DOE and contractor R&D community.
DOE Science and Technology Information Resources
A portal to several databases from the Department of Energy’s Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
EEVL – Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library
Gateway with search engine for finding high quality information resources in Engineering.
Energy Information Administration
Data about the supply, consumption, distribution, and price of energy in the United States. Includes petroleum, natural gas, coal, nuclear, electricity, and various forms of renewable energy.
Minerals Information – Commodity Statistics and Information
Mineral Commodity Surveys, Industry Surveys, and Minerals Yearbook from the US Geological Survey.
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Technical Publications from the National Institute of Standards and Technology - includes searchable index of forthcoming, recent and past publications from NIST, links to lab collections and bibliographies and full-text of NIST’s Journal of Research.
National Nanotechnology Initiative
Government web site with news, grants, and links relating to nanotechnology research.
National Science Indicators, annual (latest is 2024)
Provides outputs of scientific & engineering research in different categories.
NIST Measurements and Standards Laboratories
National Institute of Standards and Technology is a U.S. Commerce Department agency offering standards in several scientific areas. Many are available in html format on their web site.
DOE Preprint Network
Department of Energy’s gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.
Science.gov
Major portal of scientific information from the US Government research laboratories, departments and agencies.
STAT-USA*
Business, economic and trade data from the U.S. Department of Commerce. Includes National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) and its foreign market research reports.
Statistical Abstract of the World
Science Library (SL) Ref, HA 154 .S69 1997
Statistical Universe*
Statistical lets you find all statistics issued by the U.S. government back to 1973, some 1,000 of the best statistical publications of private and state government sources from 1980 forward
more...less...
Approximately 2,000 indispensable titles from some 100 international intergovernmental organizations all published annually since 1983.
Toxic Release Inventory
Valuable source of information on toxic substances currently in use. Used by government and industry to notify the public and to aid in protecting the environment. TRI published by USEPA.
WorldWideScience.org
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprising national and international scientific databases and portals. Provides multilingual access to research in energy, medicine, agriculture, environmental sciences, and engineering, much of which is freely available.
Data USA
Data USA is a comprehensive website and visualization engine of public US Government data and includes Viz Builder, and data about most sectors, industries, business, population/census, education, social indicators with allowances for maps and visualizations.