Southeast Asian Diaspora Studies

View media when you're on campus and logged in through the campus WiFi network then you can just click on any of these media links and stream anything you want.

If you're off campus, make sure you're logged in through the campus VPN. There are multiple options, but for streaming media, it's always best to use the Desktop/Software VPN for the best viewing experience. More information can be found by clicking here.

For a full list of available media databases, visit the Streaming Media LibGuide.

• Academic Video Online (AVON) Academic video online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 17,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street (a ProQuest Company) and includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. 

• DocuSeek Docuseek2 is a portal for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films. Docuseek2 allows you to search through the collections of its member distributors in both traditional and unique ways. Docuseek2 supports traditional key word searches, but expands it to include searching through descriptions and transcripts. Docuseek2 also adds an expanded subject taxonomy, and allows you to combine subject category searchers with grade level, length, filmmaker, awards. format and other characteristics to focus your search. 

• Kanopy Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Collections include titles from the DEFA Film Library, ArtMattan Films, HBO, Frameline, Ruscico, Pragda, BBC, Flicker Alley, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, Cinema Libre Studio, New Day Films, and the Criterion Collection/Janus Films. 
• Asian Film Online, v.1 Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. Such themes are central to any meaningful discussion of contemporary Asian culture and society.

• Filmmakers Library, v.1 & 2 Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. 

• New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-present New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards