Research Guides: Materials Science: Find Articles

Browzine

Additional information about BrowZine is available here.

Browzine

BrowZine for UCI
A current awareness service to help you keep up with the latest research in your field. You can use it on the web, through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices. It's available to all UC Irvine faculty, staff, and students.

BrowZine is designed to facilitate an experienced researcher to quickly narrow to their area of expertise and follow known, ranked titles of interest. Its main intent is to assist scholars in staying current in their field of expertise by providing a reader with superior browsing capabilities.

American Society of American Society of American Institute Materials Research Institute of Electrical Annual Review
Civil Engineers Mechanical Engineers of Chemical Society & Electronics
Engineers Engineering

Note:

Due to the status between the UC System and Elsevier, journal titles marked as [Elsevier] will not grant full-text access to content from 2019 and later.

To get full-text articles published in 2019 and later, please see our Alternative Access page.

BrowZine using a web browser

Open your favorite web browser.
Go to browzine.com.
Click Choose My Library
Select University of California Irvine.
Go to Settings.
Under BrowZine Account, click Login
Click Sign up create an account.
Browse journals by clicking BrowZine Library, or search for journal by title, subject, or ISSN. Add journals to your bookshelf by clicking on a journal, then clicking Add To My Bookshelf.

Finding Articles Using Databases

SciFinder Scholar is available on the Web for current students, faculty, and staff at all UC campuses. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. Off-campus access requires use of the Cisco VPN software. The web version does not require any additional software and is compatible with Windows, Macintosh and Unix-based operating systems.

SciFinder Web (login)
SciFinder Scholar is now available on the Web for current students, faculty, and staff at all UC campuses. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. Off-campus access requires use of the Cisco VPN software.
SciFinder Scholar Web (registration details)
Web Version of SciFinder and SciFinder Scholar released for UC campuses! Requires Cisco VPN client for off-campus access. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search.
SciFinder Mobile *
Once registered for SciFinder web you can log into your account from your smartphone via scifinder.cas.org/mobile whether on, or off campus and access the mobile friendly SciFinder mobile interface.
- *SciFinder mobile does not include all the functionality of the PC version.*

* Indicates UCI Access Only

ACI (American Concrete Institute) Symposium volumes
Conference & Symposium papers presented at ACI meetings. In addition to the ACI Structural Journal & ACI Materials Journal.
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
American Chemical Society (ACS)
ACS - ChemCenter
ACS - Electronic Supporting Information
American Concrete Institute
Searchable abstracts of ACI Materials Journal
(Science Library (SL) DRUM TA 439 A36) and ACI Structures Journal.
American Institute of Chemical Engineers
American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE)
Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre
Ceramic Abstracts*
Call number: print copy from 1980+ at Science Library DRUM TP 785 A45
Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts is produced by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts in conjunction with CERAM Research Ltd.
more...less...
This is a comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.
Chemical Abstracts Service via SciFinder Scholar*
1907-present. Search for citations, chemical substances, organic, organometallic, natural product, biocatalyzed reactions; by topic, author, patent number, CAS Registry Number, chemical name, structure, and formula. Requires client software for Mac/Win.
Conference Papers Index*
Science Conference Papers.
EESE, the e-Journal search engine from INTUTE
Covers over 350 freely available ejournals in sciences and engineering and computer science.
Electrochemical Society
Publications beginning in 2020 will be issued by IOP.
Institute of Materials
International Nuclear Information System (INIS)
Index of the nuclear science and energy literature from 1970-present: +3 million bibliographic records and a unique collection of over 200K full-text documents (non-conventional "grey" literature)
International Union of Crystallography (IUCr)
International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (Glossaries; Nomenclature)
Intute Engineering
Free online search service that covers physical sciences, engineering, technology including environmental sciences, computer science & general sciences. Indexes wide range of scholarly & scientific sources.
Journal of the American Ceramic Society*
Papers describe research concerning traditional and advanced ceramic materials and composites, fabrication processes, applications, and instrumentation. Access to materials published from 1997.
Materials Research Society
Materials Science: a SAGE full-text collection*
Fulltext journals in subject area from SAGE publications.
MatWeb
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
METADEX*
1966-present. Comprehensive international coverage of the literature published on the science and technology of metals. Good for applied and theoretical materials processes.
Morgan and Claypool Synthesis Series
Two major series - Synthesis in 8 releases with different series covering engineering & technology and Colloquium covering life/health sciences. Output are short books or extended essays written by specialists in the fields.
National Academy of Engineering
NTIS Database Online*
National Technical Information Service provides full descriptive summaries of more than 2.2 million documents and other materials NTIS has received from U.S. Government agencies since 1964.
Powder Diffraction Files - issued by the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD), 2018 Release*
Call number: available on CD-ROM in the Science Library Reading Room, Terminal 1
The PDF has been the primary reference for powder diffraction data since 1938. Powder diffraction is a scientific technique using X-Ray or neutron diffraction of powder or polycrystalline samples for structural characterization of materials.
more...less...
The file contains over 500,000 unique material data sets and each data set contains diffraction, crystallographic and bibliographic data, as well as experimental, instrument and sampling conditions and select physical properties in a common standardized format. The primary information in the PDF is the collection of d-I data – the d-spacing (d) determined from the angle of diffraction and the intensity (I), experimentally measured under the best possible conditions for a phase-pure material.
Powder Diffraction Files (Flash movie 03:29)-Tutorial
Powder Diffraction Files (HTML)-Tutorial
PDF-4 description of previous version.
Proceedings First*
Find citations to worldwide conferences, symposia, meetings, expositions, and congresses. Each record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference. Coverage: 1993-present.
Proquest Materials Science & Engineering Database
Materials Science & Engineering Database includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text sources and expert indexing of global literature, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, books, dissertations and theses, and government and official publications
Trans Tech Publications
Covers wide range of literature in Engineering & Materials Science including academic journals and book series that publish regular and special issues, volumes, conference proceedings, and monographs. Can search Archive from 1967-2014.
more...less...
Access to (Advanced Engineering Forum, Advanced Materials, Defect and Diffusion Forum, Diffusion Foundations, International Journal of Engineering Research in Africa, Journal of Biomimetics, Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Journal of Metastable and Nanocrystalline, Journal of Nano Research, Key Engineering Materials, Materials Science Forum, Nano Hybrids and Composites, Solid State Phenomena)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Content spans disciplines within the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics.
ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database This link opens in a new window
The ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center allows subscribers to explore, search and view more than 32,500 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 6200 systems from their Web browsers.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Engineering Village: Compendex This link opens in a new window
The Compendex database provides deep coverage of global engineering literature. Also includes literature in the following related areas: applied physics, optics, bioengineering, biotechnology, food science and technology, materials science, instrumentation, medical devices, and nanotechnology.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
Presents a scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
MRS Online Proceedings Library This link opens in a new window
Includes proceedings from MRS Meetings from the Materials Research Society.

