Skip to Main Content

Digital Sandbox

This guide provides an overview of the Digital Sandbox, as well as introductory information to get you started using some of the featured applications available on the platform.

Email this link:

Login to cPanel

When you're logging into the Sandbox for the first time, you will start by accessing the cPanel dashboard.

To access the cPanel, follow these steps:

Log in through the Digital Sandbox Site

  1. Visit the Digital Sandbox website at https://sandbox.lib.uci.edu/.
  2. Locate the cPanel option in the main menu bar at the top of the page and click it.
  3. You’ll be redirected to UCI’s Single Sign-On (Shibboleth) page.
  4. Enter your UCI credentials (UCInetID and password) and complete any additional authentication steps (e.g., Duo two-factor authentication).

Create a Domain

If you are logging into the Digital Sandbox for the first time, you will be redirected to a page prompting you to create your domain name. Here’s how to proceed:cPanel First login

Choose a Subdomain Name

  1. On the Create Your Domain page, you’ll see an input field for your subdomain name.
  2. Enter a unique name for your subdomain. This will be used as part of your website’s address, e.g., yourname.sandbox.lib.uci.edu.
  3. Click the Submit button to confirm your domain name.

Important Notes:

  • The subdomain must be unique; you’ll be prompted to try again if your chosen name is already in use.
  • Subdomains cannot be changed later, so choose carefully!

Once your domain has been created, you will be automatically redirected to the Digital Sandbox cPanel Dashboard, where you can begin managing your account.

 

Install Application(s)

Now that you have your domain set up, it's time for the fun part... installing applications!

You may already know what application you'd like to try, or you may want to learn a little more about your options first. The rest of this guide provides some introductory information about a handful of featured applications, like Omeka or Pressbooks. 

When you're ready, you can select and install your desired application directly through the cPanel. 

In the cPanel, click on "All Applications."

You will then see all applications available to you through the Sandbox. 

Click on the one you want and click the "install application" button.

 

 

Other Functional Tools

While you're working on setting up your applications, you may find the need for some of the other more advanced tools. Here are a few tools you will see in the cPanel that may be useful as you start to explore. 

Files
  • File Manager: Upload, edit, and manage files for your project directly through this graphical interface.
  • Backups: Create and restore backups of your files and databases for easy recovery.
  • Images: Perform basic image management tasks like resizing or converting formats.
Databases
  • MySQL Database Wizard: A beginner-friendly tool to create databases and database users step-by-step.
  • phpMyAdmin: Access and manage your database tables, run SQL queries, or import/export data directly.
Domains
  • Domains: Manage your primary domain and any additional domains you’ve set up.
  • Subdomains: Create subdomains for separate projects if needed.
  • Redirects: Configure URL redirects to forward traffic from one domain to another.

File Management

After setting up your first project in the Digital Sandbox, you may find you need to upload new assets, edit configurations, or organize your project, There are three primary methods for managing files in cPanel: File Manager, FTP (File Transfer Protocol), and Terminal.

1. Managing Files with File Manager

The File Manager in cPanel provides an easy-to-use web interface for managing your files directly in the browser. It’s perfect for quick uploads, edits, or directory organization.

How to Access File Manager
  1. Log in to your cPanel dashboard.
  2. In the Files section, click File Manager.
  3. By default, File Manager opens in your home directory (/home/username).
    • To work on website files, navigate to the public_html folder, which serves as the root directory for your website.
    • For example, files uploaded to public_html will appear at https://yourname.sandbox.lib.uci.edu.
Common File Manager Tasks
Uploading Files
  1. In File Manager, navigate to the folder where you want to upload files (e.g., public_html/project1).
  2. Click the Upload button in the top toolbar.
  3. Drag and drop your files into the upload window or click Select File to browse for files on your computer.
  4. Once the upload is complete, the file will appear in the selected directory.
Editing Files
  1. Locate the file you want to edit (e.g., index.html).
  2. Right-click the file and select Edit or HTML Edit (for web files).
  3. Make your changes using the built-in editor and click Save Changes.
Organizing Files
  • Create a Folder: Click + Folder in the top toolbar, name your folder, and click Create New Folder.
  • Move Files: Select the file, click Move, and specify the new directory.
  • Delete Files: Right-click the file and select Delete. Use the Trash to recover accidentally deleted files.

2. Managing Files with FTP

For larger file uploads or bulk file management, FTP (File Transfer Protocol) is more efficient than the File Manager. You’ll need an FTP client like FileZilla, Cyberduck, or WinSCP.

Setting Up FTP Access
  1. In cPanel, navigate to the Files section and click FTP Accounts.
  2. Click Add FTP Account and provide the following details:
    • Login: Enter a username (e.g., myftpuser).
    • Password: Create a secure password.
    • Directory: Specify the directory the account should have access to (e.g., public_html/project1).
    • Quota: Leave as unlimited or set a limit.
  3. Click Create FTP Account.
Connecting to FTP
  1. Open your FTP client (e.g., FileZilla).
  2. Use the following settings to connect:
    • Host: ftp.yourname.sandbox.lib.uci.edu
    • Username: The FTP username you created.
    • Password: The password for the FTP account.
    • Port: Use 21 for standard FTP.
  3. Click Connect.
Common FTP Tasks
  • Upload Files: Drag and drop files from your local computer to the server directory.
  • Download Files: Right-click files on the server and select Download.
  • Edit Files: Download files, edit them locally, and re-upload them.

3. Managing Files with Terminal

The Terminal in cPanel is a powerful tool for advanced users who are comfortable with the command line. It’s ideal for tasks like managing permissions, editing files using command-line text editors, or automating file operations with scripts.

How to Access Terminal
  1. In the cPanel dashboard, locate the Advanced section and click Terminal.
  2. A command-line interface will open within your browser.
Note: If Terminal is disabled, contact your administrator to enable it.
Common Terminal Commands
  • Navigate Directories: 
    cd public_html/project1
  • List Files and Directories: 
    ls -l
  • Edit Files: Use a command-line text editor like Nano to edit files: 
    nano index.html
  • Change File Permissions: 
    chmod 644 index.html 
chmod 755 public_html
  • Compress Files: Create a .zip archive of a directory: 
    zip -r project1.zip project1/
  • Uncompress Files: Extract a .zip archive: 
    unzip project1.zip

Warning: The Terminal is a powerful tool but can affect your entire hosting environment if commands are executed improperly. Proceed with caution.

4. Choosing the Right File Management Method

Method Best For
File Manager Quick edits, small uploads, and basic file organization.
FTP Large or bulk uploads and downloads, especially for media-heavy projects.
Terminal Advanced users who need precise control or wish to automate tasks.

Get More Help

Don't worry. All of this can be quite confusing and it is possible run into a few bumps along the way. We are here to help! Please reach out to us at any time with questions or hand-holding. 

Email libdss@uci.edu and we will be happy to schedule a consultation.