In American FactFinder you can obtain data in the form of maps, tables, and reports from a variety of Census Bureau sources. "Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data..." Build a query, create maps, view data tables - from the U.S. Census Bureau's Mapping and Cartographic Resources.
Crime L.A. delivers the neighborhood crime analysis to your computer, using data from the Los Angeles Police Department and Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department to create reports for cities and neighborhoods.
"The CrimeReports.com service provides law enforcement agencies with an affordable and easy-to-use Web-based service for managing and controlling the sharing of crime data with the public, in near real-time."
The data is provided in a format which is digestible in any GIS software that allows the user to import ESRI GRID-formatted data. The WMS and WCS are links to the data hosted on East View Geospatial's servers for organization-wide access and can be used with most current GIS software. The data files are also provided in the ESRI Raster Binary format.
"The LandScan Global Population Databases, developed at the Department of Energy's Oak Ridge National Laboratory, represent the finest resolution global population distribution databases available"--Legend on 2000 (East View Geospatial version, viewed March 22, 2013)
There are two sets of files: the last 30 days of data, as well as historical yearly data files for 2007 – 2011.
The actual locations have been slightly moved in order to de-identify specific locations – addresses and locations are now in the block range but not at the house.
This data covers areas of the Sheriff’s jurisdiction – which is not the entire County (for example, Los Angeles Police Department – LAPD – crime data is not included). But it is still a very large set of data.
"The Los Angeles Police Department's Crime Map page is currently undergoing technical renovations in preparation for a new crime mapping system which will include expanded crime data from adjacent agencies, and will accommodate our growing viewer data base. Until such time as the new crime mapping system is fully functional, you may view Part One crime data provided to the Los Angeles Times by the Los Angeles Police Department at http://projects.latimes.com/mapping-la/crime/. (SEE ABOVE, "CRIME L.A.") ...
SimpolyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes 2010 Uniform Crime Report Data.
SocialExplorer provides access to demographic information about the U.S. A free version of the SocialExploer platform is available to create interactive demographic maps and reports for Census 2000 data.
"We provide a free version of Social Explorer to general public. You may access it simply by going to our maps or reports section. There you will find thousands of maps and hundreds of reports with thousands of variables."
"Gun Violence Archive (GVA) provides free online public access to accurate information about gun-related violence in the United States. GVA will collect and check for accuracy, comprehensive information about gun-related violence in the U.S. and then post and disseminate it online."