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America (PNAS)
A peer reviewed journal of the National Academy of Sciences, PNAS is a source of original research that broadly spans the biological, physical, and social sciences.

Optics ImageBank This link opens in a new window
Optics ImageBank contains over thousands of images from Optica's (formerly Optical Society of America's) core journals. Images include charts, graphs, micrographs, illustrations, and pictures. The images can be imported into other programs (copyright permission may be required). Optics ImageBank can be searched by keywords and filtered by journal, date range, OSA topic area (OSA technical divisions), and OSIS codes.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.

Recommended Journals & Journal Platforms

* Indicates UCI Access Only

AAAS*
American Association for the Advancement of Science. Full-text of Science Magazine.
Annual Review of Materials Research*
APS*
American Physical Society. Full text of all journals published by the APS including the Physical Review series. Full text coverage from 1996/97 to the present.
more...less...
Links to the full text of many articles are available in CDL-hosted databases.
Frost & Sullivan
HTML-only research reports from industry and white papers plus other content that integrate 7 perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence,disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models & emerging markets) covered by industries including Energy & Power Systems, Aerospace & Defense, Automation & Transportation. Industrial Automation, etc.
Gartner Campus Access
Gartner research highlights complex IT issues and emerging technologies and industry trends. Highly sophisticated “hypecycles” chronicle influences and compliment other authoritative Garner research, insights and analytics with reports, white papers and webinars.
IOP*
Journal of Materials Research
Issued by American Institute of Physics for the Materials Research Society.
MRS Bulletin*
Powder Diffraction
Issued by ICDD.
ScienceDirect*
Elsevier Scientific Publishers and Academic Press. Full text access to over 900 scientific, medical and technical journals.
Science Week
Educational resource devoted since 1997 to improving communication between the sciences.
SpringerLink*
Springer Verlag, Plenum and Kluwer Publishers. Abstracts and full text of over 900 journals in the sciences published by Springer-Verlag and Kluwer Publishers. Full text coverage: 1997 to the present.
Taylor and Francis*
Offers full-text access to many journals and ebooks published by T&F including CRC in a wide range of disciplines. The full backfile archive is also available for every journal from vol. 1 #1.
Wiley InterScience & Blackwell*
Delivers the full text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works, the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and even the full text of select Wiley print books online.
efunda Engineering Research Library
A resource for freemium Engineering research, white papers, reports, case studies, magazines, and eBooks.

The Journals of the ASM

* Indicates UCI Access Only

International Materials Reviews*
Call number: TN 1 M513
Journal of Materials Engineering and Performance*
Call number: TA 401 J676
Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A: Physical Metallurgy and Materials Science (from 1999)
Call number: TS 300 M4
Metallurgical and Materials Transactions B: Process Metallurgy and Materials Processing Science (from 1999)
Call number: TS 300 M4

Retirement of SciFinder "Classic" - December 31, 2022

On December 31, 2022, the SciFinder “classic” interface will be retired for the University of California system. Going forward, we will only have access to SciFinder-n (or SciFinderⁿ, https://scifinder-n.cas.org).
Registered SciFinder users should expect to see several emails between now and the end of December reminding you of the change.
If you are already using SciFinder-n, there’s nothing you need to do.
If you are still using SciFinder “classic,” I do encourage you to begin using SciFinder-n. It’s the same username and password for both systems. If you have the old URL bookmarked, it will redirect to SciFinder-n after December 31.
- To migrate your saved searches and alerts, login to SciFinder-n, go to Saved and Alerts, then Migrate Alerts & Saved Results. There is more information about migration exceptions within the SciFinder-n help menu (link).
CAS has created some good training videos on SciFinder-n (https://www.cas.org/support/training/scifinder-n). There are also some upcoming webinars, and I can offer training to classes, research groups, and individuals.

Updated: Mitchell Brown (June 16, 2022) contact at mcbrown@uci.edu