As an interdisciplinary field, Critical Refugee Studies centers the refugee as a site of political and social critique rather than viewing the refugee as an "object of rescue."
Critical Refugee Studies adheres to a feminist epistemology, which takes seriously the intersection between private grief and public violence, and the hidden and overt injuries but also joy that play out int he domain of the intimate. By calling attention to the everydayness and ongoing-ness of war and displacement, Critical Refugee Studies spotlights the always-already incomplete-ness of the resettlement project where war violence hovers just below the surface of everything.
– Yến Lê Espiritu (2021). Introduction: Critical Refugee Studies and Asian, American Studies. Amerasia Journal 47:1, 2-7. DOI: 10.1080/00447471.2021.1989263.
The Critical Refugee Studies Collective (CRSC) is a group of interdisciplinary scholars who advocate for and envision a world where refugee rights are human rights. Committed to community-engaged scholarship, the Collective charts and builds the field of Critical Refugee Studies by centering refugee lives—and the creative and critical potentiality that such lives offer. Collective members not only study refugees, but many are also refugees themselves with long and deep ties to refugee communities in California and beyond.
Please visit the website: https://criticalrefugeestudies.com/ for more information on course syllabi, programming, and events.
Critical Refugee Migration Studies is an interdisciplinary group of scholars in Canada exploring the social, historical, and cultural dimensions of displacement through a variety of different critical approaches.
One of the group's projects include Refugee States, a community-based project that builds capacity for the co-creation of a digital archive of refugee stories that challenges dominant narratives about forced migration.
Visit their website www.criticalrefugeemigrationstudies.ca or more information.
Departures
by
Refugee states : critical refugee studies in Canada
by
Rethinking Refugees
by
Lived Refuge
by
The Ungrateful Refugee
by
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Contains the full text of plays written by Asian American playwrights. Plays were written from late 19th century to the present, and almost half aren't published in any other place.
A broad collection of journals and ebooks with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Publishers include numerous university presses and scholarly societies.
Journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs on education-related literature compiled by the U.S. Institute of Education Science but using the ProQuest search interface.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is an index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in other subscription databases. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus.
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO provides an international index for scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Contains newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. It also provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.