Research Guides: Databases To Get You Started: Arts and Humanities

Ask a Librarian

Arts and Humanities Subject Guides

Browse the entire list of subject and course guides here.

Arts and Humanities Databases To Get You Started

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for all visual arts research! This database covers all periods and media (historical and contemporary, decorative and commercial art, various areas of architecture and architectural design). It includes scholarship starting from the 1930s to the present, is international in scope.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Good place for biographies of authors or introductions to literary works. Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographical coverage of the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is an index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in other subscription databases. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Searches across Oxford Handbooks. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Compiles a collection of primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more, for access to historical and contemporary content by and about celebrated and lesser-known authors from around the world.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.

2 Tips:

"Scholarly" articles may also be called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" articles.

Use the VPN (Virtual Private Network) if working from off-campus.