Digital Humanities

Maps and GIS are an important part of digital humanities research methods, especially in the context of spatial and network analysis. A map can be an excellent way to present data visually, as either an alternative, or supplement to, narrative text.

Geographic information systems include tools (such as software) and related data used to in spatial analysis.

Want more?

• Read more about GIS and Digital Humanities at the GIS Lounge.
• Get advice about "Building a Digital Humanities Project" from ArcGIS.
• Take a look at the Anterotesis Blog for a nice list of DH GIS projects.

Many of UCI Libraries'  digital primary source collections contain historical maps, geographic search interfaces, and/or interactive and other built-in tools that may be of interest to digital humanists. There are more tools and collections than could possibly be listed here. The following is a selection only.

Note that most of the resources on this list require authentication through UCI and are marked with an (*). If you are off-campus, you will need to use the VPN to access.

• Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange (Adam Matthew)* : This primary source collection includes visual, manuscript and printed materials from more than a dozen companies and trade organizations around the world focused on 15 major commodities and their impact on the world. The Data & Maps section includes: price data visualizations, energy data visualizations, interactive maps, historical maps. Dates of coverage: primarily 18th - 20th centuries
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (Alexander Street Press)* : Personal narratives of immigrants to the U.S. and Canada. Covers a wide range of nationalities and ethnic groups. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. This link takes you directly to the "Browse by Place" interface.
• North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press)* : More than 300 years of women's correspondence and diaries (colonial to 1960). This link takes you directly to the "Browse by Place" interface.
• Slave Voyages : This is the online portal for the Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trade databases, which are the culmination of several decades of independent and collaborative research by scholars drawing upon data in libraries and archives around the Atlantic world, including from UC Irvine. Special map-related features include an overview of the slave trade in a series of maps, a 3D rendition of a slave ship, and a timelapse view of the movement of slave ships across the Atlantic.

See the Primary Sources Research Guide for more!

Free Tools

• Google Earth: This free downloadable software is a virtual globe program for viewing satellite images of the Earth. Use it to create maps as .kmz or .kml files, which can be posted online or imported into Google Maps or Esri's ArcGIS
• Historypin: A user-generated digital archive of historical photos, videos and more, that can be displayed interactively in multiple formats, including a gallery, timeline, or map
• OpenStreetMap: This is a community-driven, open-source map of the world that includes open data for use in creating maps.
• QGIS: Free and open source desktop GIS software that allows users to create, edit, visualize, and public geospatial information on Windows, Mac, Linux and some other operating systems
• Palladio: Data-visualization tool developed by Stanford's Humanities + Design Lab that can produce maps and network graphs
• StoryMapJS: Developed by Northwestern University’s Knight Lab, this tool allows users to stories on the web that highlight the locations of a series of events by pulling in media from a variety of web sources, such as Google Maps, Twitter, Flickr, YouTube, Vimeo, Wikipedia, DropBox, and more

Fee-Based Tools ($$$)

• ArcGIS: A robust, industry-standard GIS tool for the management, analysis, and display of geographic information. ArcGIS Online (details in the free section) is a browser -based version version of this software and it is possible create a free public account. A license is required for the full software package. UCI and UCI Libraries offer two ways to ArcGIS, both virtually and in-person. See below for more details. 
• Esri StoryMaps: Users can combine maps with narrative text, images and multimedia content to create geographically-focused stories to share online
• Carto: This is a drag-and-drop GIS and web-mapping tool for display in a web browser. Pricing models apply, but they do offer free software for students through their Github Student Developer Pack
• Tableau: This subscription software serves as a powerful data analytics tool with built-in mapping tools. Free trials are available, as well as limited free educational licenses.

Many of UCI Libraries data and mapping databases are designed for researchers in the social sciences, but may be highly relevant to digital humanists.  Note that most of the resources on this list require authentication through UCI and are marked with an (*). If you are off-campus, you will need to use the VPN to access.

• Social Explorer*: Provides access to demographic information about the United States, as well as thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790
• PolicyMap*: An online data and mapping application with access to thousands of of indicators related to things such as housing, crime, mortages, health, jobs, demographics, and education in the United States.
• SimplyAnalytics*: Web-based analytics  and data-visualization tool for creating interactive maps, charts and reports, including thematic maps using demographic, census, business, & marketing data.

ArcGIS Workstations at the MRC

ArcGIS is a powerful mapping software developed by the company Esri. UCI Libraries holds 2 licenses for ArcGIS 10, available at the Multimedia Resource Center (Science Library). 

Get in touch with the MRC for the best hours and access information.

• MRC phone: 949-824-7072
• MRC Email: libmrc@uci.edu

Access ArcGIS through UCI OIT's Virtual Computer Lab

UCI's Office of Information Technology (OIT) allows anyone with a UCINet ID to access specialized software, including ArcGIS, through a virtual computer desktop that runs through your internet browser. Read more about this virtual service, including detailed instructions, on OIT's website.

Note: Esri also offers some versions of its software for free. Learn more about free versions of ArcGIS here

More GIS

Need more information about GIS? Check out the GIS Research Guide.

Maps and GIS are used in diverse disciplines. UCI Libraries has multiple guides to help with identifying maps, geographic data, and related tools that may be helpful to digital humanists.

Census Guide (includes Census Geography) Guide

Crime Mapping Guide

Earth System Science: Maps and Aerial Photographs Guide

GIS Resources for Environmental Sciences Guide

Sanborn Maps Guide

Urban Planning & Public Policy: Maps, Atlases, & GIS Guide