What can I access? - PublicAccess is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access. For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.
Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML. OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.
Access requires an active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.
|
Finding Opportunities
Professional Association Job Boards
For example, the American Library Association's JobLIST. Associations often discount membership fees for students, so consider joining before you graduate!
The Company's Website
To find companies, visit the tabs called Make Lists of Companies and/or Get Popular Lists of Companies.
Handshake
Access: UCI
UCI's job and internship listing platform (from UCI Division of Career Pathways).
GuideStar
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global
Search for nonprofit companies and organizations by size, cause, and location Also includes a directory to search for people in leadership roles at nonprofits.
Job Search Sites
Examples include LinkedIn, Indeed, Monster, CareerBuilder, etc.
Make Lists of Companies
|
To make a list of companies in an industry, you'll sometimes need an NAICS (rhymes with "cakes") industry code. Quick How-To: |
Mergent Intellect
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Public and private company information (as available) for companies worldwide. Advanced Search allows for creating a custom Excel spreadsheet of companies based on criteria like industry, location, size, etc.
Uniworld
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
A global directory in which every company within the database has at least one foreign subsidiary. Finds both US firms operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the US. Searchable on criteria including: industry, employee count, and revenue. Uniworld also features a "career postings" search option, which is a yes/no indicator that the company has a link on its own website for its own career opportunities.
PitchBook
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global
Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries. Generate custom lists using criteria such as: location, industry/vertical, year founded, number of employees, and more.
Learn this search! < sample search for companies by industry and location.
GuideStar
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Nonprofit company database with a directory to search for nonprofits by size, cause, and location Also includes a directory to search for people in leadership roles at nonprofits.
Get Popular Lists of Companies
Orange County Business Journal: Book of Lists
Access: UCI
Geography: US
The Book of Lists supplement issue is simply a compilation of all lists published by OC Business Journal during the previous year. OCBJ produces 50+ industry-specific lists of companies located in Orange County.
Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
This database includes Fortune magazine. This custom URL finds the issues with "Largest U.S. Corporations" in the title, i.e. what Fortune officially calls its Fortune 500 list.
INSEAD Libraries: Company Rankings Lists
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
INSEAD Libraries offers an excellent compilation of company rankings, produced by many different entities. Lists are organized by region and sector/industry.
Find Gov. & Military Opportunities
State Government Jobs
You can find these by going to a state's job portal. For example, a search in Google for: California jobs site:.ca.gov returns the CalCareers website.
USAJobs.gov
Access: Public
Geography: US
The United States' Federal Government’s official employment site. Connects job seekers with federal employment opportunities across the United States and around the world.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Military Careers
Access: Public
Geography: US
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the OOH has information on opportunities, duties, qualifications, education and training, pay, and outlook for those interested in a career serving the U.S. military.
DOD Civilian Careers
Access: Public
Geography: US
Find employment opportunities for civilians with the Department of Defense (DOD). Find jobs by career, location, and employer (DOD includes 33 Agencies and Components).
Pro Tip: Networking is your friend!  While most job opportunities eventually get posted publicly, networking helps you hear about jobs before they hit public sites! |
How do I access? 