Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Engineering 190W - Fall 2019 - Harnick-Shapiro Section: Specialized Resources


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/ENGR190W_Harnick-Shapiro_Fall2019

Recommended Reference Sources

A variety of resources exist and basically every book is a reference work in some fashion - the standard reference tool includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, maps & atlases, directories, etc and some examples include:

  1.  
  2. Wikipedia- no peer review content in this encyclopedic resource; all contributed to voluntarily

     

  3. Dictionary of computer science, engineering and technology / editor-in-chief, Phillip A. Laplante, Boca Raton, FL. CRC Press, 2001, Science Library – Reference, QA 76.15 D5258 2001

     

  4. Images of technology: a pictorial dictionary of Modern engineering research / Edited by Institute of Industrial Science, University of Tokyo, Science Library – Bar, TA9 I43 1999

 

Additional resources include:

  1. Government Information - major source - consult ANTPAC or visit the Langson Library Reference Desk on the right of the entrance. For Federal US sources, check the websites of specific agencies such as the U.S. Department of Energy Web page or specific state agencies at http://www.ca.gov/state/portal/myca_homepage.jsp

     

  2. Professional Societies publications – very prolific and common in Engineering and now increasingly specialized - investigate IEEE, ACM, SPIE, ASEE, ACS, ASME, ASCE, AIAA, CNI, IFIP etc. Consult Associations Unlimited for additional information; most of these associations also have a Code of Ethics

 

      3.  California Engineer - this is a professional publication that accepts student submissions.  See Science Library (SL) Drum and Curr Per under TA 1 C28

IEEE transactions on professional communication (journal)

PE Professional Engineer

 

Patents

Patent information

 

  1. U. S. Patent and Trademark Office
    http://www.uspto.gov/ and How to Search the USPTO database Official source for U.S. patents and trademarks in full text from 1976 (full page images available since 1790) with links to the Library of Congress for copyright information. Definitions, application forms and instructions, handbooks, notices, and patent attorney directory are just a few of the products provided. Includes design patents and reissued patents as well as patents currently in application process (coverage starts March 2001). Full-text searching is available.

     

  2. Nexis-Uni
    Under "Legal Research" is a Patent Research section for searching of Patents (1971 to date), by individual category of Design Patents, Plant Patents or Utility Patents. Can also search by keyword, assignee, inventor, patent number, classification, and lawyer.

     

  3. Google Patents - latest of the patent indexes to appear - there is lots of help; not as formalized a search process - contains 7.3 million patents
  4.  

  5. Google Scholar - Google Scholar's Advanced Scholar Search can now be used to find patents and legal opinions. Search options include all legal opinions and journals, search only US federal court opinions, and search only court opinions from individual states.
  6.  

  7. Other valuable patent resources:
    Patent Searching Tutorial – from the University of Texas, Austin
    European Patent Office - index of patents originating in Europe
    Freepatentsonline - Fulltext and images of US patents beginning with patent number 4,000,000
    Crazy Patents
    Scirus - Indexes over 13 million patents from the US, European and Japanese Patent Offices and WIPO
    Subject Guide for Patents

     

  Technical Communications Resources

Technical Writing and Communication & Resume Guides - there are additional resources listed on the presentation tab, left side bar that are highly recommended resources to help you translate standard writing into presentation-mode.

Selected current resources & texts (SL = Science Library (Ref on 2d floor); LL = Langson Library (Ref on 1st floor))

Solving problems in technical communication.  Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2013 - SL T10.5 S638

Listen, Write, Present: The elements for communicating science and technology.  New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2012.  SL T10.5 B36 2012

​​Clear and Concise Communiations for Scientists and Engineers.  Boca Raton, FL: CRC, 2012  

Social Media for Engineers and Scientists,  NY: Momentum Press, 2012

A Scientific Approach to Scientific Writing.  NY: Springer, 2012

Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook.  Piscataway, NJ, IEEE Press: 2010.  SL T11 M3357 2010

Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals and Presentations.  NY: Oxford University Press, 2010.  ASY Q223 H63 2010.

