Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genetic Counseling : PubMed & PsycInfo Search Tips

This page is designed for students who enroll in the graduate program in Genetic Counseling at UC Irvine School of Medicine. It includes online links to the required textbooks and other online resources.

Formulating a Researchable Question

The PICO Framework

Research question:

Do children expose to antidepressants during the prenatal period increase the risk of autistic disorders or ADHD?

P = Children

I = prenatal antidepressants exposure

C = No prenatal exposure

0 = Risk of developing ADHD and/or autistic disorders

Type of Question = Etiology/Harm

Type of study = Cohort

PubMed Search Options

PsycInfo Search

Research Question:

What are the Psychological Effects of Genetic Predisposition Testing for Huntington Disease and their Impact on Familial and Romantic Relationships?

P = Family with genetic predisposition to Huntington disease

I = genetic testing/screening

C = No testing/screening

O = impact on familial and romantic relationships

PsycInfo and Dissertation Search via ProQuest

  1. Go to the UCI Libraries website and select Databases to Get You Started
  2. Select the Social Sciences tab https://guides.lib.uci.edu/databases/socialsciences
  3. Select PsycINFO
  4. On the ProQuest homepage, select Change Databases to add additional databases.
  5. Select both ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I and ProQest Dissertations & Theses Global
     

Search strategy:

In the 1st search box, enter: 

Genetic* AND (Test* OR screen*) AND Huntington's disease [select in abstract]

select AND

In the 2nd search box, enter:

relationship* AND (impact* OR effect* OR aspect* implication*) [select in Anywhere]

Advanced Search strategy

ab(Genetic* AND (Test* OR screen*) AND Huntington's disease) AND ((relationship* OR marriage) AND (impact* OR effect* OR aspect* implication*))

Google Scholar Search

In the search box, enter: Psychological (Effect* OR impact*) Presymptomatic Test* "Huntington's disease"

MyNCBI

Why Set up a MyNCBI account?

  • Save your PubMed searches and create alerts
  • Receive new articles from the saved searches
  • Save collections of articles and share with your collaborators or peers
  • Set PubMed display preferences which will make scanning search results much more efficient.

Watch a short video here or follow the steps-by-steps instruction below: 

  1. Go to PubMed@uci

  2. On the PubMed homepage, click Log in.  
    undefined
     

  3. Select Google Account and login with your gmail username and password.   
    Note: You have an option to login with your UCInetID by selecting more login options, then enter Irvine in the search box to filter the search. Select  University of California Irvine and log-in with your UCInetID and password.  A DUO two factor authentication is required.

     
  4. If you already have a  My NCBI account, select Link account.  If you don't have a My NCBI, select Create a new account.
     
  5. Once done, this will take you back to the PubMed homepage with your login.
     
  6. To set your PubMed Preferences, click on your login name and select DashboardThis will take you to the My NCBI page.   

 

Set MyNCBI Preferences -- This will make sorting through search results faster and easier. 

Watch a short video here or follow the steps below:

  1. Once logged in to MyNCBI
  2. Click on  MyNCBI Site Preferences (Near upper right of page)  
     
  3. See the figure below for instructions to change your PubMed Preferences

 

The mage below is an example of PubMed Filters that were selected and shown in step 2: Filters & Icons.

 

  • The video below provides a quick tour of the new My NCBI home page and function.