Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
First Year Required Textbooks
Counseling about cancer strategies for genetic counseling, 3rd ed. by Important scientific discoveries and ever-changing guidelines for how to identify and manage patients with hereditary cancer syndromes are constantly evolving. This Third Edition of Counseling About Cancer is completely updated and expanded to feature five entirely new chapters on breast cancer, colon cancer, other solid tumors, clients and families, and genetic test results and follow-up. This is the only reference and clinical book on the market for cancer genetics counselors and other healthcare providers who must quickly assimilate complex and ever-changing data on the hereditary risk for cancer
Publication Date: 2012
Foundations of perinatal genetic counseling : a guide for counselors by An essential new text for genetic counseling's most sought-after skills. Foundations of Perinatal Genetic Counseling is a practical introduction to the concepts and skills in genetic counseling with clients before and during pregnancy. Authored by genetic counselors at the forefront of contemporary perinatal practice, this all-in-one reference provides an accessible yet comprehensive overview of:· the basics of pregnancy, including assisted reproductive technologies and high-risk pregnancy management· preimplantation and prenatal genetic screening and diagnosis· the structure and goals of a gene.
Publication Date: 2018
Genetic Counseling Research: a Practical Guide by Genetic Counseling Research: A Practical Guide is the first text devoted to research methodology in genetic counseling. This text offers step-by-step guidance for conducting research, from the development of a question to the publication of findings. Genetic counseling examples, user-friendly worksheets, and practical tips guide readers through the research and publication processes. With a highly accessible, pedagogical approach, this book will help promote quality research by genetic counselors and research supervisors--and in turn, increase the knowledge base for genetic counseling practice.
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
A Guide to Genetic Counseling, 2nd ed. by The first book devoted exclusively to the principles and practice of genetic counseling--now in a new edition First published in 1998, A Guide to Genetic Counseling quickly became a bestselling and widely recognized text, used nationally and internationally in genetic counseling training programs. Now in its eagerly anticipated Second Edition, it provides a thoroughly revised and comprehensive overview of genetic counseling, focusing on the components, theoretical framework, and unique approach to patient care that are the basis of this profession. The book defines the core competencies and covers the genetic counseling process from case initiation to completion--in addition to addressing global professional issues--with an emphasis on describing fundamental principles and practices. Chapters are written by leaders in the field of genetic counseling and are organized to facilitate academic instruction and skill attainment. They provide the most up-to-date coverage of: The history and practice of genetic counseling Family history Interviewing Case preparation and management Psychosocial counseling Patient education Risk communication and decision-making Medical genetics evaluation Understanding genetic testing Medical documentation Multicultural counseling Ethical and legal issues Student supervision Genetic counseling research Professional development Genetics education and outreach Evolving roles and expanding opportunities Case examples A Guide to Genetic Counseling, Second Edition belongs on the syllabi of all medical and human genetics and genetic counseling training programs. It is an indispensable reference for both students and healthcare professionals working with patients who have or are at risk for genetic conditions.
Publication Date: 2010-08-03
Practical Genetic Counseling for the Laboratory by This manual on the practice of laboratory genetic counseling will have instructive value for veteran laboratory genetic counselors, genetic counselors new to the field, students in genetic counseling training programs, and laboratories employing genetic counselors. Authors include laboratorians, geneticists, and genetic counselors from over 30 institutions. The content is structured on the areas of expertise needed by laboratory genetic counselors and includes details about result interpretation and common complexities specific to the various types of genetic testing labs, including biochemical genetics, cytogenetics, molecular genetics, and prenatal screening. The text provides details on orientation to the laboratory, laboratory education for genetic counseling students, test utilization, test development, the role of genetic counselors in sales, professional growth opportunities such as contributions to literature and general knowledge, counseling skills, and ethical dilemmas
Publication Date: 2017-03-28
Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine, 8th ed. by Updated to reflect the newest changes in genetics, Thompson & Thompson's Genetics in Medicine returns as one of the most favored texts in this fascinating and rapidly evolving field. By integrating the classic principles of human genetics with modern molecular genetics, this medical reference book utilizes a variety of learning tools to help you understand a wide range of genetic disorders.
Publication Date: 2015-05-21
Needed Later in the First Year
Ethical Dilemmas in Genetics and Genetic Counseling by Knowledge of the genetic basis of human diseases is growing rapidly, with important implications for pre-conceptional, prenatal, and predictive testing. While new genetic testing offers better insight into the causes of and susceptibility for heritable diseases, not all inherited diseases that can be predicted on the basis of genetic information can be treated or cured. Should we test everyone who wants to know his or her genetic status, even when there are no possibilities for treatment? What is the role of the ""right-not-to-know?"" Do we test children for adult onset disorders because the parents just "have to know" or do we respect the children's right to choose when they are older?
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Facilitating the genetic counseling process : practice-based skills by Now in its revised and updated second edition, this text provides a practical way of teaching genetic counseling helping skills. The contents can be used by genetic counselor educators and supervisors to facilitate student professional development, including gaining knowledge about basic helping skills; practicing using the skills specific to genetic counseling services; and understanding one's self as a professional in training. New topics include: the Reciprocal-Engagement Model (REM) of genetic counseling practice; research findings about genetic counselor professional development, values, compassion fatigue, burnout, and distress; expanded discussion of patient factors; and more attention to cultural issues. Every chapter contains updated literature, and both revised and new structured activities and written exercises. Salient features of this second edition include: An "active" and "cooperative" pedagogical approach, with numerous structured activities and exercises emphasizing student self-reflection and engagement with core content. ; Inclusion of skills which comprise key elements within three competency domains for accreditation of genetic counseling training programs in North America: genetics expertise and analysis; interpersonal, psychosocial, and counseling skills and assessment; and professional development and practice. ; Content grounded in a widely-cited, empirically-derived model of genetic counseling practice. ; Inclusion of patient scenarios and roles for skills practice based on genetic counseling cases and reflecting recent developments in genetic knowledge, testing, and technologies
Publication Date: 2018
Harper's Practical Genetic Counselling, Eighth Edition by Highly valued across the world by genetic counsellors, medical geneticists and other healthcare professionals, Harper's Practical Genetic Counselling has established itself over previous editions as the essential guide to counselling those at risk from inherited disorders. Fully revised by its new author Angus Clarke, and with additional input from colleagues, this eighth edition provides indispensable and up-to-date guidance, helping readers to navigate the profusion of new information in this area and the associated psychosocial and ethical considerations and concerns. Maintaining the trusted framework of earlier editions, the update presents the latest information on the use and interpretation of genetic test results, including new genome-based investigations and their application in the genetic counselling process. This book will help both the student and the practitioner, as genetic and genomic investigations become progressively more relevant to all healthcare professionals with the mainstreaming of genetics across the full range of medical practice. Key features: Provides the very latest information in a tried and tested format for speedy access in the busy consulting room or clinic Includes new and expanded chapters on laboratory genetic investigation, gene-based "rational" approaches to treatment, population genetic screening and the use of cell-free DNA in prenatal genetic testing, reflecting the rapid development of knowledge in these areas Delivers clear and authoritative advice, applicable to everyday clinical practice The eighth edition of this best-selling text will continue to be an essential source of reference for trainee and practitioner genetic counsellors and medical geneticists, for clinicians and nurses working in mainstream specialties who increasingly are dealing with the genetic aspects of disease, and for practitioners working in settings where referral to a genetics specialist is not readily available. It also provides invaluable background for other health care professionals, counsellors, social scientists, ethicists and genetics laboratory staff
Publication Date: 2019-09-30
Additional Reference Texts for Selected Reading
Chromosome Abnormalities and Genetic Counseling, 4th ed. by Chromosome abnormalities have been known for over 50 years, though the methods of analysis have become increasing more sophisticated and precise. Surprisingly, the questions that parents and families raise in genetic counseling have changed little over that period. Questions like, "Why did an abnormality happen? Why did it cause the problems we see in our child? Would it happen again in a future child? How could we avoid it happening again?" are common concerns for families. This new edition of Chromosome Abnormalities and Genetic Counseling deals with these universal questions, and in the con.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Introduction to Risk Calculation in Genetic Counseling, 3rd ed. by The process of genetic counseling involves many key components, such as taking a family genetic history, making a diagnosis, and providing communication and support to the family. Among these core processes is the mathematical calculation of the actual risk of a possible genetic disorder. For most physicians and counselors, the mathematics and statistics involved can be major challenge which is not always helped by complex computer programs or lengthy papers full of elaborate formulae. In this clear, reader-friendly guide, Ian Young addresses this problem and demonstrates how risk can be estimated for inherited disorders using a basic knowledge of the laws of probability and their application to clinical problems. The text employs a wealth of clearly explained examples and key points in order to guide the reader to an accurate assessment of the risk of genetic disease. It primarily will appeal to genetic counselors, geneticists, and all those involved in providing medical genetic services. In this new edition, Dr. Young has pruned redundancies and extensively updated the concepts in each of the 10 chapters, and he has included more working examples, a popular feature of the book.
Publication Date: 2006-10-16
Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation, 7th ed. by Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation has long been known as the source to consult on multiple malformation syndromes of environmental and genetic etiology as well as recognizable disorders of unknown cause. This esteemed medical reference book provides you with complete and authoritative, yet accessible guidance to help accurately diagnose these human disorders, establish prognoses, and provide appropriate management and genetic counseling.Consult this title on your favorite e-reader, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability.Recognize the visual signs of each environmental and genetic abnormality by consulting more than 1,500 full-color photographs and illustrations, many from the personal collections of Drs. Smith and Jones.Find all the answers you need about normal and abnormal morphogenesis, minor anomalies and their relevance, clinical approaches to specific diagnoses, and normal standards of measurement for the entire spectrum of human malformation syndromes. Efficiently identify genetic disorders in your patients with the inclusion of nearly 20 recently recognized entities/syndromes, as well as new chapters on Microdeletions and Microduplication Syndromes.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Search the UCI Libraries' online catalog to see if a particular book, journal, online resource, govt. publication, video, etc., is available via the UCI Libraries.
Library Search Tutorial
Library Search is a powerful tool that allows you to search for books, articles, media, government documents, encyclopedia entries, and more. It can be a great place to start if you are still exploring your topic.
This video demonstrates the following aspects of Library Search:
- How to run a basic search
- How to use filters
- How to sort results
- How to access e-resources
- How to use tools like the citation generator and permalink
Library Search 2019 from UCI Libraries Education+Outreach on Vimeo.
Search the MELVYL Online Catalog
Melvyl searches "libraries worldwide," including those on the 10 UC campuses. The Melvyl catalog contains records for books, journals, videos, maps, music scores, and other formats.
Google Book Search
Enter your search terms in the box and click Search to execute.