Careers in Focus: Engineering, 3rd ed Chicago, IL: Ferguson/Infobase Pub., 2007. SL REF TA157 .C283 2007

Resumes for Engineering Careers: With Sample Cover Letters, 3rd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2006. SL REF TA 157 R47 2006

Writing Power: Communication in an Engineering Center/ Dorothy Winsor. Albany, NY: SUNY Press, 2003. SL Bar TA 158.5 W56 2003

Writing and Speaking in the Technology Professions: A Practical Guide/ edited by David F. Beer, New York: IEEE Press, 2003, SL Bar, T11 W75 2003

Writing from A to Z, 4th ed./ Sally Barr Ebest. Boston, MA: McGraw-Hill, 2003. LL Reserves PE 1408 W773 2003b

A Student Guide to Writing at UCI, 11th ed./ John Hollowell. Boston, MA: Pearson, 2003. SL Ref Desk PE 1408 H668 2003

Handbook of Technical Writing / Gerald J.Alred, Charles T. Brusaw, Walter E. Oliu, New York: St. Martin’s 2003, SL Ref T11 B78 2003

MIT Guide to Science and Engineering Communication, 2nd ed. / James G. Paradis and Muriel L. Zimmerman. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 2002. SL Bar Q223 P33 2002

Technical Communication, 6th ed. / Mike Markel. NY: St. Martin's Press. SL Bar, T11 M346 2001

Technical Style / J.M. Haile, Central, S.C.: Macatea Productions, 2001, SL Bar, T11 H24 2001

Technical Writing and Professional Communication for Nonnative Speakers of English / Thomas N. Huckin, Leslie A. Olsen, New York: McGraw-Hill, 1991, SL Bar, T11 H823 1991

 

 

  •  

Engineering Ethics

Finding Books about Engineering Ethics – appropriate subject headings may include:

  1. Biomedical ethics
  2.  
  3. Engineering ethics
  4.  
  5. Engineering ethics – Case studies

    Genetic engineering - Ethics

  6. Genetic engineering – Moral and ethical aspects

  7. Medical ethics – United States

  8. Science – Moral and ethical aspects

When searched in ANTPAC by Subject Headings,” Engineering ethics” one retrieves 94 titles; by title the retrieval is 8 titles; by keyword 495 titles appear

Recommended works include the Morgan and Claypool Series including Synthesis Lectures on Engineers, Technology and Society (multiple volumes currently in this series) -

  1. Ethics in technical communication: a critique and synthesis / Mike Markel, Westport, Conn.: Ablex Pub., 2001, SL Bar, T10.5 M34 2001
  2.  
  3. Ethics in Technical Communication / Paul M. Dombrowski, Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 2000, SL Bar, T10.5 D66 2000

Recommended journal is Science and Engineering Ethics

Appropriate websites may include:

  1. Engineering Ethics Blog
  2.  
  3. Online Ethics Home at the National Academy of Engineering

    Center for Engineering, Ethics and Society, NAE

  4. National Society of Professional Engineers Engineering Ethics (NSPE)

  5. NSPE Code of Ethics 

  6. ASME Code of Ethics

  7. ASCE Code of Ethics

  8.  

News & Media Resources

The media has really changed in recent years and with the focus on fake news it is important that you can cite your sources accurately.  You will also want to remember that we are living in an increasingly evidence-based society where facts matter as well as to whom or what they are attributed.  New methods of communication are important and include blogs, twitter tweets, informal transcripts, interviews, eMail, texting, etc.  There are different indexes and collections of some of these that are reliable sources to search.

Also, it is important to consider the sourcing of information - for example, when an article is published in the newspaper it often comes from or is originally reported in an academic research article and comparing those materials is important.  Checking the references and citations directs you to cited sources and related material.

 

Standards

Standards and Specifications are described as documents that describe the rules and conditions for how materials and products should be manufactured, defined, measured, tested, and applied.  They are used to establish baselines or a minimum level of performance and quality control to ensure that optimal conditions and procedures for the purpose of creating compatibility with products and services from different periods and a range of sources.  Specifications have a more limited range of application than standards and generally establish requirements for materials, products, or services. Standards and specifications may be issued by voluntary technical or trade associations, professional societies, national standards bodies, government agencies, or by international organizations. It is critical to establish the source.

Standards and specifications are of greatest utility to engineers, scientists and those working with new innovations.

Learn more about Standards

Types of Standards:

  • Category, type, dimension, structure, equipment, quality, grade, component, performance, durability, or safety 
  • Methods of manufacturing, methods of designing, methods of drawing, methods of using, or methods of operation of safety condition of production
  • Methods of testing, analyzing, appraising, verifying, or measuring 
  • Terms, abbreviations, symbols, marks, preferred numbers, or units 
  • Design, methods of execution, or safety conditions

What are some points to remember when using standards?

  • Some standards are government-mandated, and others are voluntary.  There may be various penalties associated with not adhering to the standard. 
  • Standards are updated frequently to keep pace with changing technology -- check to see if the standard you are using is the latest version. 
  • Older, superceded versions of standards may be useful in many cases, such as legal disputes concerning the performance of a product that was manufactured when the older standard was in force.  The Engineering Library DOES NOT maintain historical or superceded standards.

To locate a standard you should (ideally) have at least three of the following:

  • The name of the publishing organization
  • The standard number
  • The title
  • The subject

Sources for Standards:  ASTM SEDL

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu